We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hiking and trail running”

Point Mugu State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$44.00*
and up
Malibu Stars' Homes Tour
Ranked #14 of 52 things to do in Malibu
Attraction details
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
1,264 reviews
349 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Great hiking and trail running”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

I really enjoyed an afternoon of trail running here. What I really appreciated was NPS maintained Circle X Ranch building that had running water and restrooms. The facilities are a single building located on the south side of the road at 12896 Yerba Buena Rd. I accessed the trailhead about 1 mile further east on Yerba Buena Rd where there is a dirt parking lot on the north side for accessing Sandstone Peak via the Mishe Mokwa trail. From there I ran a clockwise route going out on the Backbone trail and returning on the Mishe Mokwa. Great views and also decent shade for warmer days.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    4
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,614 reviews
1,088 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,304 helpful votes
“Needs better services”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

The beach is fine, but he support services need improvement. A very busy beach, especially on weekends. The seals were busy playing in the surf and we caught a few pics of one chasing the waves just like a surfer. i was surprised my camera picked him up so far away. I have visited most of the beaches and this one would be near the middle of the pack Camping is available and looks like it could be fun for a family. A good beach for watching birds, dolphin and seals.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

It was cold and night but we kept on driving until we found this beach. Sadly the pictures I took aren't very clear but I loved it. Very beautiful but recommend going early since you have to get there at 2pm. I got there at 5pm, already too late.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxnard
Level Contributor
224 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Showers and no connections”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Very short walk to the beach out of the wind and great showers. lots of wild life and nice spots. Tent or campers. a little crowded but where is it not. Make reservation as it is always full.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank steve and lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nature”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

What's not good about the coastline in Southern Calif? Great to get out of the city and have some fresh air. If you can't go away for a weekend, go out for a walk

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Point Mugu State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing