We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully Charming!”
Review of Native Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Native Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Malibu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Ok, it is not a 5 star fancy hotel. If that is what you're looking for, this is not the place for you.

It is a 40's era motel. Simply awesome in its simplicity. Period era furnishings and amenities ... quite charmingly rustic. The perfect place to relax, with the promise of quiet seclusion and anonymity.

Quite near many restaurants and the beach. Bring to bring your own personal hygiene products (soap, shampoo, etc) because it seems they don't presume to know what brand the guests might like. =)

The staff is incredibly helpful and appeared to intend my stay be as absolutely pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lotta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Native Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

As I stood in the HOT-COLD-HOT-COLD shower, ankle deep in water, I suddenly realized what my wife sarcastically meant by, 'you're going to have a spa-like experience.' The spider webs in the shower stall were a nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank godsasleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Well what can I say about this Motel. It felt like a forties Motel and has never been upgraded. I and my new wife went to this Motel late in the day and got the last room on the presidents day weekend. The room was very dusty and the floor dirty, the decore old and wornout. The reception Lady was very nice but never again.

Room Tip: continue on the road to the next one
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave195499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Good location. Not at the beach, off PCH, but $110 vs. $400 nearby. Simple. Clean. But, deadbolts don't lock. Wireless router not connected to Internet. No soap or shampoo. Simple things stopping this from being a great place. Not bad if no big expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daytripper15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

A quirky, cozy hideaway near the beach. I emphasize: it's a beach motel- not the Ritz, not the Radisson, not The Ramada. This was our third visit in the last few years and we'll stay there again. Here's what to expect: a clean, modest, comfortable room, a sweet little patio in back, flowers, butterflies, the scent of eucalyptus on the ocean breeze. A big smile from Gary, the helpful manager (a classic laid-back Southern Californian). Ceramic tile floors, ceiling fans, a powerful shower in the spotless bathroom, wireless internet, minifridge, iron and coffeemaker. No free shampoo, conditioner, or moisturizer. No air conditioning-- not needed so near the ocean. Right across PCH is The Sage Room, a fine, intimate Italian restaurant. Here's what NOT to expect: a cookie-cutter overpriced chain motel that offers much less character and comfort for much more money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Marcusdarnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We found this motel to be very very expensive for what it is. It was the last night of our honeymoon so it was a really disappointing end. The rooms were tired and not particularly welcoming.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Toby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

As a single woman traveling on my own, I can say this was the most frightenig Motel I have ever been in. I was exhausted, paid without checking the room, and that was a mistake. I had a blanket in my car and put that on top of the bed. I slept maybe` 2 hours between the roaring Santa Ana Winds (or something) that blew through the door and window cracks. Pubic hairs were all over the bathroom, and petri dish experimants could have been done in the shower. Filfthy cold tile floors, and way too many extra windows, doors and mirrors that you just knew were being used for spying. I had driven 14 hours and am shamed to say I used the pillows after covering with a clean (?) towel. 2 Pillows rolled up into a tight circle/knot and could be placed under the neck for some road-relief from strain.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kathylynndean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Malibu
Malibu Beach Inn
Malibu Beach Inn
#1 of 6 in Malibu
542 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,894 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Native Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Native Hotel

Address: 28920 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265 (Formerly Malibu Riviera Motel)
Region: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Malibu
Price Range: £186 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Native Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the coastal beach town of Malibu, California, Native is a 13-room hotel that’s surrounded by acres of lush greenery and perched on the Pacific Coast Highway. Originally built in 1947 as the famed Malibu Riviera Motel, the classic one-story building on 4.5 acres of land was acquired by SKG Investments and completely overhauled and designed by Los Angeles-based creative agency Folklor, taking on a new, contemporary look while preserving its old paradise charm. The mid-century modernist retreat, which includes an outdoor gathering space and wellness center, is steps away from some of the country’s most idyllic beaches including Zuma Beach and Point Dume. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Native Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Riviera Hotel Malibu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing