We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay - would love to go back”
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shade Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay - would love to go back”
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We spent three nights at the Shade Hotel in March and loved it. The location was good, with lots of restaurants around and the beach, and the staff were lovely. The room was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable.
My only issue was the continental breakfast - I didn't think there was enough variety - but in retrospect it was probably because I was still learning what to expect from a continental breakfast in America.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purle3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    65
    19
    14
    10
See reviews for
61
197
47
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We have stayed in hundreds of hotels in the US and internationally and this ranks as one of best. Truly a luxury boutique hotel as far as amenities but without the annoying nickel-and-diming and attitude. Friendly staff, free locally made cupcakes and bottled water await you. Complimentary continental breakfast and beach cruisers as well. The hotel is 2 blocks up from the beach and you can bike from Palos Verdes to Marina del Ray. Walking distance to restaurants, beach, and shopping.
Then of course, the rooms. Memory foam/tempurpedic beds and pillows, pebble flooring in the shower and a great jacuzzi tub with "chromotherapy" as well as cool track/mood lighting all controlled at the bedside. It was chilly and rainy so we also enjoyed the spiral fireplace in our room. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tornad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Shade hotel is the hippest hotel in Manhattan Beach, CA. The contemporary design, slick bar and amazing food keeps us coming back. The hotel also offers free bikes so you can ride along the beach boardwalk. The food is also amazing. The hotel also throws a very hip New Year's Eve party which we have attended 2 out of the last 3 years.The service is great, the rooftop pool is nice, and in a great location near tons of shops, restaurants and bars. I highly recommend a visit and stay.
Cheers,
Kristina B

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisybaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
172 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

This is an amazing gem in Manhattan beach. This visit I was just amazed by the attention to detail and excellent service. The rooms are still awesome with very comfortable bedding, great extras like the lighting options and sliding shades around the tub. But the new coffee maker is great, the attention to all the little room details - and of coure turn down service with cupcakes. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dottie dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaire, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We have stayed at Shades twice in the past year. We love it. When you drive up- EVERYONE is ready to help. If you arrive in the day you find a fun LOBBY quiet, nice just a relaxing place to hang. IF you arrive at night the change happens and it is so happening. We sometimes stop to see the action-but if we want to head to our room the hotel staff makes you feel special and helps you thru the crowd. Then you come to this fun- magical room. With all kinds of fun things to have in a hotel room- espresso machine, fire place, great tub-bathroom and many more. At turn down the mini cupcakes are a surprise each day. We love you can just walk into town and eat, shop go to the beach- or just chill. We left this time at the crack of dawn- and the staff was once again there to greet us to the very end making sure we were good with everything. We HIGHLY recommend this hotel- you have the choice to go into LA or you have a well kept secret down in Manhatttan Beach. We are excited to be coming with our grown kids this late spring the will love the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jls6860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2011

The staff are quite simply the best! The cupcakes they bring you in the evening is such a nice touch..Yum! The location is wonderful and those pillows are outta this world! The only complaint would be sloooow internet connection (if it connected at all!). But we truly loved it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuttamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

An excellent hotel perfectly turned out with delightful staff in a superb location.
When u think of a hotel nestled in the suburbs of a large city generally it doesnt tend to excite the senses often you think of cheap un kempt airport transfer venues with a heap of star ratings from organizations you have never heard of often accompanied by mouldly shower curtains.

Shade is a delightful exception to the suburban hotel rule. Situated just 5 mins walk from Manhattan Beech in the midst of this well turned out LA suburb. Manhattan Beech is one of the few places on my brief first visit to the US where you could consider living without a car. Yes it is full of dress shops that would not be out if place on the Fulham Road but it also has good quality essentials.

Shade sits in a 6 yr old development at the top of what is the main street. Rooms are spacious with large baths and beds!
Good showers and a good in room coffee machine.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Food wise we only sampled the breakfast which was v good, either fruit or grainola or cooked.
Judging by the packed attendance in the bar in the evenings it us v popular with locals.

Saturday night the dancing does go on till after midnight.

Great place well worth a visit

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broomh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Property: Shade Hotel
Address: 1221 N Valley Dr, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-4778
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing