We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the donuts! ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strand House

The Strand House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Strand House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$55
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean Drive
Description: "This place is only a month old but very hip- excellent food. Sits right on the hill overlooking the pier at Manhattan Beach".
Lake Forest
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go for the donuts! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, great service, great view. If you are visiting, this is a must. Don't forget to order the donuts.

Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    178
    41
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Place for Group Gatherings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely restaurant facing the beach in a cute part of LA. Great ambience and energy if you are looking for a lively night out of town...food was pretty good too. I would recommend the pork belly as a main and mac and cheese as a side. Both delicious. For dessert, try the selection of homemade doughnuts. Enjoy!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank snowglobish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW.... Great Service, Food, Atmosphere and Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was my first time at the Strand House and it will NOT be my last. Dined with nine business associates and the entire experience ( as evidenced by the tag line above ) received rave reviews from everyone. From the moment we entered the restaurant the staff was welcoming and attentive. The servers were always there without being overbearing or intrusive.

The cheeses and meats on the chef's board were a great way to start our dining experience. This selection worked well with the various wines and cocktails being enjoyed by the group.. The entrees, which included Alaskan Halibut, Filet of Beef, Duo of Beef and Jidori Chicken Breast, were well presented, hot and of course DELICIOUS !!! Personally, my filet was perfectly seasoned, extremely tender and cooked exactly as requested (med. rare). Everyone else said the same about their food. My only criticism, which is minor, is that they did not offer a Bearnaise sauce option of the filet... This will in no way deter me from returning to the Strand over and over again. The group shared a few desserts, which were all equally delicious.

I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Kudos and Thanks

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ssei1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my went to hang out and relax near the beach. This place was pretty busy on a Wednesday evening, but the Kings were playing....The food was very good and great selection of drinks. Get there early to get a seat. It also has great scenic views of the pier.

Helpful?
Thank Steveandlanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Romantic and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We went to this restaurant with 3 more couples on Saturday night. We got a very good service, the staff were friendly and professional. Food was very good, specially the Alaskan Halibut was so fresh and yummy. Down stairs were playing nice music and they had a little dance floor.
Everything was pleasant and memorable. I recommend this place for couples night out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Strand House also viewed

 

Been to The Strand House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing