We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing 3 day getaway! On the beach”
Review of Malibu Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malibu Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Aliso Viejo, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing 3 day getaway! On the beach”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I are workaholics and boy did we need to take a break and I decided on a 3 day getaway and stay on the beach. The Malibu Beach Inn staff welcomed us with a Happy Anniversary dessert as soon as we arrive, on our room door was a Happy Anniversary sign too. Staff is incredible and food was yummy. In walking distance of Nobu, (best Sushi, but pricey for what you get and they failed to tell me you need to book 2 weeks in advance.) Every room has a balcony and waking up to the ocean. We were lucky no overcast til we left. We even cruised up PCH and ate and stopped at Neptune. A local hang out facing the ocean, good chowder and fish and friendly people. If you need reasonable comfortable room stay on the Beach try the Malibu Beach Inn and drive into Santa Monica at BOA for incredible steak and the Baked Alaskan was a nice surprise. All in all I would stay here again. Remember to use your Triple AAA I got a better rate through the hotel directly than using hotels.com.

Room Tip: All have a balcony and fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alelid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Malibu Beach Inn! We're delighted to receive such glowing feedback and we always love to hear that everything met or exceeded a guest's expectations...even the weather! :) Your feedback is so very much appreciated and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    130
    38
    28
    18
See reviews for
97
250
31
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Upon arrival the valet/bellman made no attempt to assist with a fully loaded car. And only advised us to check if we could check in once i had unloaded the car. Had to load it up again by myself as room was not ready - and when it was i had to take my own luggage to the room - REALLY bad first impression.

For the cost of a suite here i would expect 5 star. More like 2 star. Only a short drive down the road in LA for less money you are treated like royalty and made to feel special. Not so here.

Reception, parts of the restaurant, the lounge and the bar are all located in one room.....
We ate in the restuarant - my wife had finished her starter before mine came out and only after we had finished our starters were bread rolls put on the table....

Aside from the first Valet we met, all of the staff were very pleasant - they just dont run a hotel very well.

Our suite was located next to a drinks/store room - every time someone went in there (often) it was like we were sitting in a bar. Road noise in the room is not good either.

A hand delivered letter was given to us with info about our stay the morning after we arrived by which time we decided to cut our reservation short andhead back to LA. Not once did anyone ask us if there was a problem or anything they could do to help.

Dissapointing experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your business and we're grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us. We always appreciate the opportunity to receive feedback from our guests, as we utilize it to improve our service.

We will investigate the challenges you experienced and ensure we rectify the issues in a timely manner. We do hope that we'll have the opportunity to ensure you have a much better experience in the future.

If you would like to join us again, please contact our General Manager, Jill Jennings, who will gladly make your reservation and ensure you have a wonderful experience. You may reach her directly at 310.456.6444.

Again, our sincere thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Loved the Location, the area is wonderful. If this is your first time visiting California you can not go wrong with this Inn. Staff is very helpful and accomodating well worth the price. Great views into the ocean and always great sunsets. Restaurant was fantastic.

Room Tip: Do not get a room overlooking the restaurant. Heard guest complaining in thenext day about this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Escapeetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Malibu Beach Inn and sharing your experience with us. We're delighted to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations in so many ways! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon. - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

loved the simple fact that once we open our balcony .. there was the sea view in all its glory and not only that we could hear it smell it and truly experience seaside living
The room is spacious and great furniture..all the luxuries you might imagine
We are having dinner tonight in the terrace and will update you on that

Oh and free wifi again makes it that much easier to stay in touch..

Great for honeymooners and a romantic getaway

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uaeiyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you so much for your recent visit to Malibu Beach Inn! We're delighted to hear that you had a nice time and thoroughly enjoyed our oceanfront location. It was an absolute pleasure to serve you and we look forward to the opportunity to see you again soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The property is directly on the beach!

When you drive in, it does feel like a roadside motel thought until you actually get on the property. It is called an Inn so that makes sense.

Very small place but nice. (Small reception, small restaurant, very small patio)
The rooms are very nice, spacious and quiet, even if you can hear the roadside.
The food was good.

We ran out of hot water 1 night and 1 morning and all we got was a free breakfast.
They could have done more, but we didn't ask.
Printed copies of our home local newspaper waiting for us in the morning was a great touch!
The staff is very nice from the maids, to concierge and valets.

They are great Malibu restaurants in the area so many breakfast and dinner options.
If you're looking for a hotel on the beach, I would recommend the Montage down in Laguna Beach over the Malibu Beach inn anytime as its a larger property and more luxurious property.

We lucked out the weather was decent during the day, but chili at night as April is a cold month in LA and Malibu

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrotter_411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you so much sharing your experience of your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the property and the food, but we're also sorry to hear that your experience wasn't without flaw. We appreciate you making us aware of the situation, and we do hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back so that we can provide a flawless experience in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

There's only one that's right on the beach in Malibu, Pacific Coast Highway, you do pay the price but we knew that. The restaurant was also really nice so we didn't even have to go far. The only problem was that our room overlooked the restaurant and we could hear them partying till the wee hours, it was entertaining though and I didn't mind so much. The rooms were nice and so was the view. We walked on the beach during the day. I try to stay in a different part of L.A. when I visit just so I can explore various neighborhoods without having to drive in traffic.

Room Tip: I would probably ask for a room a little farther away from the restaurant the next time I go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaneuretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you so much sharing your experience of your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed many things about your time with us, but we're also sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as peaceful as you'd hoped. We appreciate your feedback, and should you have the chance to return, we would invite you to connect with one of our reservation specialists in advance to ensure that your room placement better meets your needs. We very much hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for my husband's birthday. The rooms were very,nice with great oceans views. The restaurant has a fabulous view and the food is good. This hotel,can be pricey but get on their email list for specials. They can also provide massages if u want one.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are ocean front but make special requests at time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you so much for celebrating your hubby's special day with us! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time on property and we're so grateful for your kind review. We're glad to hear that you've joined our email list so we can keep in touch, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you both back again soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,814 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
920 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Inn

Property: Malibu Beach Inn
Address: 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Malibu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malibu Beach Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently nestled right on the sands of famed "Billionaire’s Beach," Malibu Beach Inn is a spectacular ocean-front getaway within minutes of LA. Since its inception in 1989, Malibu Beach Inn has become a beloved destination for both leisure and business travelers. After a complete, contemporary multi-million-dollar renovation, Malibu Beach Inn re-opened its doors as the only luxury oceanfront hotel destination between Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, offering guests unsurpassed levels of luxury and service on the sands of exclusive Carbon Beach. The Malibu Beach Inn is approximately 22 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The hotel embraces the serene beauty of the Malibu coastline through its landscaping, architecture and interior design. It also embodies the spirit of one of Southern California's most exclusive communities through the warm hospitality of its multilingual, European-trained staff, its signature beach club, and a unique collection of artwork by contemporary painter Glenn Ness. The Carbon Beach Club features California coastal cuisine with Pacific Rim accents that is complemented by an outstanding and extensive list of hand-selected small-production wines from California's premier wine regions. The dining room offers both indoor and outdoor dining, both of which boast breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the tumbling surf below.Guest rooms feature private balconies, minibars, coffeemakers, hairdryers, bathrobes, DVD players, safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access, fireplaces (most rooms), and private hot tubs (some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Malibu Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Hotel Malibu
Beach Inn Malibu
Malibu Beach Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing