We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place but not great!!!!”
Review of Malibu Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malibu Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My family and I were in Malibu fo a wedidng in the hills. Personally I'm not a fan of over priced hotels, but if you know Malibu at all you know that there are not many hotels in the area. Lots of rentals for vacation but very few hotels.

For a couple,this would be a nice plce but extremly overpriced. For a family of five, horrible!!!! When I'm already spending 600 a night to stay there for three nights, the least you could do is not charge me 3 bucks for a 16 oz water.

Still, being the only hotel in the area, the cleanliness is top notch. The service at the hotel was second to known (in that area). The beach was minimal, very cramped on sat morning. The hotel only has about 100yds af beach front that is the before the public land starts. Its not the place to look for private time on the beach. Its more for romantic night with the wife listening to the waves on the balcony.

The rooms were basic, nothing great! Again, in my opinion for 600 a night my kids should at least have one childrens channel on the cable versus me having to pay 9.99 A DAY for a set of shows they can only watch until the clock strikes 12

Room Tip: if you have children under be sure to grab a double queen room. It will open up space to allow for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the ocean views, and we appreciate you sharing the areas that you felt could be improved. Please know that we consider our guests' feedback very seriously, and we will utilize your comments to improve in the areas that we can. We do hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back in the future. - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel was excellent. We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was amazing. The bed was really comfortable, the room had a fireplace. The balcony was right over the beach so the sea view was spectacular. We slept both nights with tho door open so we could hear the waves.
The staff were very friendly. The restaurant was brilliant. We sat right over the sea. The food was excellent as was the service. The girl behind the bar makes very nice cocktails too (especially a White Russian). The valet guys were also super friendly and helped carry our mountain of bags up to our room. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidmc5585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you so much for choosing Malibu Beach Inn and sharing your experience with us! We're delighted to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy the beach, the view, the food and the drinks...and of course, experience a great night's sleep after it all. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

When staying in LA I usually try and get to the ocean – it somehow seems healthier and helps lessen the feeling of being consumed by a sprawling city landscape. So I’ve tried Redondo Beach, Hermosa Beach, Marina del Rey and this time, when checking the shock prices for a return stay at Santa Monica’s Shutters on the Beach, felt I had to search for a less expensive but still viable alternative. So to the rescue came Malibu Beach Inn with the waves pounding the beach right there beneath your balcony.

For some reason, when I first arrived, I felt everything was somehow in miniature. On entering the hotel there seemed to be no depth to the lobby and you immediately sensed being on the edge of the ocean. This is full-on sea view hotel with strong sea air, sea spray and seagulls. As for the rooms, they all face directly onto the ocean with balconies although there are also some side rooms with more of a pier view. However, the rooms are not the greatest in size – quite narrow in width but reasonably long in depth. I guess the architect, to squeeze the maximum number of rooms into the limited space, designed the rooms on the narrow side – with the consequence that the beds - which face the ocean - are restricted to queen size. A pity, but even so, the room doesn't disappoint and is well furnished complete with cosy fireplace. The bathroom is good and bright with a walk in shower (no tub).

There is also access to a private beach where, for an extra charge, you can be set up with all necessary accessories and pampered with food and drink.

Prices in Malibu are never going to be bargain basement especially with views like this. The room cost us $413 – but with tax and parking – that went up to $490. Add breakfast and we’re at $540. Oh, and we had dinner – fantastic table out on the deck overlooking the beach and the pounding high tide waves – real movie star stuff – but add another couple of hundred dollars. Great experience which delivers the feel good factor – but you’d have to be happy in spending $700 plus a night. Would I do it again? You bet!!.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chadsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to LA! We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and felt that the "splurge" was worth it. There's truly no better compliment we like to hear than that a guest would love to return for another visit! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another LA respite soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Though relatively small, these well-appointed rooms have balconies with breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean. This fact alone will make your stay a memorable one. The location is ideal, and easy to access right off the Pacific Coast Highway. We could not hear the highway from within our room. However...We were in a second floor room, and were kept awake by the noise of a guest walking/stomping around in the room above us - perhaps avoidable by securing a third floor room.

Attentive staff, from valet to check-in. Valet is mandatory (and an additional cost), but seemed irrelevant with small parking lot. Wi-fi was free (a refreshing touch in today's hotel market).

Ensure you have dinner at the onsite restaurant.

Room Tip: A third-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dylmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you so much for joining us for your recent stay and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you had an opportunity to enjoy most everything about your stay, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back for an even more relaxing, refreshing getaway in the future. - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Love this property situated right on the ocean! Rooms have nice decor and furniture. Gas fireplace and bed facing the ocean are excellent touches. Bed was extremely comfortable. Patio overlooking water was so relaxing. I was there on business and can't wait to go back for a vacation instead.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelin2Anywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you so much sharing your experience of your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn! It was a pleasure to host you, and we're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit, even if it was for business. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for a vacation in the future. - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I are workaholics and boy did we need to take a break and I decided on a 3 day getaway and stay on the beach. The Malibu Beach Inn staff welcomed us with a Happy Anniversary dessert as soon as we arrive, on our room door was a Happy Anniversary sign too. Staff is incredible and food was yummy. In walking distance of Nobu, (best Sushi, but pricey for what you get and they failed to tell me you need to book 2 weeks in advance.) Every room has a balcony and waking up to the ocean. We were lucky no overcast til we left. We even cruised up PCH and ate and stopped at Neptune. A local hang out facing the ocean, good chowder and fish and friendly people. If you need reasonable comfortable room stay on the Beach try the Malibu Beach Inn and drive into Santa Monica at BOA for incredible steak and the Baked Alaskan was a nice surprise. All in all I would stay here again. Remember to use your Triple AAA I got a better rate through the hotel directly than using hotels.com.

Room Tip: All have a balcony and fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alelid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Malibu Beach Inn! We're delighted to receive such glowing feedback and we always love to hear that everything met or exceeded a guest's expectations...even the weather! :) Your feedback is so very much appreciated and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Upon arrival the valet/bellman made no attempt to assist with a fully loaded car. And only advised us to check if we could check in once i had unloaded the car. Had to load it up again by myself as room was not ready - and when it was i had to take my own luggage to the room - REALLY bad first impression.

For the cost of a suite here i would expect 5 star. More like 2 star. Only a short drive down the road in LA for less money you are treated like royalty and made to feel special. Not so here.

Reception, parts of the restaurant, the lounge and the bar are all located in one room.....
We ate in the restuarant - my wife had finished her starter before mine came out and only after we had finished our starters were bread rolls put on the table....

Aside from the first Valet we met, all of the staff were very pleasant - they just dont run a hotel very well.

Our suite was located next to a drinks/store room - every time someone went in there (often) it was like we were sitting in a bar. Road noise in the room is not good either.

A hand delivered letter was given to us with info about our stay the morning after we arrived by which time we decided to cut our reservation short andhead back to LA. Not once did anyone ask us if there was a problem or anything they could do to help.

Dissapointing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your business and we're grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us. We always appreciate the opportunity to receive feedback from our guests, as we utilize it to improve our service.

We will investigate the challenges you experienced and ensure we rectify the issues in a timely manner. We do hope that we'll have the opportunity to ensure you have a much better experience in the future.

If you would like to join us again, please contact our General Manager, Jill Jennings, who will gladly make your reservation and ensure you have a wonderful experience. You may reach her directly at 310.456.6444.

Again, our sincere thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,968 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,683 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Inn

Address: 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Price Range: £311 - £660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malibu Beach Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently nestled right on the sands of famed "Billionaire’s Beach," Malibu Beach Inn is a spectacular ocean-front getaway within minutes of LA. Since its inception in 1989, Malibu Beach Inn has become a beloved destination for both leisure and business travelers. After a complete, contemporary multi-million-dollar renovation, Malibu Beach Inn re-opened its doors as the only luxury oceanfront hotel destination between Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, offering guests unsurpassed levels of luxury and service on the sands of exclusive Carbon Beach. The Malibu Beach Inn is approximately 22 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The hotel embraces the serene beauty of the Malibu coastline through its landscaping, architecture and interior design. It also embodies the spirit of one of Southern California's most exclusive communities through the warm hospitality of its multilingual, European-trained staff, its signature beach club, and a unique collection of artwork by contemporary painter Glenn Ness. The Carbon Beach Club features California coastal cuisine with Pacific Rim accents that is complemented by an outstanding and extensive list of hand-selected small-production wines from California's premier wine regions. The dining room offers both indoor and outdoor dining, both of which boast breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the tumbling surf below.Guest rooms feature private balconies, minibars, coffeemakers, hairdryers, bathrobes, DVD players, safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access, fireplaces (most rooms), and private hot tubs (some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Malibu Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Hotel Malibu
Beach Inn Malibu
Malibu Beach Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing