We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically the only wine we drink”

Rosenthal Wine Bar & Patio
Book In Advance
More Info
US$395.00*
and up
Private Tour: Malibu Wine Tasting from Los Angeles
More Info
US$895.00*
and up
Private Tour: Malibu Wine Tasting for Two by Limousine from Los Angeles
Ranked #20 of 53 things to do in Malibu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rosenthal - The Malibu Estate is an exclusive vineyard in Malibu, California that produces its own selection of red and white wines. The first vineyard in Malibu and the only vineyard in the Malibu-Newton Canyon AVA, the estate is still owned by its namesake, George Rosenthal, who established the winery over 20 years ago. Today, the Rosenthal brand represents a combination of product and place: • Meticulously-crafted Wines - We feature a selection of full-bodied, fruit-forward, quintessentially Californian wines with a French touch, including the signature Rosenthal reds and whites, the limited-edition, small-batch Block M and G Collection wines and the Surfrider varieties. • The Malibu Estate Vineyard - Set on 250 picturesque acres in Malibu-Newton Canyon, this 32-acre vineyard is located four miles from the ocean at 1400 feet, within a perfect microclimate for growing high-quality grapes. • The Rosenthal Tasting Room - Just off the beach in Malibu, the Tasting Room offers a casual atmosphere in which to discover and enjoy the full selection of Rosenthal wines while enjoying live entertainment and the marvelous ocean view-either indoors or on our outdoor patio.
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Basically the only wine we drink”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We have been Rosenthal Wine Club members for almost 4 years at this point. The staff is super friendly and willing to tell you about the wines you are drinking. Their new tasting room is beautiful and conveniently located right off the PCH. They have an awesome back patio where you can sit outside and enjoy the ocean breeze. They have an outdoor bar for easy drink access. They often have food trucks on the weekends as well as comedy events, trivia nights, and yoga at the estate in Malibu. The wine is fantastic and well-priced for the quality. I highly suggest checking it out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank courtneyjestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilMNeil_Mc, Director of Sales at Rosenthal Wine Bar & Patio, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Thanks for the great review. I hope to see you there.
Cheers,
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent wine and beautiful sunset”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We went with 35 friends for a birthday celebration. The staff were very accommodating and interested in making this a great party. There was plenty of outside seating where you could watch the sun set - a nice variety for 2,4,6 or 8 - our party only took up about 1/3 of the back yard. The parking lot was ample and we were allowed to bring in our own food, cake and entertainment but I did see food being offered and saw on the calendar they do have entertainment on some days. I loved the merlot and we'll definitely be back. There was an indoor wine tasting bar, widescreen TV so you could pop in and catch the scores. We'll definitely be back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pathoranberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilMNeil_Mc, Director of Sales at Rosenthal Wine Bar & Patio, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thanks for the great review! I hope to see you there in the near future.
Best wishes,
Neil
Neil McNally, CWE
VP, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Best Wines in Malibu Close to the Coast!”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My wife and I belong to the wine club. You have to buy the selection they produce quarterly but that is all. You can tase for free that way. If you don't belong, you can still taste but there is a charge. The wines are stellar, especilly the Reds. Their new location just North of Topanga Cyn. Rd. on PCH is spacious and modern. They have a wine garden in the back that has music. Call to confirm when, but usually the weekend. Escape the heat and drink wine across from the ocean, it doen't get better!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great wines, fun place to catch a food truck.”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The wines are great. Tasting and by the glass, but we come here for the beautiful outdoor seating out back and pair a glass with fun food truck fare.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DolmaKarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fun place, really convenient location”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Easy access right on the PCH. For the most part, minus a hiccup at check out, the service was super friendly and attentive. The atmosphere wasn't great, a little banal, but the happy staff (not to mention the gentlemen were also easy on the eyes!) made us feel very welcomed. The wine was decent, so we bought a bottle of the cab sauv (2006) with some brie (triple creme - yay) and crackers. There were also some fun wine accoutrements.

It is worth visiting for its super accessible location and great staff.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_OffTheBeatenPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosenthal Wine Bar & Patio also viewed

 

Been to Rosenthal Wine Bar & Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing