We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shade Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

I stayed here in april for a wedding. hotel is great and in a perfect location for the beach, restaurants, and walking around. everyone was great. the rooftop pool is a good place to hang out and relax. would love to return someday!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    64
    19
    14
    10
See reviews for
57
192
45
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

I've stayed here about 8 times over a year. It used to be a better value, but now it's getting a little pricy. It's close to everything you want to be close to in manhattan beach. The bar is fairly upscale and the crowd ranges from young professionals to cougars. Bottom line is if money is no object stay here. If you don't spend much time in your room, it might not be worth the dough. I will say the beds are very comfortable and you get guaranteed entrance into the bar at night which can be pretty hectic on the weekends. If you want to save some $$ stay at the Residence Inn on Sepulveda and cab over early. There are plenty of other nice bars to go to as well as some awesome dive staples of MB.

Shade is great, don't get me wrong. Would I stay again? Of course I would.

Don't forget about the rooftop deck with bar, spa, and pool. Not too shabby.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CGonzales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles,CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2008

My boyfriend and i stayed here recently and the hotel is great. From the moment we pulled into the valet everyone that we encountered at the hotel was wonderful. The customer service is really great. The decor and ambiance at the hotel is cool and the room that we had was spacious and decorated nicely. We used the jacuzzi bath and it was great considering my bf is 6'4 we both fit in there ok. The chromotheray color changing bathroom was interesting too. We had a cyclone fireplace in the room that was a nice added touch. The temperpedic bed was ok but not really my thing but we still slept great. Manhattan Beach is a great little town and needed a hotel like this.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank racecargirl911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

We hosted a lovely party on the Skydeck at Shade---the food was delicious, service was superb, in short, it was perfect! We had contacted several other locations before deciding on Shade. No other venue was as helpful or accommodating. It was a pleasure to work with event planners at Shade. I would highly recommend Shade for any type of entertaining!!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank bufflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2008

I want to give SHADE an A++++....I have had several great experiences! Shade is a very hip boutique hotel, a few blocks off the beach in Manhattan Beach....possibly the best location in town, and next door to great restaurants and shopping. One of the great things about SHADE...you not only get "hip", but you also get great service...which is not always the case with hip hotels with attitude. I have stayed at SHADE three times now, and each one has been a great experience. #1 check -in help, bellman, maid service, et al...all are great. #2 The rooms: , maybe not the biggest hotel rooms in the world, but meticulously designed, clean, chic, and VERY comfortable beds - it's like staying in a little designer home away from home. I have stayed in their normal rooms which I think are just great.....if you like a very stylish, hip, yet comfortable room, you'll love them. I was lucky enough to get the Penthouse Suite on my last visit...it was just great!!! **Bar with a working beer tap, flat screen above the bar, a den, bedroom...big bath and shower....if you can splurge, do....you'll love it. #3 The Bar - ok, probably one of the hippest in town...kind of like a "W" lobby bar, beautiful scene, beautiful people....yet the noise is chill and the bar does not interupt your stay, great for couples, great for singles, great to just get a drink and chill (you just happen to get the bonus of being surrounded by beautiful, yet relaxed people. #4 Food....I didn't eat dinner there, but had breakfast and lunch...all outstanding....a great mix where style meets function and flavor...I highly recommend the food as well. So.....I travel the world, and I can say I fell in love with Shade, great place, great people, great service....all for a good price. If you are a business traveler, a couple for a getaway or vacation, or a single looking to enjoy Manhattan Beach...in each scenario, you will absolutely think you picked the best hotel in town! **Tell them I said hi.....you'll feel hip, but also you'll feel "known and appreciated"..... Safe and fun travels....Frank

  • Liked — Service and Location
  • Disliked — All good!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankoTravelsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2008

Very hip, but not a place for a good nights sleep. Very noisy and an uncomfortable mattress. I complained about the noise immediately after getting to my room and the staff was happy to book me a room at another hotel but said there was no way I could get out of paying for the room at Shades. This was past 10pm on a weeknight. I did not get fully to sleep, due to noise, until after 1am. Also, terrible room lighting.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SFBayArea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2008

The hotel room was clean, interesting, nicely decorated, was in a great location and had a great staff. Our balcony faced the street and we weren't even awaken during naps in the middle of the afternoon - very quiet. The tempurpedic mattress and body pillows are a nice touch, as is the rolling bed tray to have breakfast in bed. The shower and tub were also very nice and clean and they had great shower supplies. My wife even used them and she is very particular about what she puts in her hair. We were able to sit on the roof of the hotel (and while very small, still cute) and relax one day while staff brought us Margaritas from the lounge downstairs for a less than exorbitant $7.50 each - cheap for LA standards. I don't think there were any serious enough complaints to aire on a website. If you want to relax, then I think Manhattan Beach and the Shade is a perfect place for you. The drawback to that is that there is not that much to do in this town, but you are close enough if you want to drive to LA.

I forgot one thing - surprisingly, I found the residents of LA to be much more friendly than those in the beach town of Manhattan Beach - who were very pretentious and snobby. However, that should not really reflect on the great service I received at the Shade - where the staff was outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank juckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Property: Shade Hotel
Address: 1221 N Valley Dr, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-4778
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing