We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burger and Fries I've Had in a Long Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duck Dive

Duck Dive
Ranked #21 of 91 Restaurants in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Malibu
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Burger and Fries I've Had in a Long Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Decided to go to Malibu on a Sunday that was 85 degrees. All the places on the water were packed with over an hour wait so I did a little research and found this gastropub. The Dive Burger was one of the best I've ever had and the Duck Fries (cooked in duck fat) were awesome. The Bloody Mary was excellent too but the real stand out was the burger and fries. It's a little hidden in a small strip mall and most of the people there were locals. Very friendly service and a nice view of PCH if you can snag a window at the end.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    27
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
229 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“This restaraunt is following in Savory's footsteps which is not a good thing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The food is so-so and the drinks are over priced. The wait staff is not very attentive. One and done.....which is sad because I am local.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food plus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Located at the end of Pt Dume Plaza , this restaurant has a main room and adjacent patio in a narrow and elongated room. The Duck Dive is a gastropub - informal, laid back Malibu eatery. The food is very good. Interesting combinations of ingredients, spices and flavors. I had the fish tacos which were delicious and my husband had the fish and chips- also very good and not greasy. I gave the restaurant only 4 stars because they allowed a child of about 5-6 to ride up and down the patio (where we sat) on a scooter. Highly annoying.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nili99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Burger!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stubbled upon Duck Dive when we were touring Malibu. We had been trecking around and looking for a late lunch. I had the Bison BBQ burger and it was amazing. Not the most healthy thing to eat, especially when you are going to the beach. However, it was amaing and I savored every last bite.

We sat on a high table all the way in the back and it has a nice view of the canyon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveler1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good find for weary travelers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We ordered the duck fries and guac and plantain chips for apps. Then several of us had burgers and one of us tried the fish tacos. We also tried the carmel custard with sea salt and the flour less choc cake for desert. Everything, including the service, was great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyandCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duck Dive also viewed

 

Been to Duck Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing