We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil oasis in a non stop city perfectly situated 20 mins from LAX”
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shade Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A tranquil oasis in a non stop city perfectly situated 20 mins from LAX”
Reviewed 3 February 2011

An excellent hotel perfectly turned out with delightful staff in a superb location.
When u think of a hotel nestled in the suburbs of a large city generally it doesnt tend to excite the senses often you think of cheap un kempt airport transfer venues with a heap of star ratings from organizations you have never heard of often accompanied by mouldly shower curtains.

Shade is a delightful exception to the suburban hotel rule. Situated just 5 mins walk from Manhattan Beech in the midst of this well turned out LA suburb. Manhattan Beech is one of the few places on my brief first visit to the US where you could consider living without a car. Yes it is full of dress shops that would not be out if place on the Fulham Road but it also has good quality essentials.

Shade sits in a 6 yr old development at the top of what is the main street. Rooms are spacious with large baths and beds!
Good showers and a good in room coffee machine.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Food wise we only sampled the breakfast which was v good, either fruit or grainola or cooked.
Judging by the packed attendance in the bar in the evenings it us v popular with locals.

Saturday night the dancing does go on till after midnight.

Great place well worth a visit

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broomh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    65
    19
    14
    10
See reviews for
61
197
47
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Avalon Beach, Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

A great alternative to an airport hotel for a short stay....in fact instead of one night, we could have stayed a week !
Friendly and knowledgeable staff. In fact one reason we stayed there was that Shade was the ONLY hotel (out of 3 top rating Trip Advisor hotels) to respond to our email request for a booking, with an early check in.
The room was a little smallish, but nicely fitted out. The spa bath was great after a 12 hour flight. The breakfast buffet was good quality, with a wide choice including plenty of fresh fruit and granola, salmon and cheeses (very continental)
The quality image continues with the Tempur mattress and pillows.....possibly the best we have ever slept on. And an in room cappuccino machine was great! The complimentary rental bicycles enables an easy ride along the beaches from Manhattan to Hermosa to Redondo.
This is probably around our 50th stay in Los Angeles. (overnighting to and from skiing). In future, if flight times give us most of a daylight day in LA, we will be booking at Shade without question.
....and book their limo driver too....so much better than a taxi

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davlynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shade1221, Manager at Shade Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Hi davlynski,

We greatly appreciate your TripAdvisor review! We value our guests here at Shade Hotel, and always want to make sure that all guest requests are met in a quick fashion; our Front Desk staff checks our general e-mail everyday so that nothing slips between the cracks. We hope you will stay with us for a longer period next time! It certainly sounds like you are quite the seasoned Los Angeles-ite, and we are honored that you chose to stay with us out of all the other luxury hotels offered in L.A. Each Shade guestroom has a two-person Sanijet bathtub, and it’s an incredibly relaxing way to unwind after a long flight. Our cozy guest rooms reflect a welcoming, intimate-ambiance, which is why we also feature Tempurpedic mattresses and pillows in all of the rooms. Manhattan Beach is a gorgeous beach city, and what better way to check it out than to hop on one of our complimentary Beach Cruiser Bicycles and take it for a cruise around town? We pride ourselves on our delectable Beach Breakfast Buffet which includes, as you mentioned, fresh fruit, bagels with lox, assorted cereals, pastries, hot oatmeal, and other delicious items. Breakfast, bicycles, WiFi, and gym access are just a few of the many amenities we provide for all in-house guests. We hope to see you soon, and so does Mac, our town car driver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I absolutely, totally and completely enjoyed my stay at Shade! I checked in late and the lobby/bar area was in full swing. I'll admit I was a bit concerned about the sound drifting up to my room! but when I got upstairs and closed the door, it was SILENT! and the rooms are PERFECT... firm/comfy bed, fabulous sheets, pillows, lighting, ambiance, soaps/lotions etc, AND water and a cupcake with turn down! the food is wonderful too...

Manhattan Beach is a wonderful place to hang, and the Strand is just blocks from the hotel

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmk030207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Stayed at shade hotel for anniversary with my husband this past weekend got there private party was going on at zinc lounge so we could not have dinner or drinks there to make up for it they upgraded us to a better room and also gave us a $25.00 credit to use at the rooftop bar food was very good tried the sliders also have very good drinks room was beyond beautiful really clean also have comp water,espresso machine and mini cupcakes at turn down service bed was so amazing did not want to get out of it tub in the room was huge loved it bathroom was huge also tried comp breakfast in the morning that was very good...overall hotel was amazing very pricey but you get what you pay for well worth the money for a special occasion or relaxing weekend!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CYNTHIA012403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Took my wife out to Ca for the Rose Bowl and we wanted to stay in Mahattan Beach. Shade is the place to stay. It was a very cool place to be. The new years eve casino party was a BLAST and the staff was incredible. The rooms were very nice and the giant whirlpool tub was a fun addition. The bar (Zinc) was the place to be and was always active with pretty people. If you are out in LA Shade is a must do...even if you are not staying there go by for a cocktail or lunch.

Brian and Lesley K
Houston Tx

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkrivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shade1221, Manager at Shade Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Brian,

We are so happy to hear that you and Lesley had a great time! It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us, and we hope to see you both out here very soon (or at least the next time TCU makes it to the Rose Bowl!). Happy 2011 to you and your family.

All the best,

Shade Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We traveled down from the bay area for the Christmas holidays, and had an extra day available to show the family the Manhattan Beach area. We were incredibly impressed that there was such a modern & elegant hotel so close to all the sights. The staff was so friendly & attentive to our family, even supplying DVDs for the children. Gregarious Milo, the founder of the hotel shared his holiday cheer with us while we ate the wonderful food from the Zinc lounge. The rooms were so modern and the incredible Tempurpedic beds gave us a restful sleep. The hotel is close to the beach and pier, and other restaurants, coffee and yoghurt shops. There is parking underneath the hotel with valet parking so you did not have to struggle to find parking, we parked the car and used our feet for the rest of the trip! This was a real treat to stay at the Shade and we can't wait to come back on our next trip down south.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cng66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2010

I'm a "very frequent" traveler and have stayed at many different hotels throughout the world.

The Shade is completely in alignment with the vision of putting the customer first. The service was excellent, the staff was freindly and helpful.

We enjoyd being in the center of Manhattan Beach, a trendy, young community.

Recommend Shade to everyone.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RocHopDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Property: Shade Hotel
Address: 1221 N Valley Dr, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-4778
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing