We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Honeymoon”
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second Honeymoon”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I shared one of the greatest hotel experiences of our lives at The Shade. It was everything we wanted and more than we could have hoped for. An excellent and attentive staff, luxurious accommodations, class beyond comparison, and a wonderful, sleepy little beach town atmosphere gave us the second honeymoon we were dreaming about. The TempurPedic beds were exquisite. The in-room hot tub experience was one that no couple should miss sharing with each other. The local food and drink was fantastic, and it took all our effort just to leave the incredible room. With 24hr. room service, you don't need to leave your private little sanctuary, but don't miss the Zinc Lounge, or the Terrace upstairs. It really was an amazing weekend and we're looking forward to booking at Shade, again.

Room Tip: If you're a smoker, ask for an upstairs room. You'll get a balcony where you can enjoy your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    67
    19
    14
    10
See reviews for
61
204
49
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lead, South Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I have stayed at several hotels in the South Bay over the years, but Shade is the only hotel I stay at now because of the great rooms, friendly, personal service and proximity to great restaurants such as The Strand House and also to LAX 910 min). There Zinc Lounge also has great food.
As nice as the hotel is...the staff is what makes it shine above the rest. They will help you in any way with a smile!

Room Tip: choose a north side room for solitude and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Great staff, ambiance, and location. Welcomed and treated with great respect and high class customer service. Rooms are nicely appointed, very fresh and brand new feel. Hotel has a great location, don't need to take your car anywhere unless you are headed back to LA or the airport. A nice added feature is they have beach cruisers linedup near the lobby to take for a ride on the beach which is only a few blocks down the hill. Great rooftop pool with a nicely appointed bar. Highly recommend this and I will be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I travel extensively and the Shade is easliy one of my favorite places to stay in the U.S. - I stay there whenever I go to L.A. Top notch service, amenities, and atmosphere. Close to LAX, walking distance to shopping, restaurants and beach. The rooms are high quality.

Room Tip: Room selection depends only on your preference for proximity to the lobby/bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We have stayed at the Shade numerous times over the last several years. Enjoy the close proximity to stores and other activites. The staff has always been very friendly and made us feel welcome. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The food and bar service is excellent. We will be coming back again soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I hosted a 3 day business meeting at Shade this week. We loved the service, rooms, location, and meeting facilities. We took advantage of the rooftop terrace, zinc lounge, and blue room for business meeting. The hotel is close to great restaurants, shops, the pier, and the beach so once here you don't have to drive. This is the third event we hosted at Shade and can't wait for the next.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We were recently visiting family in the South Bay, down from San Francisco. We try and stay at the Shade when we get down South. We give it a five thumbs up! The location is only 15 minutes from LAX, then you enter the Oasis of Manhattan Beach far away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Park the car and enjoy the great Zinc Lounge with great nightlife, food and drinks, and all area's other restaurants and the 5 minute walk to the pier. The upstairs deck and pool was great to enjoy the ocean breeze The rooms were very clean and modern with lots of gadgets, lighting and great shower and jacuzzi bathtub, and even Tempur-Pedic matresses! The staff was very attentive to our needs, and all of them (front desk staff, bartenders, waitresses, and the housekeepers, and the gregarious and charming founder Milo was a big plus) and all went out of their way to please. We are sure you will enjoy the Shade Hotel experience as much as we do.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cng66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
742 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
666 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
417 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Property: Shade Hotel
Address: 1221 N Valley Dr, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-4778
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing