We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Ocean view and awesome hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
View from BR & LR
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from BR & LR
Squid fishing boats at sunset View from BR & LR
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
View from BR & LR
Squid fishing boats at sunset
View from BR & LR
surf's up and you'll hear it most nights
Our home/apartment is almost exactly in the middle of this photo
Palm and gate at entrance leading up to Deja Bu apartment
Apartment gate leading to private entrance.
private front door entrance to apartment
dining area
two very comfortable chairs for dining
Living room with ocean views
40' Sony Bravia
Pull-out Queen sofa bed
living room with queen size pull-out sofa and rocker for watching TV
Sunrise from table in living room
Dining area with view of ocean and private patio  with ocean views.
4 burner stove with full over and work space and full sink.
refrigerator with freezer and just open the door while cooking for a great ocean view.
Spacious bathroom with shower 1
good storage for clothing
Ocean view BR
New bar table for watching the ocean and sunsets
Private patio for dining al fresco with ocean views
The patio is lighted for evening dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Malibu, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
frequent1...
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Ocean view and awesome hosts”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

At very first we want to thank Larry & Nancy for their great hospitality. We felt as friends and not as guests- THANK YOU! The appartement was perfect with a phantastic view to the ocean, everything was proper and clean. When we saw this place we decided to cook dinner at home and enjoy the amazing sundowner. To Zuma beach it´s a few minutes by car only. If you have any question or need Larry and Nancy help you immediately. For us this was a Perfect place to stay at Malibu.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Die Ruhe im Haus sowie der fantastische Blick auf den Pazifik
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
We hope to see you again soon. Thanks so much for staying with us and have a wonderful summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndyME317
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Awesome View”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Not ever having been to Malibu, we didn't really know what to expect. We drove to the condo in the dark and woke to a beautiful view of the Pacific with the added pleasure of lush landscaping all around. After driving a bit around Malibu we grew to appreciate the location of the condo all the more. It's away from any commercial districts which is what we prefer. El Matador Beach, just across the PCH, is a wonderful spot for a sunset or beach walk. Larry and his wife are gracious hosts and the condo is the perfect size for two, possibly 4 guests. The bathroom is awesome and the bed was extremely comfortable. We would definitely recommend this place for a quiet getaway to Malibu!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is beautiful.
Liked least: We could only stay a few days.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
You guys were great! Hope to see you again in the near future. Thanks again for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marylouis...
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WONDERFUL!!”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Our stay at Deja Bu was absolutely terrific. The views of the ocean are breathtaking. Hosts Larry and Nancy are warm, welcoming, and very accommodating. The apartment was immaculately clean and very nicely appointed. It was also a nice change from a traditional hotel. It was peaceful and private. We would definitely stay there again. Thank you to Larry and Nancy for making these East-Coasters feel right at home! Bill and Marylousie

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The magnificent ocean views
Liked least: the driveway incline
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin G
Black Hawk, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely stay, lovely hosts, lovely location.”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very nice apartment with views of the ocean. Very private with helpful hosts Larry and Nancy. Just off PCH so it is a convenient location northwest of Zuma Beach.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Hi, Kristin,
You all were great. We'd love to have you stay with us again. Thanks for staying with us we know you had many options.
Larry & Nancy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lucky me!”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I was fortunate enough to book this rental two days in advance. It has all the comforts of home, great view and minutes from popular beaches and hiking trails. The owners are gracious hosts, very thoughtful and respect your privacy. I saved money by dining in, but there are many great places to eat within a 10-15 minute drive.
My choices were to stay in a $450/night **** hotel, a $200/night chain near a mall and this little gem. I made the right call!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: location, view, amenities
Liked least: pots/pans, kitchen utensils (well worn)
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
Thanks so much for staying with us. We are planning on you staying with us on your next trip to Malibu. Hope all is well and we'll see you soon.
Larry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
youcrazyd...
vegas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“larry and nancy and daisey are some of the most wonderful people ive ever met my entire life...and the condo good also”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The communication with larry is excepional and warm. We felt immediate positive experience even before arriving. The location is high on hill overlooking el matador state beach park...minutes from 4 or 5 different wonderful beaches. The unit has one bedroom and a pull out sofa..the full kitchen a little tight but servicable. I felt the unit was nice and a good value for the location. The bathroom is beautiful. The view is ok...a little obstructed by some of the trees and hedges. Nice patio. The best part of this stay is the location and the host..they are truely beautiful people.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CyndeSear...
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
“Peaceful, beautiful, convenient to all we wanted to do”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This quiet, secluded gem in the hills just above the coast at Malibu is the perfect getaway. The apartment is large, comfortable, and outfitted with every amenity one could need. The view over the Pacific from any window is just incredible -- we saw whales spouting within 15 minutes of our arrival! From here, it is just a few minutes' drive to two great shopping centers, where one can buy groceries or enjoy a meal out. A little further down the road is the heart of Malibu, with its celebrity-rich restaurants and other spots to see and be seen. Within a few minutes are also a delightful local park, Charmlee, that has spectacular walks that overlook the sea, as well as three spectacular beaches. Larry and Nancy are amazing landlords -- they know the entire area well and are more than willing to share what they know and offer advice if you seek it. We will definitely return -- next time, it might be for a month or more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the apartment. It felt like home!
Liked least: Having to drive to get places. But hey -- it's California! We expected it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2015
Hi, Cynde,
We're looking forward to your return. Hope you have a great summer. See you soon.
Larry & Nancy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing