We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-Notch Accomdations & Location”
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Great staff, ambiance, and location. Welcomed and treated with great respect and high class customer service. Rooms are nicely appointed, very fresh and brand new feel. Hotel has a great location, don't need to take your car anywhere unless you are headed back to LA or the airport. A nice added feature is they have beach cruisers linedup near the lobby to take for a ride on the beach which is only a few blocks down the hill. Great rooftop pool with a nicely appointed bar. Highly recommend this and I will be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for Shade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

I travel extensively and the Shade is easliy one of my favorite places to stay in the U.S. - I stay there whenever I go to L.A. Top notch service, amenities, and atmosphere. Close to LAX, walking distance to shopping, restaurants and beach. The rooms are high quality.

Room Tip: Room selection depends only on your preference for proximity to the lobby/bar.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We have stayed at the Shade numerous times over the last several years. Enjoy the close proximity to stores and other activites. The staff has always been very friendly and made us feel welcome. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The food and bar service is excellent. We will be coming back again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I hosted a 3 day business meeting at Shade this week. We loved the service, rooms, location, and meeting facilities. We took advantage of the rooftop terrace, zinc lounge, and blue room for business meeting. The hotel is close to great restaurants, shops, the pier, and the beach so once here you don't have to drive. This is the third event we hosted at Shade and can't wait for the next.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We were recently visiting family in the South Bay, down from San Francisco. We try and stay at the Shade when we get down South. We give it a five thumbs up! The location is only 15 minutes from LAX, then you enter the Oasis of Manhattan Beach far away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Park the car and enjoy the great Zinc Lounge with great nightlife, food and drinks, and all area's other restaurants and the 5 minute walk to the pier. The upstairs deck and pool was great to enjoy the ocean breeze The rooms were very clean and modern with lots of gadgets, lighting and great shower and jacuzzi bathtub, and even Tempur-Pedic matresses! The staff was very attentive to our needs, and all of them (front desk staff, bartenders, waitresses, and the housekeepers, and the gregarious and charming founder Milo was a big plus) and all went out of their way to please. We are sure you will enjoy the Shade Hotel experience as much as we do.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cng66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We have stayed at the Shade numerous times in the past 3 years and never stay anywhere else. It is very clean and has beautiful and modern decor. The staff, from reception to housecleaning is excellent, friendly and always willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay fabulous and memorable. It is located right in the middle of the exciting and beautiful Manhattan Beach where everything is easily accessed by foot. We highly recommend the Shade Hotel to anyone looking for a vacation or business stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneeAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed at the Shade when in LA on business. The rooms are perfect, the food superb and the service 5 star.

The breakfast buffet was a huge plus...allowing me to have a great breakfast without interfering with my 10 hours of meetings.

One of the finest experiences I've had in the US.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barniji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.7 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
860 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
757 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Address: 1221 N Valley Dr, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-4778
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range: £232 - £521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing