We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, would return in a headbeat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shade Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful, would return in a headbeat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel in Manhattan Beach was recommended to me by a couple of people. It was a combination of romantic/luxurious/relaxing all in one. My room had a king size bed with a beautiful soaker tub with jets. The service was impeccable. Although the restaurant in the evening had too loud music in my opinion, the food was very good and there was a mix of indoor/outdoor seating depending on your preference. My rate included a continental breakfast but I do not know if it is always included; a lot of people I saw had the breakfast. A few short blocks to the beach and pier (I steep climb back up the hill to the hotel). Surrounded by good restaurants and a spa two doors down at Trilogy ( I will give them a great reco on Trip Advisor too)

Room Tip: Second floor is better but I do not think any of the rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieNYC1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    64
    19
    14
    10
See reviews for
57
192
45
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

What a perfect location and lovely boutique hotel. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean and the air conditioning welcomed. Nice jetted. large tub. The only thing that I would have added to the room is a chair that adjust in height to be able to work on the bed long table. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. We found their Zinc restaurant prices very reasonable. You have many of dinning and shopping options within walking distance. The beach and pier are 4 blocks away.

Room Tip: Our room faced Valley Drive and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmgsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

If not for word of mouth I would have never known about this hotel, but it is a must-stay! Clean, contemporary, just blocks from the beach. A lively courtyard outside was the perfect vibe and the bar has an excellent staff and great menu. Just the right mix of casual and elegant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank luxetraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The location is hard to beat, and the service is great. I don't think the hotel is a great value, but I will return. Complimentary beach cruisers are a great convenience. The rooms are interesting. I am not a fan of the bathtub in the middle of the room, but I am sure some people love that feature.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailsurfgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have been fortunate to stay at a lot of nice hotels, but this one took it to the next level. If you have business or vacation in the Manhattan area, this place will give you memories you won't forget. The rooms are excellent and the staff could not be friendlier.
Something you have to experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jer7Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

...I just returned from two weeks in Manhattan Beach and my stay at Shade was nothing short of fantastic. I'm very all travelled, but rarely have I found a city or hotel that I just can't wait to get back to. I guess I'm always looking for my next great adventure. That's all changed with my stay at Shade. I live in La Quinta and love it here November thru May, but come the summer and fall when things heat up you'll find me at the beach and beyond. Travel is a passion. My usual routine will find me anywhere from La Jolla, to Del Mar, to Laguna, etc..for 3-4 night stays. Now that I've found Shade AND Manhattan Beach that's all changed. The town itself and the location of Shade make this a vacation paradise. I can walk to the beach in a matter of minutes, and I'm just steps away from fabulous choices for food and drinks. As a matter of fact the food and service is so good at Shade that I not only ate breakfast there most days, but had several lunches and dinners there as well. The only time I ever got in my car was to go workout at Equinox a fabulous gym included in the price of my stay. The Shade is quaint, only 38 rooms, yet the lobby bar is lively and a great way to chill at the end of the day. Shaunne, Cecelia, Cristina, Gustavo, and the rest of the staff made me me feel at home from the time I walked through the front door. Shade is minutes from LAX, and close enough to Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Hollywood, etc..should you want to venture out, although I'm not sure why you'd ever want to leave. I know I'll be back in just 3 weeks!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osakasayama, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I had a good time to stay at Shade.I stayed long days that was 5 nights.Staff was very kindly. Valet prepared my rental car while I was eating breakfast. Near beach,some restaurant,everything good. But,one day, road near the hotel had been closed to traffic for event of something.

Room Tip: Sometime there is a party in the courtyard . I would recommend a room on the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaocicci73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Property: Shade Hotel
Address: 1221 N Valley Dr, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-4778
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing