We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful,Beach Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malibu Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malibu Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful,Beach Inn”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

spent 2 nights here in April, could have stayed longer. Such a relaxing vibe and the room was fantastic. We booked a queen sea facing room and the pictures on the site really do not do it justice at all. One of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in and the decor was just perfect for the hotel setting. We had an entry lobby with wardrobe, door to bathroom and coffee maker etc..., which left light and airy space inn the main bedroom area which had a chair, sofa, table, desk and fire ( the room was much bigger than it looks in pics). Add to this a spacious balcony and you hardly need to leave.
Think the highlight was lying in bed drinking tea watching whales and dolphins in the bay, as the bed is facing directly to the balcony doors.
I would advise booking a queen room or another sea facing room as they are away from the road noise, couldn't hear any traffic at all, however once you come out onto the landing, you are right on the PCH.
most definitely stay here again, lovely restaurant and terrace and they will sort out loungers for the beach.

Room Tip: As before, the king rooms not sea facing are going to be noisy as they are right on the PCH. We also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxinegledhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you so much sharing your experience of your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn! We're so happy to hear that you had an opportunity to enjoy the view and "meet" many of our ocean-dwelling neighbors...and of course, experience a great night's sleep as well! We'll look forward to welcoming you back (hopefully for an extended stay) on your next trip to Malibu! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    128
    36
    27
    18
See reviews for
93
241
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

As a birthday treat on the last day of our holiday I booked a beach view room for my wife and I.

Firstly I will get the positive out of the way - location. Superb, right on the beach and you can hear the waves crashing as you sleep. Perfect for a morning swim/paddle/walk and they even provide towels and loungers.

The rooms are of average quality. We certainly had rooms that were either bigger, better equipped or comfier over our three weeks in the USA. Certainly not bad, just average.

The killer is the price and constant overcharging.

Valet parking is $27. Now this is clearly labelled on the website, but when you query it you are told it is due to limited parking. When I arrived my car was moved 10 feet from where I left it into what is plentiful parking with large spaces. Unlike alot of places in the USA where limited parking makes valet parking worth it, this is just profiteering.

Then, unlike other hotels, the price you pay to book the room in advance mysteriously does not include tax like nearly every other hotel does. Expect this to be added to your room charge on check out.

Want to drink a tiny bottle of Orangina in your room? Fine, it's available at only $6 a bottle in your room!!

Your bathroom also looks like a showroom, with products and prices making it look like an infomercial.

Don't bother bringing any of your unhappiness to the attention of the Manager or the staff. The only answer you will get is "All the hotels in Malibu do that".

And once you raise a query with the management, expect to have them ignore you and not even respond to a hello or good morning for the rest of your stay.

If this hotel was reasonably priced and had more polite management then it would have got an average review.

I have stayed in many hotels in this price range, but all offered premium service for the price.

Travel a bit further to Santa Monica or Marina Del Rey and get better hotels with better facilities at a more reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shrek41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, General Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience on TripAdvisor. We’re happy to know that you were able to enjoy our oceanfront location and beach activities during your stay, however, our apologies that several aspects of our property did not meet your expectations. We do our very best to ensure our guests receive outstanding service and a wonderful experience, and we sincerely appreciate your constructive feedback and suggestions. Please know that we consider our guests' feedback very seriously, and we will utilize your comments to improve in the areas that we can. Thank you, The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Came to Malibu for my sisters wedding weekend. The Malibu beach inn was in a great location. Walking distance to the Malibu country mart and close drive to the wedding site. The service was perfect. The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom products were fantastic. I would 100% stay here again. Wish I could have stayed longer than I did.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lainieblau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for sharing such a lovely review! We're so happy to hear that you had an outstanding experience, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an extended stay in the future. - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Took wife to Malibu Beach Inn for 50th Birthday trip. First time to stay in Malibu area and this is the place to stay. First off, easy to get to from LAX. Traffic is always a challenge in the LA area and anytime you get close to PCH, but this was pretty painless even with some construction. The hotel location is right on the ocean - not across the street, across a big strand of beach (like other LA area hotels) or across from a strand that has a constant stream of bikers, skate boarders and joggers. Right on the water with waves crashing like its in your room. Almost all the rooms have ocean front location with great patios right over the water. We had a room at the corner that overlooked the ocean and North up the coast on the 4th floor. Awesome. We did pay ($600+ a night), but this is a destination-type location for special occasions and you get what you pay for regarding true SoCal beach environment. The rooms are larger than what you expect with very high quality furnishings that exude a laid-back attitude. We had a gas fireplace, separated sitting area from king bed area. Again the deck had a couple of chairs and small table for some wine sharing and life reviewing conversation where you compete with the waves for attention. Bathroom was large, clean and great shower area. The whole room screams (low key of course) romance and relax. This is a small hotel and the attention is on the rooms. The lobby is super small and shares common areas with the lounge and restaurant. Check-in was easy and the staff was very hospitable for LA. Lots of beautiful people working here. Highly recommend the hotel restaurant. The deck is over the ocean (not beside it) and a great place for cocktails and a decent dinner. We were much more impressed with the view and scene than the food but more because of the location raising the bar on what you might expect on food. The beach is very small at the hotel due to erosion, but your are right there. Remember that the breezes and the water keep it very cool here, so bring jackets. Highly recommend for relaxing, romance and good base for exploring the Malibu area.

Room Tip: Higher is better but most rooms right on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TXScooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for celebrating your wife's birthday with us at the Malibu Beach Inn! We're delighted to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy the beach, the ocean, the food...and of course, your room. We wish you the best for a lovely summer, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for another special occasion (or just an oceanfront getaway) in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Malibu Beach Inn this past weekend to celebrate a friend's wedding. My friend advised us to book the hotel as she claimed it was the only luxury hotel in Malibu. From what I learned once I arrived - she was correct. This is the ONLY place to stay when visiting Malibu.

Upon arrival you can immediately look all the way through the lobby with views of the ocean. Check in was easy and service was friendly. The front desk had a jar of some yummy chocolate chip cookies and apples out all day which was a nice treat as well.

The location was great. We were walking distance to the Malibu Beach Mart which is very exciting for me as it is a shopping heaven. It was also right on the beach - although the actual beach itself is not amazing as it is small with large boulders - it is still beautiful. The service at the beach was top notch. I would like to give a shout out to Jones who couldn't do enough to make us comfortable.

The room was beautiful, spacious and VERY clean. Molton Brown product in the bathroom - huge plus! But all of that was almost irrelevant because all we wanted to do was stare out to the ocean and listen to the crashing of the waves. Why do we live in NY??? I want this all year round!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your enthusiasm for our property! We're so delighted to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations and that you had a wonderful time. We truly appreciate your support and your kind and generous feedback, and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We are local Angelenos, and went for a mid-week getaway. Being right on the beach, feels like you're on a ship. Nicely appointed room and bath. I was worried that the Queen View room would feel cramped, it was not, it felt cozy, and having a small balcony to sit on and watch the paddle boarders fall into the sea was both relaxing and amusing! The restaurant was fabulous for all meals, and has a lovely outdoor patio right over the beach. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Oh and they have beach service!!

Beautiful view of the Malibu Pier which is within walking distance (great shops and restaurants). Also within walking distance is the Adamson House. If you like history, architecture or gardens, this is a must. The home is filled with amazing Malibu tile and the family story is quite interesting.

Cons: A very A/C fan, which ran all night. I mentioned it at checkout and hopefully they will attend to it.

Room Tip: If crashing waves bother you, it's not the place for you (I loved it).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We always love the opportunity to welcome our neighbors, and we're delighted to hear that you had an opportunity to enjoy so much of what we have to offer. We also appreciate you letting us know about the A/C fan so we could attend to it right away. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back for another beach getaway soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed just for one night at the Malibu Beach in on 05/23/14 for one night. It was amazing! The views are breathtaking ! The sounds of the ocean and the fireplace in the room was a great experience in itself. Love the decor of this modern room and the location is perfect too.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,709 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,496 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Inn

Property: Malibu Beach Inn
Address: 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Malibu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malibu Beach Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently nestled right on the sands of famed "Billionaire’s Beach," Malibu Beach Inn is a spectacular ocean-front getaway within minutes of LA. Since its inception in 1989, Malibu Beach Inn has become a beloved destination for both leisure and business travelers. After a complete, contemporary multi-million-dollar renovation, Malibu Beach Inn re-opened its doors as the only luxury oceanfront hotel destination between Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, offering guests unsurpassed levels of luxury and service on the sands of exclusive Carbon Beach. The Malibu Beach Inn is approximately 22 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The hotel embraces the serene beauty of the Malibu coastline through its landscaping, architecture and interior design. It also embodies the spirit of one of Southern California's most exclusive communities through the warm hospitality of its multilingual, European-trained staff, its signature beach club, and a unique collection of artwork by contemporary painter Glenn Ness. The Carbon Beach Club features California coastal cuisine with Pacific Rim accents that is complemented by an outstanding and extensive list of hand-selected small-production wines from California's premier wine regions. The dining room offers both indoor and outdoor dining, both of which boast breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the tumbling surf below.Guest rooms feature private balconies, minibars, coffeemakers, hairdryers, bathrobes, DVD players, safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access, fireplaces (most rooms), and private hot tubs (some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malibu Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Hotel Malibu
Malibu Beach Bed Breakfast
Beach Inn Malibu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing