We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably my favorite restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manhattan Beach Post

Manhattan Beach Post
Reserve with OpenTable
Manhattan Beach Post is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Manhattan Beach Blvd
Description: Manhattan Beach Post (M.B. Post), a soulful, highly personal restaurant by Chef and co-owner David LeFevre brings a playful, artisan menu of small shared plates, hand-crafted cocktails, and small production wines to the South Bay. M.B. Post is the culmination of 15 years of work, travel, and finely honed technique in the world's most vibrant culinary communities by Michelin-stared chef, David LeFevre. Renowned for his fine-dining experience and seafood mastery at Water Grill, LeFevre returns to his culinary roots with a more rustic menu, built to be shared and served in a gracious and welcoming environment.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Probably my favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

We checked this place out for the first time a year ago and never pass up an opportunity to go again. This is where our chef friends like to go. The small plate concept is wonderful. The menu is fantastic so you can order several different items and share with friends. They have a VERY creative approach to both food and drink. These chefs are innovative and real pros. For me, though--it was just too noisy. I understand this is their thing and we have to just look around to see all the young adults love the place. But with this terrific food and service I will just have to happily adjust.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buttercup60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    117
    26
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lomita, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can get enough of a good thing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

It's always nice to find a place to dine for special occasions. But when you go to MB Post, any occasion becomes special.
It is a very lively restaurant, with a great staff, and even greater food.
You should book early to get a table, as this place gets crowded fast.
Be sure to start off with the biscuits. And you should try lots of dishes, which is not an issue, because the food is "small plate".
I cannot wait to go back and have the Morrocan Lamb Belly, again and again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Killian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What?!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Extremely noisy. I couldn't hear my friend from across the table. The grilled artichokes were excellent and the other food was tasty. They just need to work on some sound dampening.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gotall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting and Really Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

We booked MB Post based on Trip Advisor recommendations.

this was our first dinner at the start of a 4 1/2 week US trip so we wanted a good start - and we got it.

Very crowded on a Saturday night. But got to the bar Unusual food and flavour combinations. All ingredients very fresh. Small tapas-style plates are actually quite substantial. To start we had the buttermilk biscuits with Iberian ham and cheese.

Vegetable and meat dishes were all very good. Highlights were the brussel sprouts, caramelised pork jowl, fried scallops (perfectly cooked) and fries (huge chunks of potato some 6 inches long - crispy outside and delicate / floury inside!).

Had a very nice Lioco chardonnay (Santa Rosa). Very French style, not over-oaked.

Service was very good even though it was busy.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AMRFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New favorite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Every bite is a taste adventure. Menu constantly changing with fresh, local ingredients. A destination you want to return to over and over. Drinks unusual, beautifully presented and tasty as well. Popular happening place. Great atmosphere and service.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wiki21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manhattan Beach Post also viewed

Manhattan Beach, CA
Manhattan Beach, CA
 
Manhattan Beach, CA
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to Manhattan Beach Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing