We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Greek restaurant”
Review of Taverna Tony

Taverna Tony
Ranked #14 of 91 Restaurants in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Greek restaurant”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Food was delicious, we had the sampler and absolutely everything was perfect. Service was also pretty good and ambiance was relaxed. Would definitely go back there when in California.

Helpful?
Thank Paulo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    81
    22
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Eating here since the 90s!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I started coming here when they first opened in '94 I think and still love it.

I've had a great time every visit. It's not cheap but it has good food and great atmosphere. I always feel like I'm on vacation in the Mediterranean. There is just something about this place that makes me happy.

Two of my favorite things:

- Flaming Saganaki
- Shrimp Pasilmani (def spelled wrong)

I saw a reviewer complain about the octopus. I love octopus and order it almost every time I see it on a menu. Until I read that I forgot about having to send it back once because it was overcooked. It is not baby octopus. I don't think it says that it is in the menu. It's usually nice. It's not the best I've had but definitely good enough that I order it fairly regularly. I'm pretty picky though.

FYI This is not a fancy place. It is more home-style Greek cooking.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Culinary-widow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibu, california
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Greek to me”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Taking a tip from other readers about portion sizes the four of us shared two entrees and a big salad along with destroying the free appetiser with yummy fresh bread. Worked out fine for a light dinner. Loved the moussaka & the roasted lamb.

Ate on the patio, which is much quieter than the noisy interior. Brought our own bottle of Pinot noir & gladly ate the $20 corkage fee to avoid the rather ordinary & over priced wine list.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zogmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was looking forward to finding an authentic Greek Restaurant that had charbroiled Baby Octopus on the menu. I searched around and found Taverna Tony in Malibu and promptly ordered this dish to go. When I arrived at my destination I was shocked to find only 3 pieces of thick tentacles staring back at me. Definitely NOT baby octopus. I don't mind paying close to $18 for a lunch dish but this wasn't worth 18 cents. Very sad as the restaurant looked very nice, but I guess the availability of baby octopus was at a "premium." As in most cases of expectations gone awray, I won't be back and will let all of my friends know. I should have taken a photo to attach as proof. Probably won't make much of a difference to this establishment, but it needs to deliver on expectations to its clients.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I just went here for my birthday and EVERYTHING was amazing! Friendly, attentive (but not obtrusive) staff, prompt service and delicious food! I got the Sampler Platter for dinner because I couldn't decide and everything was outstanding. Tony the owner was on site personally greeting guests and asking if everything was all right. Beautiful drive up the coast to the restaurant. Lots of fun later in the evening when they have the band and dancers, or if you prefer quiet, just go a little earlier in the evening. Opa!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Taverna Tony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing