We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Il Fornia - best for lunch”
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 191 Restaurants in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Aviation Blvd.
Transit: Blue Line
Description: Step inside Il Fornaio and take a culinary journey through Italy. Early mornings bring rustic, crisp crusted bread hot from the oven accompanied by the scent of fresh brewed espresso. During lunch and dinner hours, pastas and flavorful sauces simmer while meats and vegetables roast over hot coals. Bottles of wine from small, regional wineries are uncorked to complement the dishes, which have been crafted in the custom of Italy's chefs, bakers and homemakers. Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. This award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Il Fornia - best for lunch”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Outstanding service and good value for lunch especially business.

Food is freshly prepared and a broad selection of salads, pastas etc available with fantastic bread!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ivan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    68
    18
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Food is excellent; so is the service. The surrounding is very nice and comfortable. However the menue pricing and quantity is misleading!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank O2450AWMarkS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, California, USA
2 reviews
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I found this restaurant to be of high quality, with a varied menu. The ambiance was also conducive to enjoying the meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian near LAX!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My family met friends for dinner here, half-way between our homes. We also had to bring a family member to LAX, so this seemed like a convenient location for everybody. While I had never dined at an Il Fornaio restaurant, I had been to their bakeries to purchase their bread, which was very high quality. Everyone in our party ordered something different, and everyone enjoyed their meal. Most of us finished our meal, in fact! The bread the servers brought was, not surprisingly, delicious. The servers were dressed in suits and ties, adding to the pleasant atmosphere of the restaurant. The service they provided was excellent. I would definitely return to an Il Fornaio restaurant in the future!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalapana, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Party Place”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Having a party for 60 people in another city far from home can be difficult to manage. Il Fornaio had three different rooms to pick from, we chose the outside patio in August. The staff were extremely cooperative to modify their menus to my liking.

When we arrived there a bit early I did not like the exact configuration and they assembled a crew to rearrange the room instantly. During the course of the party no one was ever waiting for service, the food was magnificent and HOT!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

 
Manhattan Beach, CA
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing