We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swanky”
Review of zinc@shade

zinc@shade
Reserve with OpenTable
zinc@shade is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 191 Restaurants in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Valley Dr.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Swanky”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A very cool bar...in the upscale Manhattan Beach neighbourhood. The staff are great, and give you lots of attention. It's a beautiful hotel and even if you're not staying there defo check out the zinc bar. It's about a 5min walk from the beach.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    11
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best lounge food, ever!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

we discovered the zinc lounge during our first stay at shade hotel a few years ago. my initial fear was that this would be another captive hotel bar-food experience - nothing could be further from the truth! they have a proper chef that designs the menus and operates the food service like you would expect from a top restaurant. the menu is creative, varies with the seasons and always has something to satisfy a craving. the ingredients are fresh and preparation is excellent.
the sashimi salad is to die for!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank c j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ZincTASTIC!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

During my 5 days at the luxurious Shade Hotel we ate many breakfasts/lunches there. All the food was impeccable, but I particularly loved the Belgian waffles and truffle kobe burger which were to die for, oh and you have to try the ginger mimosa, so good!

The service is efficient and friendly. The staff were great to get advice from as it was our first time in South California. We were on first name terms with them by the time we left.

We also visited Zinc@Shade for drinks on Friday and Saturday night, the place was packed with a balanced mix of trendy locals as well as those staying at the hotel. We ended up creating our own dance floor as the DJ pumped out a heady mix of the latest chart music and classics tracks.

A must visit again for us!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 2002222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Zinc heaven”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I ate here several times while I was staying at Shade, encompassing brunch,lunch and dinner. All my meals were delicious and beautifully presented but none more so that the crab and avocado salad which is out of this world. I was lucky enough to meet Chris the head chef who is clearly very passionate about the food he delivers and who was keen to ensure that all my culinary needs were met. The standard of service is excellent, the staff are all very professional and obviously enjoy working there - a special thank you to Gustavo (your mint tea was a godsend) and Karissa and if I could remember everyone else's names (I'm 78) I would include them. Lively yet intimate surroundings. Highly recommended

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ate like a boss with friends.....”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Dined on the filet pops, Margherita pizza, tuna and these pork sandwiches w/ slaw on them. Everything was outstanding....but nothing was as good as the pork.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BossHog0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed zinc@shade also viewed

Manhattan Beach, CA
Manhattan Beach, CA
 
Manhattan Beach, CA
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to zinc@shade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing