We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy, sexy, boutique hotel near the water”
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This is one of my favorite hotels. It's a small boutique hotel, very modern and trendy. The tempurpedic bed inspired me to buy one at home. They also have a variety of tempurpedic pillows. I celebrated my birthday here one year and had a great time. This seems like a perfect place to party but the only problem is they do control the noise levels here. The in room jacuzzi tub for 2 is great and has lights above that can change colors or you can make it stay one color. You can have the tub enclosed or open the sliding fogged glass doors for an open jacuzzi. The rooms also have iHome so you can play your iPod. This place is great for couples and anyone wanting a cool place to stay. Zinc lounge at the hotel is pretty cool but now they close at midnight due to the noise control. For my birthday my friends all met in my room for a drink, we then hung out at the hotel lounge which is a really cool crowd, and then we walked to a club up the street. In the morning I hung out in their rooftop jacuzzi pool. Rates are high, about $400 a night but worth it for a special occasion. Sign up for their mailing list on their website for special offers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saranicolexoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2011

It doesn't get better than this, especially for La-La Land! Forget the lack of any view--you're just blocks from the esplanade/immaculate beach & downtown area. Rooms are very comfortable; walk-in shower/bathroom separate from large turbo tub/sink & make-up area. Beds/pillows a delight. On top of this, wonderful comp breakfast; good meals at lunch; highly recommended bar. Fir & Sat night the locals storm the bar--a bit lively. Very friendly front desk staff. I have been staying here w/my daughter over Thanksgiving for several years & on my own in spring--never disappointed. Between LAX-Long Beach, this is the place. Note-they do offer a limo service to/from LAX-reserve in advance.

Room Tip: Upper floor; not over parking lot-better to be over street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperChief49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My wife and I spent a week with our three kids (ages 6, 4 and 2) at the Shade. I had to work early most days (east coast-based jobs), and used the lobby and the business center often. David, the overnight manager, was nothing short of proactive, hospitable, and competent -- he would have the coffee going (at 3 AM no less), could handle last second cab requests, etc. He was excellent. Also, the Shade employees are great with kids, which was a big surprise for an upscale, hip hotel. On the second floor, there is a large jacuzzi on the rooftop which was mostly empty, so our kids would hang out there for 30 minutes a day. There are a few water-oriented playground-things right outside the Shade (a Clifford, the Red Dog water fountain; and a walking area with water, which kids use as a playgound.). The beach is 3-4 blocks away. They have bikes one can use for free and you can work out at Equinox if you don't choose to run along the boardwalk. All in, a great trip and I would highly recommend, especially if you have little kids!

Room Tip: we had a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkhanna74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The place is a cash machine.They make money in every corner .
Everything good but not perfect.
Cool and friendly service.
Manhattan Beach is super and relaxing place.
I'm sure you will go there and came back again and again.
Perfect staff perfect rooms perfection location.
You will love it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marado12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I stayed here with my husband for a special celebration and the service was quite poor. First, when we originally called they talked up a more expensive room (specifically, the penthouse) than the one we wanted and we went for it. But it turns out the room wasn't even available when we arrived and no one even mentioned it. They put us in another suite which was quite dark and more of a meeting room than for a celebration. They did move us on request.
Then, at night after turn-down a hotel worker opened the door to our room unannounced. It was quite shocking and embarrassing. We stay in hotels all the time and that has never happened.
I tried to contact the manager on two occasion via phone and email and no response which to me is appalling in terms of service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank cbandmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shade1221, Manager at Shade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear cbandmb,

I really appreciate your taking the time to review Shade on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay. Unfortunately, the Penthouse Suite that you were scheduled to check into had an unexpected maintenance issue that we were not able to resolve in time for your arrival. We were disappointed that due to circumstances outside of our control we were not able to deliver on the product we had promised and with that we moved you to our most comparable suite and offered you a discounted rate on your new room as a gesture of our apologies.

Your messages were received by our Hotel Manager during a time he was out of the office unexpectedly due to illness. He feels awful that he was not able to respond sooner. In regards to the unexpected entry, our Hotel Manager met with all turn-down staff and housekeeping management to ensure that notice of entry was to be made loud and clear and that this will not happen again. We are excited you accepted our complimentary future night stay and are looking forward to having you back at Shade again soon.

All the best,

Katie Kruft
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This was my second stay at Shade at the end of our honeymoon and it didn't fail to impress. In fact, it was even better than when we stayed in June 2009. I love this place. The rooms are to die for, I want a master suite just like one of these rooms. The food is amazing, drinks are fantastic, staff are so attentive, nothing is too much trouble. The location is fantastic, right in the center of MB. They have literally thought of everything from Room Service from The Kettle (great 24 hour restaurant down the street), DVD list (that's brought right up to your room, as are the movies when you've phoned down with your choice), chromatherapy bath lighting, shutters to close off the bath area if desired (personally I'd rather be able to watch TV from the jacuzzi bath), a wonderful complimentary continental breakfast and staff who really care to get to know each guest personally. It is just fantastic. I know the owner has a few other spots in MB and I've been to several, they don't disappoint either. I cannot say enough good things about this place. If I could design my perfect hotel, this would be it. Stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Suse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

So you want to stay somewhere that's not too far from the airport and the sights, yet relaxed and friendly? This is the place, right in Manhattan Beach, a beautiful upmarket area that is a real gem. Sit on the terrace and enjoy the great weather, walk to numerous restaurants (Derren's was fantastic), check out the beach, relax in your room. The staff are amazing, especially the manager, Christian. Make sure you arrange your transportation with Mac, who is a wonderfully informative driver who has so much to share about the areas you drive through. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GallivantAndInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
780 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
879 reviews
1.5 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#7 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
736 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
2.8 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Address: 1221 N Valley Dr, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-4778
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range: £212 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing