We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views of best beach in Malibu, good food too!”

The Sunset Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Sunset Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 91 Restaurants in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Malibu
Cross street: PCH
Description: The Sunset Restaurant is a lovely getaway from the hustle of life. Let our staff whisk you away on a culinary journey you are sure to enjoy.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
914 reviews
673 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Views of best beach in Malibu, good food too!”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

The upstairs view is to die for! We went for a wedding reception and although the food was part of the reception it was very good. I had grilled shrimp with asparagus and mashed potatoes. All cooked well with very good taste. Nice green salad with beets was the starter. They do have a lower bar and lounge area and a downstairs dining area. The building is sort of a mish-mash with no really defined design in my opinion, but the upstairs is the place to go. Prices are not bad as far as Malibu goes. They have valet parking which is a must as Westward Beach Road is packed during summer months. This is second time we had been to The Sunset and this time around I give it higher marks than our first visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZumaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    125
    34
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great food, beautiful sunset”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

The food exceeded our expectations. We loved the ahi tuna tower and the special shrimp pasta with spinach. The beet salad with goat cheese was extremely refreshing. Not only is the food great, the wait staff is extremely attentive and the sunset is magnificent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pumpvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go to watch the sunset”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Get a table upstairs for the best view and less noise. The crab claw appetizer is delish, as is the seafood stew. Would have never seen this amazing beach if I had not ventured out to this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Loved it - Better than it looks from the outside”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed a lunch and dinner at The Sunset while we were visiting Malibu. Since the restaurant didn't look like much from the outside, we almost passed it by assuming it was just cheesy tourist fare (even though we were tourists ourselves). We were very glad we popped in for lunch on our last day and went back that night for dinner.

The service is quite good and the food was great, for the most part. I had the Asian chicken salad for lunch and the chicken was nicely seasoned but overcooked. They graciously credited it on our bill. My husband had a burger which was good.

Dinner was a stand out. We would highly recommend the raw oysters, tuna tartar, salmon, and the scallop risotto. All were delicious. For dessert, the carrot cake was divine, while the cheesecake left a little something to be desired. (We were apparently very hungry!)

Prices were high but that's no great surprise considering the locale.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Service, Good Food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went to the Sunset to grab a drink and some appetizers during happy hour. We had great service in the bar and the macaroni and cheese is to die for. I highly recommend the Sunset.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erintheresa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Sunset Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing