We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool shade” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shade Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
“Cool shade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We have stayed at the Shade numerous times over the last several years. Enjoy the close proximity to stores and other activites. The staff has always been very friendly and made us feel welcome. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The food and bar service is excellent. We will be coming back again soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    64
    19
    14
    10
See reviews for
57
192
45
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I hosted a 3 day business meeting at Shade this week. We loved the service, rooms, location, and meeting facilities. We took advantage of the rooftop terrace, zinc lounge, and blue room for business meeting. The hotel is close to great restaurants, shops, the pier, and the beach so once here you don't have to drive. This is the third event we hosted at Shade and can't wait for the next.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We were recently visiting family in the South Bay, down from San Francisco. We try and stay at the Shade when we get down South. We give it a five thumbs up! The location is only 15 minutes from LAX, then you enter the Oasis of Manhattan Beach far away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Park the car and enjoy the great Zinc Lounge with great nightlife, food and drinks, and all area's other restaurants and the 5 minute walk to the pier. The upstairs deck and pool was great to enjoy the ocean breeze The rooms were very clean and modern with lots of gadgets, lighting and great shower and jacuzzi bathtub, and even Tempur-Pedic matresses! The staff was very attentive to our needs, and all of them (front desk staff, bartenders, waitresses, and the housekeepers, and the gregarious and charming founder Milo was a big plus) and all went out of their way to please. We are sure you will enjoy the Shade Hotel experience as much as we do.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cng66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We have stayed at the Shade numerous times in the past 3 years and never stay anywhere else. It is very clean and has beautiful and modern decor. The staff, from reception to housecleaning is excellent, friendly and always willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay fabulous and memorable. It is located right in the middle of the exciting and beautiful Manhattan Beach where everything is easily accessed by foot. We highly recommend the Shade Hotel to anyone looking for a vacation or business stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed at the Shade when in LA on business. The rooms are perfect, the food superb and the service 5 star.

The breakfast buffet was a huge plus...allowing me to have a great breakfast without interfering with my 10 hours of meetings.

One of the finest experiences I've had in the US.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barniji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

I have nothing but great things to say about this Hotel, the Staff and Zinc Lounge. I have been here multiple times for many reasons and have always had very friendly, prompt, and thorough service. When I held workshops for my business there in the green room they thought of everything for me. They had everything set up on time, valet discount for participants, refreshments and more for my participants. The feed back from my participants was that they felt like they just did a workshop at a spa. That is exactly how I feel giving my workshops there as well.

I have eaten at Zinc quite a few times and am so grateful they were flexible and accommodating with my specific diet which can be a little odd. Food is fantastic too. I just really love the vibe there. Day is like a spa and night is fun!
Based on all of my great experience, I looked into getting married here. My correspondence with Alyssa and Katie was fantastic. They answered the MANY questions I had as a planning bride promptly and clearly. I knew I would be totally taken care of. The ONLY reason I chose not to get married here was choosing to go out of town instead. It was a seriously hard choice and wish I could have brought Shade with me.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

The perfect location is only the beginning of the story with Shade Hotel. I have the opportunity to stay at hotels throughout the nation and typically enjoy the boutique establishments because of their unique attention to customer service. The Shade Hotel offers consistent excellence in room quality, cleanliness, keen attention to detail, excellent dining options just to name a few. We are treated like family at this establishment and there was NO request that wasn't granted. There are many choices to stay in the LA area but very few that give the "Shade" experience. Sincere thanks to Milo Bacic and his exceptional staff. Thank you again for a five-star experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franknlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Property: Shade Hotel
Address: 1221 N Valley Dr, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-4778
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing