We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I have ever been.”
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shade Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best hotel I have ever been.”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Everything was top notch here. And by top notch I mean above and beyond what one would expect from a nice hotel. The service was incredible, the room was pristinely clean and elegantly decorated, the complimentary breakfast super yummy, and the price was reasonable especially given the fantastic service and ambience. If you ever have a chance yo stay here do not miss it. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manfrengensintin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    65
    19
    14
    10
See reviews for
61
198
47
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

When I go to LA on business I always stay at Shade my last night (before heading out of LAX in the morning). Manhattan Beach is a wonderful town with excellent restaurants, and Shade is in the middle of it. Very nice and comfortable rooms with all of the amenities, love the bar in the lobby (well, the bar IS the lobby), professional but laid-back staff, and a reasonable price for the location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lllaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Friends of mine who live in So.CA has been taking trips to The Shade for the past three years and I can see why. They invited me to spend a day with them and bike ride along "The Strand" which is a bike path that stretches 22 miles along the ocean. So I got to check out the hotel as a 3rd party outsider and I must say.... I'm extremely impressed with everything about this hotel and especially their service! They treated me and gave me service as if I was one of their guests. They have several cruiser bikes on hand for their guests and I was able to use one for the day. Three hours into our bike ride is when I realized that I wouldn't be back in time to feed the parking meter for my car. So I called the front desk at The Shade and asked if they would feed the meter for me and the lady didn't even hesitate. She said yes of course and asked where is it located, make and model and took care of it! When I got back to the hotel I offer to give them money for the meter and they didn't even take my money. On the house she said. (FYI: there is plently of parking to choose from at The Shade; anywhere from short term meter parking, to long term and also valet parking too)

Oh, and must have their Passionate Kiss Martini at their bar. Unlike any other Martini you've ever had....I promise you will love it! and....of course their service at the bar too! I put my cell phone down on the bar and the bartendar noticed and put it upright in a glass and placed it in front of me so that I'm sure not to leave without it. Nice touch and attention to detail.

So as an outsiders perspective, they made me feel as though I wasn't one. Beautiful hotel and design, very clean, friendly staff with outstanding service! Location of The Shade is awesome! Put this hotel on your bucket list.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

my boyfriend is a "hotel addict"....he loves to stay at a variety of hotels that continue to have unique very amazing service that completely cater to their guests...employees that go above and beyond their "jobs"...adding amazing guests that check into their the hotel(s)..."shade" has overall been an amazing experience...the unique attention to detail that was put into the entire "boutique" is tasteful and sexy....and inviting....the beautiful run lights around the very comfortable jacuzzi tub that also has the multi-colored changing light that turn with the running lights....in the rooms on the second floor there is an awesome cyclone fireplace...with a comfortable sized patio....and the suite is off the hook....three separate rooms with a larger jacuzzi tub...steam room with "rain shower included in the much larger walk-in shower...separate large master suite w/balcony....larger flat screen tv with a pull out temprepedic bed....and yes there is a full keg...with a beautifully frozen/iced spout...for the unique shade experience...TOTALLY worth enjoying...cheers..

Room Tip: theres only 30 so advance planning although they have great rates in off season
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crosbynw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We had our wedding reception at the Shade Hotel in Manhattan Beach CA on June 23 , 2012. The skydeck was the prefect venue for a small intimate wedding reception. The service was impeccable, the food was excellent, the attention to detail was on point, their staff support was so professional that we did not worry about anything at all. Our guests (total 60) still talk about how great the wedding was at the Shade Hotel.
I highly recommend this hotel for any and all special events. Their skydeck is just a great venue!

We, as well as other guests also stayed there for a couple of nights. The entire staff was just so welcoming and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skorp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

To call Shade a home away from home would be the understatement of the century. I’ve been traveling to and from Southern California for business the past six years, with 30+ stops at Shade. The staff for both the hotel and their restaurant/lounge (Zinc) have been my second family since I started my travels. I’ll be away from the hotel for months at a time, only to check in and have the front desk greet me with a “welcome back” before I’ve made it through the door. It’s even gone so far as upon check-in a few months back, I was given a Shade hat that read “CUSTOMER OF THE YEAR” across the top! All of the staff know the exact spots for a business travel like myself to go and unwind after work. I give Shade my highest recommendation to anyone looking for a place to stay in Southern California.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ferguj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I have lived in southern California for a couple years now and after a while it starts to wear on you. I was tipped to Shade Hotel by a couple friends and decided to make it the destination in which I would plan my romantic evening away. From the time I picked up the phone to schedule the reservation I was greeted by the nicest person I have ever had the pleasure to book a hotel with by the name of Claire. She helped enlighten me on what would be in store for me and I was so happy to finally meet her when i showed up to get my room key. Thinking that would be the last person I would be dealing with I found myself at a slight problem by having a room that was too big for my intimate vacation and no sooner did I pick up the phone then I found myself in the perfect room with a great view and thanks to Jordan P. I didn't even have to lift a finger. A relationship that turned out to be most valuable when he was nice enough to help me order food after hours and have it delivered right to the room while he took care of everything. Both Jordan and Claire were fantastic, and coupled with the luxurious and extremely romantic layout of both the room and the hotel itself, this was exactly what i needed making my experience the perfect getaway. :-) If you don't stay here, you're missing out.

Room Tip: It honestly doesn't matter, all the rooms are fabulous but i recommend the Deluxe Spa Suite. Per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bthestylish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Property: Shade Hotel
Address: 1221 N Valley Dr, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-4778
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing