We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting spot for a decent meal”
Review of Plate

Plate
Ranked #41 of 91 Restaurants in Malibu
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: MTA Bus stop.
Malibu, California, United States
Level Contributor
628 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Interesting spot for a decent meal”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The location is a bit cramped for parking due to the market and Dimore's Pizza. Food is decent if a bit pricey but certainly worth the cost.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
202 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fresh and natural”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We ordered take-out from Plate. The food all arrived fresh, hot and just like we had ordered it in the restaurant. We started with ahi spring rolls with mango salsa, which was really unique and delicious. A great blend of textures and flavors. Then we shared the avocado mango salad, which again was a great choice. We finished with the local white halibut. With all of the flown-in options to choose from, why not choose something local and support local businesses. It didn't disappoint at all. Very tender, with black truffle mashed potatoes and mixed vegetables, zucchini and squash. Even the slices of sourdough bread that accompanied the meal was delicious and soft inside, slightly crusty on the outside. Before I forget, the young man who delivered the food was very polite, knowledgable about what the food and was dressed impeccably. So the overall experience, despite not being in the restaurant itself, was outstanding!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Has potential but could be better”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I went there for my birthday and was expecting better service and food for the price. My wife really liked her meal but my steak was cooked wrong and the second one was lukewarm and tough as leather. I gave up on trying to get it fixed. The service was slow, they were very nice and took off the salad and drink from my bill. Maybe your experience will be better.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ducknc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breakfast in Malibu”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Sunday breakfast with the family, got there about 9:30 and it was empty, by 10:30 the place was full. Beautiful view looking over the beach/ocean. Plenty of food, lox and Florentine benedict was fine/ok. One negative was the potatoes were way too salty. Vegetable omelet was delicious. Waiter was attentive and polite.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philip-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We were in Malibu...walked the pier and were looking to eat before dropping family off at the airport. Hidden in a strip mall...Plate is tastefully decorated and has a beautiful view. The juices and teas are amazing and the presentation lets you know you are getting something special. The tuna melt was good...the sweet potato fries ...amazing. The staff is friendly and attentive. Lovely experience here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gamyleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plate also viewed

 

Been to Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing