We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous First Time Experience”

Darren's Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Darren's Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 192 Restaurants in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Manhattan Beach Blvd
Beverly Hills, CA
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Marvelous First Time Experience”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Loud and lively, it is easy to understand its popularity. Extensive menu choices with good flavors, large portions, and a decent wine list. Our server was very attentive and professional who applied no pressure whatsoever for us to vacate our table, giving us much time to sit and talk. Parking is highly restrictive in the vicinity, however, so I recommend you use the third-party valet service directly across the street with little wait. Approach heading west event though their sign’s arrow points toward the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SmarterBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    26
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique Menu”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Outstanding food. The crab cake appetizer was one of the best crab cakes I have ever tasted. We also sampled the shrimp ravioli and that was almost as good. My main course was the Saffron Seafood Pasta. I have if they could make it more of a red sauces and less of a cream sauce and they accommodate my request. One word. Incredible!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Patio Dining in Downtown MB!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were a party of 7 and the restaurant was packed, so they seated us on the patio. The patio was quieter than the restaurant while providing an unobstructed view of downtown. Great service, amazing food. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JHugener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo County, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice wine list great food”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Loved the atmosphere and the crab cakes! Tuna was awesome as well. The wine list was impressive and the bartender was very informative. Chef Darren has hit the nail on the head as far are combining atmosphere and food!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun, nice people, great for drinks and light dinner”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Sit at the bar or patio. Local crowd. Staff very nice. Food fresh and good. Always a sure thing for a nice casual night out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank VacaJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darren's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Darren's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing