We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely retreat”
Review of Tin Roof Bistro

Tin Roof Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Tin Roof Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 192 Restaurants in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rosecrans Ave
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Although this cafe is in the general mall area ( Manhattan villege mega mall) it is in a separate building on the Sepulveda blvd side of the complex. Plenty of mall parking without the mall-goer traffic. French bistro-like, it sports a lengthy winean d cocktail list, full bar withs eating and both indoor and outside patio tables. The interior can get quite crowded and noisy ( recommend reservations) , but the outside tables, near a central courtyard fountain are more tranquil. multiple outdoor portable heaters take the SoCal chill off, need be. The indian spice spinach dip with cheese encrusted flatbread was good, however very mild as the curry was not even discernable. Share this with good friends who are able and willing to tell you when you have spinach in your teeth :) Our party indulged in salads-- the thai chicken was generous in quantity with a bit of a spice bite, lots of chicken, few cashew nuts and green beens sprinkled throughhout. The kale salad seemed to be more greens than actual kale, but was deemed tasty. The service was wonderful and they indulged our party to while away the hours as friends caught up on life happenings.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wdee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    125
    30
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bushey, England
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great patio and atmosphere. Main courses average”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Driving to the restaurant, with it beside a car park's mall, the initial impressions aren't great but the patio area around the back is impressive. We had dinner there, instead of inside. Staff and service are generally good and the atmosphere is a key aspect of eating outside. The starters we had (brussel sprouts, and a sort of garlic bread) were sort of good, but rich and not for those on a diet. Overall, I liked them initially but felt they were a bit much towards the end. For mains, we ordered the lamb with rice (special of the day), and the steak. The lamb was good but not that warm. The steak (ordered medium) was well done. Definitely not what I wanted. The bottle of Barolo with the meal was good though, and the desserts were generally fine. The meal came to around $250, which was expected due to the meals and wine, but we left somewhat disappointed due to the main courses not being as good as we wanted. For $250 you want a great meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank movilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of our favorite restaurants”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We are frequent diners at this restaurant and we feel it is one of the best in the area. Not only is the food good, but the service is top notch. We recommend it highly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best Brussels sprouts ever!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This restaurant is rustic and has a great outdoor patio. It is chef owned and run. The food is always fresh and tasty. The Brussels sprouts are a must! They also have a nice wine list and great beer options.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Autumn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had steak and finger potatoes. The presentation was very nice and the seasonings with Greek cheese on the potatoes were very tasty. The good food added to the good conversation. Thanks to my nephew and his wife for introducing me to this restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank G8156BStomh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tin Roof Bistro also viewed

Manhattan Beach, CA
Manhattan Beach, CA
 
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to Tin Roof Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing