We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night at Malibu Beach Inn!”
Review of Malibu Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malibu Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We decided to take a break from the snow and cold of Alberta, flew to Phoenix and rented two Harley Davidson Motorcycles. We rolled into Malibu without knowing where to stay and found the Malibu Beach Inn. We were greeted by a very nice young man, who despite our appearance from riding all day, wearing leather and riding motorcycles, was very gracious and welcoming.

We were provided a room at the end of the hall, initially I thought we were stuck away in the corner of the hotel due to our somewhat rough appearance, however the room was great and had a lovely view of the pier. We had an amazing dinner on the deck, sat beside the fire pit and had a view of the ocean. The food was wonderful, the service was outstanding and would recommend this Inn to anyone. Hope we can return to Malibu soon! The only negative thing we can say is that we were charged a fee for valet services when we parked our motorcycles ourselves!! Otherwise, great spot to spend a evening with someone special.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jogirlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Public Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Thanks so much for taking a chance on us during your recent visit to Malibu! It sounds like you had quite the adventure and we're so glad you found us along the way! We are so grateful for your kind words and we would love the opportunity to host you again!

Please accept our sincere apologies for the incorrect valet charge; if you didn't have a chance to get that corrected on-site, please give us a call at 800.4.MALIBU and it would be our pleasure to help.

Again, we appreciate you and look forward to seeing you again soon!
- The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Malibu Beach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2011

There's really no other place to stay in Malibu and it's only a 20 minute ride to all the craziness (and great restaurants) in Santa Monica. We were more than pleased with the room - the view outstanding. Looked forward to waking up in the morning to open the drapes and doors to take in the unobstructed view of the water and sounds of the waves. Considering the hotel is sandwiched between PCH and the ocean, the room was very quiet affording a terrific night's sleep in a very comfortable bed. The beach is quite lovely providing the opportunity for long walks. There's great hiking in the area and we found THE best sushi restaurant in the small shopping mall by the local grocery store up the hwy. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creeker5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Public Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Thank you so much sharing your experience of your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn! We're so happy to hear that you had an opportunity to enjoy the view, the beach, the hiking and even the local restaurants... it sounds like a fabulous trip! We appreciate your continued support and we'll look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Malibu! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

My wife and I had a great stay here the night of January 31. The location (right over the ocean), our room (#302), the service (front desk, restaurant, in-room, and car valet), the food (all three meals), and the overall ambience were superb.

We especially liked eating lunch right above the waves and hearing the surf in our well-appointed room.

We stayed here because of its proximity to the Gerry Villa, and were impressed by one of our best hotel experiences ever.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsoshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Public Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Thank you so much for choosing Malibu Beach Inn and sharing your experience with us! We're delighted to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations in so many ways! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Beautifully designed rooms: Picture a fireplace in every room; each room with a balcony right overlooking the Pacific and a stunning, white sand beach; a "maxi-bar" stocked with no less than 7 full bottles of different varieties of wine, splits of chilled champagnes, half bottles and liquor/mixers and plenty of sparkling water...even Orangina!

The staff could not be faulted. Eminently polite, perfect demeanor of helpful, nonintrusive warmth; the restaurant in the inn - with inside seating by a fireplace or outdoors with heaters and movable sun umbrellas right overlooking the beach/ocean - was fantastic. The wine offerings delightful; the food options innovative, fresh, and filling.

No pool - but the ocean's right there, and they set up sun lougers on the beach for you.

I am looking for any reason to return here. I stayed with a special rate of 275/night - I think it might be a little more expensive than that without the Pepperdine University Rate.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noeyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Public Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the Malibu Beach Inn! We're delighted that you chose to stay with us, and we're so grateful to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations. Your feedback is so very much appreciated and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

I wasn't sure what to expect because the reviews on this site seemed somewhat mixed. I read some horrible reviews and some excellent ones (very extreme cases). So when I called and talked to a representative, they advised me that the poor reviews were mainly accumulated under different management. After having stayed at Malibu Inn, I believe that may very well be the case. I had a phenomenal experience at this hotel. Before I went, it was a toss up between Malibu Beach and Casa Malibu Inn. Casa was more affordable and had better reviews... but I'm VERY glad I chose Malibu Beach Inn instead. When you get a chance, please check out the pictures of Casa on this website (because they don't have their own hotel website). The place doesn't compare to Malibu Beach Inn. Plus, driving by Casa to get to Malibu Beach Inn, you'll see why they're cheaper (it looks like a motel). As far as Malibu Beach Inn is concerned, it may be the best hotel I've ever stayed at. Yes, it was expensive, but well worth every penny. The staff were extremely professional, the location and view magnificent, and the rooms were very modern and one-of-a-kind. I would recommend this hotel without any reservations.

I didn't dine at the restaurant within the hotel, but I did go to Nobu (Japanese restaurant) just a few minutes away. I would highly recommend this restaurant if you'll be staying at Malibu Beach Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Public Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Malibu Beach Inn! We're so grateful that you decided to give us a chance and we're so appreciative of your kind words. We know that there are other choices out there, so we're delighted to hear that we may be the best hotel you've ever stayed at! We would be thrilled for the opportunity to welcome you back any time! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

I have been in most every hotel in Malibu and the new Malibu Beach Inn by far number one. There is no other luxury hotel in Malibu and it's location on Carbon Beach is the nestled with the most elite real estate in the world. From the views of the pier and the yachts, along with top service that is available to cater to every need from the food including specials every evening to the rooms it is the best of the Bu.
We had a small board of directors meeting and they were there for everything.
The crabcakes are excellent and the GM Nicholas went above and beyond to make everything special. I have been in the hospitality business and there goal is to make you happy. The server Ty was there for any request, he was professional and very congenial.
It is a very comfortable place and very easy to strike up conversation with the staff or guests if you so are inclined.
There are very few hotels in the world I recommend...this is one of them.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BambiAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Public Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2010

Thank you so much for sharing your enthusiam for our property! We're so delighted to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations. We truly appreciate your support and your glowing reviews, and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

My girfriend I spent Thankgiving at the Malibu Beach Inn, and it was amazing. We slept with our balcony door open and the sounds of waves crashing all nite was amazing. The staff was cool, dinner was perfect. There's not a better place to stay in Malibu. The decor was very modern and the bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in. We went for a 4 mile walk on the beach one morning and it was perfect. If we go back to LA we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Public Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2010

Thank you so much for sharing your Thanksgiving holiday with us at the Malibu Beach Inn! We're delighted to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy the beach, the ocean, the food...and of course, experience a great night's sleep after it all! We wish you the best for a lovely holiday season and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,892 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
972 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Inn

Address: 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Price Range: £383 - £671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Malibu Beach Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently nestled right on the sands of famed "Billionaire’s Beach," Malibu Beach Inn is a spectacular ocean-front getaway within minutes of LA. Since its inception in 1989, Malibu Beach Inn has become a beloved destination for both leisure and business travelers. After a complete, contemporary multi-million-dollar renovation, Malibu Beach Inn re-opened its doors as the only luxury oceanfront hotel destination between Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, offering guests unsurpassed levels of luxury and service on the sands of exclusive Carbon Beach. The Malibu Beach Inn is approximately 22 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The hotel embraces the serene beauty of the Malibu coastline through its landscaping, architecture and interior design. It also embodies the spirit of one of Southern California's most exclusive communities through the warm hospitality of its multilingual, European-trained staff, its signature beach club, and a unique collection of artwork by contemporary painter Glenn Ness. The Carbon Beach Club features California coastal cuisine with Pacific Rim accents that is complemented by an outstanding and extensive list of hand-selected small-production wines from California's premier wine regions. The dining room offers both indoor and outdoor dining, both of which boast breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the tumbling surf below.Guest rooms feature private balconies, minibars, coffeemakers, hairdryers, bathrobes, DVD players, safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access, fireplaces (most rooms), and private hot tubs (some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Malibu Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Hotel Malibu
Beach Inn Malibu
Malibu Beach Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing