We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No food, but great wine!”
Review of Malibu Wines

Malibu Wines
Ranked #24 of 91 Restaurants in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Santa Monica, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No food, but great wine!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have been coming here quite a bit over the years. It's a stunningly beautiful paradise tucked just off of Mulholland highway. There is not food menu, but a lot of wine flight tastings, and you simply cannot beat the ambiance. All outdoor, very rustic and it has these old time antique cars and carriages. Even the makeshift old school outhouses are amusing. You can bring your own food in, and it's a lovely way to waste the day in the middle of Malibu wine country, which is a growing force in wine on a daily basis. I love love love the Mimosa tasting, and we also enjoy the Semler & Saddlerock flights. I think the whites are definitely stronger than the reds, but the Orange Muscat is ridiculously good. Don't blink or you will miss this place. It's about a quarter of a mile off to the west side of Mulholland Hway just past Kanon Dune Road. Don't come hungry though, it's a grown up wine tasting with no food or appetizers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fun Outing with Friends”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

What a great place to have an outing with food and wine with friends. Bring your own food and blanket and enjoy the outdoors! Lots of wine varieties and sometimes they have live music!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edwina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very nice outdoor picnic and wine tasting”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We went on a Saturday and it was packed to the gills. I don't know how they could have put more people in a small patch of land but the atmosphere was nice. The wine was so-so. We brought a picnic from whole food and ate on the grass, tasted wine, and listen to the band that was surprisingly bad for being this close to LA. All in all it was a good time and will come back during the week when it is not so crowded.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ducknc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect November Saturday Afternoon”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My son and his girlfriend got the family out of the house after Thanksgiving with a drive up the coast to Malibu Wines. You bring your own picnic and they provide the tables and the wine and a talented musician. What's not to like about this picture?

We arrived about noon and got settled in before the crowd hit. They were careful to check IDs before we could enter. We started by ordering two flights which we shared between the five of us, and then picked a cabernet and pinot gris to satisfy everyone's palate and keep us sipping on into the afternoon. We settled into our table and spread out our picnic. There was a great musician with a terrific one-man set up. I particularly appreciated the absence of Christmas music, just some great blues/jazz renditions of the classics. I loved his "Runaround Sue."

It did get crowded as the afternoon got into full swing. I was surprised that management let one large table of folks also hog two additional tables for over an hour with not a soul at either table - just claimed by putting some of their stuff on the table. Meanwhile others could not find a place to sit. The guests were rude and oblivious to do this, but it is also management's job to police this kind of behavior.

If you get there in time, you can pick from a table with chair, Adirondack chair in casual groupings, and even a little lawn to spread a blanket.

It was a great way to spend the Saturday after Thanksgiving.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southern-Noni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to get together”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Very charming place for a get together. Live music on certain days. Lots of area to sit around and have a picnic (if you purchase a bottle from them). However, it does tend to get crowded on weekends. Wines are ok, but a little on the expensive side.

They are very strict about the 21 and above rules. No kids or babies allowed in the property. So, you better get a baby sitter if you plan to go to Malibu wines for the evening.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ILBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Malibu Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing