We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual and Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Reel Inn

Reel Inn
Ranked #8 of 91 Restaurants in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Topanga, California, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Casual and Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

If you don't mind so so seating and serve yourself dining, the food here is really good. The price is fair, also.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    118
    42
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, food is so so.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We ordered fish and chips, fried calamari and wine, and everything was just okay. Malibu Seafood Fresh Fish Market and Patio Cafe would be the example of perfect fish and chips to my taste. Reel Inn though is a really pleasant beach cafe to spend an afternoon. We had a good time with friends after a long walk along the beach. It was not crowded at all and we enjoyed seating on the shady patio.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great Value, Fun atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Quick seafood - baskets and benches. Feels like a local haunt. I had shrimp tacos, my wife had scallops and Cajon rice. Not a lot of seasoning, but fresh and tasty.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Scenic view, fresh fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

This place is right off the pacific coast highway in Malibu. It's vert casual. You'd fit right in walking in with sandals and a tank top. Pick your fish, and they call you when your plate is ready. I was surprised at how much food they gave me for the price. I had the sautéed tilapia because it was recommended by a tv show I had seen. It did not disappoint - it was bursting with flavor. Lots of beers on tap, too. Of course, the view was amazing. 5 stars.

Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fresh, Delicious Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Had an outstanding meal at the Reel Inn. Catfish with a bit of Cajun and tartar sauce on top, fresh veggies, fries...just perfect. Wine and beer ice cold, servers delightful and friendly. Right on PCH, easy parking. Do not miss this charming spot!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewHampshireLovetogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Reel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing