We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding amenaties and a great location”
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding amenaties and a great location”
Reviewed 29 October 2007

It's rare to find a hotel in a great location which doesn't simply rely on its great location to justify its rates and fill its rooms. The Shade Hotel is a complete exception to such a tendency. It seems no expense was spared in the unique decor afforded the rooms and the service shows an obvious appreciation for guests. I look forward to another visit!

  • Liked — Unique and tastful decor
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tmulligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    68
    19
    14
    10
See reviews for
61
207
49
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2007

From the moment I stepped into the hotel my stress level just dropped. The room including the bed was the most relaxing sleep I'd ever gotten on the road. It felt like I was "pampered" without even going to the Spa.

  • Liked — The rooms - so relaxing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PhxRemote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2007

Our firm held a business meeting here and the personalized service was wonderful.

The attention to details in the rooms are as nice as the public areas, which can be rare in trend setting hotels.

Great food and location make this a gem.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TouristNCAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, AZ
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2007

We were very impressed with this small, intimate hotel. We ended up extending for three extra nights. Jeffrey Bacic and his dad, Milo, made us feel like we were at home. The staff, from reservations to valet, were very professional and personable. The food and drink were also yummy. We will definitely make this our hotel choice in Manhattan Beach.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank MCJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

Shade was my home away from home for two nights in September. Manhattan Beach, where Shade is located, is a great beach community south of LA. It gives you the feel of a small town community in the midst of one of the biggest cities in the US.

Shade is what I would consider the center of MB. It is one of the anchors of a new mini shopping center with bouttiques and restaurants all just off MB Blvd and Ardmore. The hotel is 38 rooms. I had one of the regular guest rooms on the second floor facing the courtyard. I found the room to be spacious, inviting and well laid out. The bathrooom counterspace was huge, and due to the set up of the bathroom (a sliding partition for a wall) made the room appear quite large. The bed was so comfortable (not too hard, not too soft) that it made it hard to get up in the morning. All staff that I encountered were friendly and attentive; one of them even showed me to my room and made sure I knew where everything was and how it worked. He even let me know that the front desk has an extensive DVD collection to use with in room DVD player.

The hotel isn't cheap (I paid $295/night), but I thought it was money well spent for what I got. One note, if your business or family excursions require you to be in Santa Monica, Hollywood, Century City or Downtown LA, you might want to consider a closer option, it will save you alot of time and headache driving-wise. If you don't mind driving, stay here, because once you arrive, it'll be as if your staying at your own place close to the beach.

  • Liked — comfortable bed, small hotel, attentive staff
  • Disliked — there wasn't anything not to like
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joamyk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

It is a beautiful hotel and having our rehearsal dinner party there was very elegant and unique experience. The staff is very attentive and the food (they have a new chef) did an amazing job. The squash ravioli was the biggest hit and you must try it and you will understand. Everybody could not stop raving about the food in general, but especially about the squash ravioli and the ambience. This was definitely a unique, unforgetable positive experience.

  • Liked — Beautiful hotel and it is unique, and location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joamyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2007

The Shade is an ideal hotel. Cozy beds, delicious food, funky decor, great night scene, incredibly friendly and attentive staff...you really can't ask for more!!! While at night there is a very lively bar and rooftop pool scene, we stayed at the Shade with our family and were able to have the best of both worlds. A family friendly hotel by day and a fun place to hang out at night. The location is perfect--right in town and a few short blocks from the beach. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank shade0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
749 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
852 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
108 reviews
1.5 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
697 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Property: Shade Hotel
Address: 1221 N Valley Dr, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-4778
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing