We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everybody Cares”
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott, AZ
1 review
“Everybody Cares”
Reviewed 27 October 2007

We were very impressed with this small, intimate hotel. We ended up extending for three extra nights. Jeffrey Bacic and his dad, Milo, made us feel like we were at home. The staff, from reservations to valet, were very professional and personable. The food and drink were also yummy. We will definitely make this our hotel choice in Manhattan Beach.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank MCJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    68
    19
    14
    10
See reviews for
61
204
49
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

Shade was my home away from home for two nights in September. Manhattan Beach, where Shade is located, is a great beach community south of LA. It gives you the feel of a small town community in the midst of one of the biggest cities in the US.

Shade is what I would consider the center of MB. It is one of the anchors of a new mini shopping center with bouttiques and restaurants all just off MB Blvd and Ardmore. The hotel is 38 rooms. I had one of the regular guest rooms on the second floor facing the courtyard. I found the room to be spacious, inviting and well laid out. The bathrooom counterspace was huge, and due to the set up of the bathroom (a sliding partition for a wall) made the room appear quite large. The bed was so comfortable (not too hard, not too soft) that it made it hard to get up in the morning. All staff that I encountered were friendly and attentive; one of them even showed me to my room and made sure I knew where everything was and how it worked. He even let me know that the front desk has an extensive DVD collection to use with in room DVD player.

The hotel isn't cheap (I paid $295/night), but I thought it was money well spent for what I got. One note, if your business or family excursions require you to be in Santa Monica, Hollywood, Century City or Downtown LA, you might want to consider a closer option, it will save you alot of time and headache driving-wise. If you don't mind driving, stay here, because once you arrive, it'll be as if your staying at your own place close to the beach.

  • Liked — comfortable bed, small hotel, attentive staff
  • Disliked — there wasn't anything not to like
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joamyk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

It is a beautiful hotel and having our rehearsal dinner party there was very elegant and unique experience. The staff is very attentive and the food (they have a new chef) did an amazing job. The squash ravioli was the biggest hit and you must try it and you will understand. Everybody could not stop raving about the food in general, but especially about the squash ravioli and the ambience. This was definitely a unique, unforgetable positive experience.

  • Liked — Beautiful hotel and it is unique, and location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joamyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2007

The Shade is an ideal hotel. Cozy beds, delicious food, funky decor, great night scene, incredibly friendly and attentive staff...you really can't ask for more!!! While at night there is a very lively bar and rooftop pool scene, we stayed at the Shade with our family and were able to have the best of both worlds. A family friendly hotel by day and a fun place to hang out at night. The location is perfect--right in town and a few short blocks from the beach. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank shade0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2007

We just had our wedding ceremony and reception at Shade and i have to say we had the best experience ever! The Event Staff (Jolise, Jennifer and Tracy) were so amazing! The servers did a fantastic job and the bartender was great too. The food was the best i have ever tasted at a wedding-everyone raved about the filet and the duck. The chef was wonderful- very sweet- and he checked in with us to make sure everything was ok. Jolise was on the ball with every last detail.
We also stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and were treated very well. They sent champagne to celebrate when we checked in and on the night of the wedding. They also decorated the room with all the florals and candles on our wedding night!
We could not have been more happy. We have actually talked about having a once a year celebration at Shade........

  • Liked — the room and the staff!
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbr74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2007

My stay was great. The hotel is hip, and staff was very accommodating and friendly. My room was clean, ultra modern, with every electronic convenience. Perfectly located blocks from Manhattan Beach. The sky deck and bar were great. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a laid back atmosphere with just the right amount of edge and style.

James Ross
President, Grail

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank grail_jdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2007

Stay here only if you are really into being treated shabbily by someone earning about one tenth of your salary. I tried to cancel my reservation after learning of a private party and was told I would be charged the full amount. The price of a night's rest (really, that's all I was going to get, anyway) and nothing more...over 300? I did not think it was too much to ask for a discount given the inconvenience, but the staff apparently did, and informed me that there was nothing I could do about it. Really, if you want to be treated badly, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kamsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
743 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
666 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
419 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Property: Shade Hotel
Address: 1221 N Valley Dr, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-4778
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing