We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making a comeback.”
Review of Malibu Pier

Malibu Pier
Book In Advance
More Info
US$132.50*
and up
Hollywood City and Sign Air Tour
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
Malibu Stars' Homes Tour
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Malibu Stars' Homes Tour and 48-hour Hop-on Hop-off Double Decker Bus
Ranked #5 of 54 things to do in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Making a comeback.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was sad to see the stores close down, but they are making a comeback...can't wait to see this beautiful landmark restored. The restaurants are a great place to hang out.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary07020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    201
    134
    25
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Abandoned, What A Shame!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Pier is old, and the state has promised for years to fix it up. The two restaurants there are closed. The only thing there is a nice small gift shop. It is pointless to go there. Free parking is hard to get.
You would have to pay $10 to $20 parking, just to walk up and down water damaged, bird fesses covered wood planks?

You are better off going to Santa Monica Pier, at least there you will get lots of entertainment.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank felix b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Calm”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

If you looking for calm pier this is a good one. There is a restaurant at the end of pier facing ocean. It is next state beach. There is Malibu lagoon which beautiful with birds. Also at shore there couple of big pebbles/stones on the beach, where you can see live sea animals.
Parking is expensive and difficult to get on a peak day. This pier is shown in couple movies for example taken 2 climax scene.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,486 reviews
903 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 650 helpful votes
“A Pier without Peers ?”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

As far as Piers go this one is pretty sad I'm afraid. Santa Monica, Brighton & even Glenelg Pier all have a little bit more pizzazz ! It's great to see the public can fish off it but apart from a good coffee spot that's about it. Maybe it needed a sunny day but it was still a relaxing spot. I'm afraid it is also not the 'Rockford Car Park' , that's further north at a pay to enter car park !! Jimbo would not be happy !!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“relax”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I love the peaceful walking there . I like the beautiful sunsets . I watch the surfers , the dolphins and I enjoy my relax !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malibu Pier also viewed

 

Been to Malibu Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing