We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time and awesome bands”

Malibu Family Wines
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.00*
and up
Family Safari and Wine Tasting in Malibu
Ranked #15 of 52 things to do in Malibu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience wine as a Malibu Local. Malibu Wines tasting room is the cozy and chic destination favored by surf and sand loving oenophiles. Nestled high above the fabled coastline that has enchanted the famous and the fabulous throughout its storied history, Malibu Wines invites you to choose from a selection of wines harvested and produced from this legendary terroir. Ocean air, luscious sky, impeccable grapes, classic soil – each sip is a memory produced with love and affection from the locals. Viva Malibu!We proudly feature fine wine from Malibu Family Wines, proud producers of Semler and Saddlerock Wines. Malibu Family Wines is best known for integrating new-world technology with old-world artistry. The vineyards are located in the ideal environment for growing premium wine grapes – high altitude separated from the coastline, pristine weather conditions, rocky soil. Hand picked and harvested the same day, the vines are typically harvested in late September or early October. Wines are aged in a combination of French and American Oak. The final result is a perfectly designed blend of fruit, tannins, and structure, complex and drinkable. You will love the drive to our tasting room. Situated just minutes from the Pacific Coast Highway off of Mullholland Highway, Malibu Wines is located about 25 miles north of Santa Monica. Visitors are welcome to taste wines from 11 AM to 6 PM, Wednesday – Sunday. Please call us for seasonal hours.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time and awesome bands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My son is a member and we arrived around 3 p.m. Lot's of people enjoying the views, wine and music in a laid back, easy going style. Must do again when we visit.....

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Groves1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    32
    10
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for 1st time wine tasters!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I enjoyed my first ever wine tasting at Malibu Wines last week! My husband and I were in Malibu for the day and found this place on Trip Advisor initially. It wasn't very crowded, since we were there on a Monday night and it has beautiful grounds for picture taking. The wine was delicious - my husband opted for a flight of red wines and I did a light flight of mostly white wines. Drew was the employee assisting us and he was very knowledgable about each of the wines. He described them as he poured them before we tasted them which helped us get an idea of what we'd be sampling. We'd definitely recommend Malibu Wines in the future for any future first time wine tasting visitors and also for anyone looking for a relaxing, mellow wine tasting place in Malibu. Some miscellaneous comments: very clean bathrooms, very clean grounds over all, and we got to take our wine glasses home as souvenirs!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SKC324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fun but not for an oenophile”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

As an oenophile I was less than impressed with the wine and environment of Malibu Wines. If you are a lover of fine wine and enjoy Napa or Sonoma, this will seem like a frat party.

WINES
Wine is only served by the bottle or in flights. In my opinion, the wine is not very good. I tried several and only liked the Chardonnay.

FOOD
They do NOT serve food or snacks so bring your own. Along with a blanket or chair to camp out on the grass with your bottles of wine.

SERVICE
The servers really didn't know wine or how to pour it. For example, while enjoying a flight the server poured the second wine into the same wine glass. Never had that happen at a tasting before.

RESTROOMS
Two standard restrooms and several outhouses.

VALET
Quick and courteous. I would recommend such since the venue is on a dirt road. Parking on your own would be tough.

Overall, this is a fun day trip for friends. But do not expect an exemplary sensory experience. Go there to get drunk and share a few laughs while looking at the mountains.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank FitWhit816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wine among the trees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My son and his girl friend took us to Malibu Wines and we had a great time. We brought food we had purchased earlier from the fabulous Calabasas Farmers Market and of course bought our wine there. The wine was excellent.

We saw bridal showers, bachelor parties, themed groups, and groups into amazing cheese with their wine.

We enjoyed live music and the people watching was fascinating.

Even if there isn't a table available, bring a blanket and sit on the turf. (No ants)

I would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank makvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Malibu Wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

A beautiful location for a picnic with friends. All they serve is wine and water, so bring your own snacks, soft drinks and picnic blanket. Web site says they don't take reservations, but when we arrived there were several tables with "reserved for" signs that stayed empty the whole time (about 3 hours). So apparently, they do take reservations. Even though they were extremely busy, we were able to squeeze in and do 2 tastings. For our second tasting, the bar tender, recommended that we sit down and just come up when ready for a refill. Overall a beautiful location, will definitely go back with friends, but earlier in the day so we can get a table.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank laura k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malibu Family Wines also viewed

 

Been to Malibu Family Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing