We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shade Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2008

The "hotel" is more of a motel with limited amenities. The rooms are okay with a nice bathroom but it's about half of the room size with the bath in the middle of the room. There is no desk and very limited space. My room had no view, I'm not sure about the others. The min-bar is pricey, $40 for a half bottle of wine, I believe $3.50 for coffee to use in the in-room maker.

The main issues with my stay was the service, I asked turndown service to come back but they never did. I had trouble getting back into the "hotel" at night when the lobby turned into a bar. On checkout day the front desk called at 12:05 and wanted to know if we needed help with our bags, I told them no that we were in the process of getting ready to check out. The lady acted stunned we weren't ready to be out of the room yet (checkout time was 12, I thought it was 1). To make a long story short over the next approximately 30 minutes the front desk called 4 times and I spoke to them every time and sent two people to the room to see when we would be out. We were out by 12:35 and they make it clear check in time isn't until 3PM. We would have been out sooner if it wasn't for answering the phone and door every 5 minutes. I've never seen anything so bizarre, any luxury hotel will give you an extra 30-45 minutes to check out especially on a Sunday.

The staff is very immature and they feel the need to exude power over you rather then being there to serve you. I travel extensively and have never had an experience like this. You can do much better in the LA area then this.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank No1WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    64
    19
    14
    10
See reviews for
57
192
46
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2008

We just returned from a fantastic stay at the Shade. This is our 3rd year re-visiting Los Angeles (we both lived there 15 years ago). Last year we stayed at the Loew's Santa Monica, and the Shade Hotel is by far the better hotel. The room is perfect, hip, and spacious. The shower is huge, and the whirlpool tub is very relaxing. The service is impeccable. Location is close to all restaurants and shops. Continental Breakfast and the morning paper is included. In and Out privilages for parking at $15 per day is the best deal in Manhattan Beach. We didnt have a chance, but we could have rented bikes. And yes, the rooftop pool area is perfect for relaxing, and SUNSETS. I could not think of a better place to stay in the South Bay area of LA.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank phone201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2008

I visited Shade last week for the first time and I was totally blown away by everything that it had to offer. The service was outstanding from the Valet right when we arrived to the maids offering turn down service to the Bar Tender and people at the front desk. We ate room service twice and the food was prompt and very enjoyable. The hotel is close to the beach and all kinds of restaurants and shopping if you like but there is really no reason to leave the hotel if you don't want to. Shade brings it all to you. The rooms are like no other I've stayed in before. From the tempurpedic king size beds to the cyclone fire place and large Jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room. You can head up to the roof top deck for an amazing sun set over the Pacific Ocean or take a dip in the heated roof top pool. They really did pay attention to detail when putting together this one of a kind hotel. I highly recommend Shade to anyone that is looking for a nice get away. They offer it all at Shade. It Truly is a 5 STAR hotel.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BigGuyNewportBeachCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wortegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

The rooms are a delight, the young staff is very, very helpfull and the ZINC lounge creates a special atmosphere.
In short : a unique concept of what a hotel should be !

  • Liked — a unique concept
  • Disliked — the rooms !!!!!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fernand_Hollevoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights. The room was fabulous. The bed- as many reviews have stated- was amazing. Lots of pillows and a great comforter. Amenities in the room were perfect- expresso machine, flat screen TV, great clock radio, they even leave you bottles of Fiji water at night. Bathroom was superb- huge bathtub with cool lights, great shower. Overall was a wonderful stay. Staff was very friendly- borrowed two bikes and rode all around Manhattan Beach. Only drawback- our room had the Cyclone Fireplace- which was very cool- but there was no seating- just a little bench in front of the bed. They should include an easy chair or some other seating choice, instead of sitting in bed all the time. Looking forward to going back to the Shade many more times.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2007

The Shade is a fantastic hotel in a great town - Manhattan Beach. It's very accessible to/from LAX but feels miles away from the madness. Even if I am visiting clients at or near LAX I would make the short trip to Shade. The hotel is very comfortable, the quality of the rooms superb, and the staff is always friendly and striving to make the experience more enjoyable. The bar is always a great scene and the food options are second to none in the area. The courtyard just outside the hotel has shops, restaurants, and coffee shops that like the hotel are beautifully done. If you have time, be sure to borrow a hotel bike and take a cruise along the beach - great way to spend a few hours.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanJ2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2007

It's rare to find a hotel in a great location which doesn't simply rely on its great location to justify its rates and fill its rooms. The Shade Hotel is a complete exception to such a tendency. It seems no expense was spared in the unique decor afforded the rooms and the service shows an obvious appreciation for guests. I look forward to another visit!

  • Liked — Unique and tastful decor
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tmulligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Property: Shade Hotel
Address: 1221 N Valley Dr, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-4778
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing