We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect”
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Belamar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2011

My boyfriend and I decided that Labor Day we needed to get out of LA and The Belamar was the perfect get away.

We packed up on Saturday am and took a lovely drive down to Manhattan Beach (only 45 minutes away). On arrival at the hotel we were met by friendly staff and taken to our room.

We rented the Deluxe King Suite and it was lovely. Filled with art deco furniture and our own private balcony that over looked the pool/spa and courtyard.

The room itself was just the right size with a great bathroom, lovely toiletries, IPOD speakers and an amazingly comfy bed.

After checking in we headed to the pool for an hour before taking 2 of the free Belamar Hotel's bicycles down the wood chip trail to the beach (15 minute ride).

We ended up at North End Cafe and sampled some of the most amazing cuban sandwiches before walking around the shops, cafes and finally ending up on the pier to watch the sunset. Very romantic!

We then headed back to the hotel to the in house resturant for a few cheeky cocktails and some snack food. Decent prices.

Its a perfect place to stay as its not in the hustle and bustle of the beach but yet close enough that you feel just a stones through away.

I would highly recommend it if you just want to get away for a short time!

Loved it and will be back!

:)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurenjonestv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
There are newer reviews for The Belamar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

We had a wonderful stay here! I am a flight attendant so I know my hotels and this one was wonderful! The front desk was friendly and helpful, the rooms were quiet and clean, the restaurant was REALLY good!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loriac120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed at the Belamar Hotel in Manhattan Beach as my high school reunion was going to be there. The room was very nice and the breakfast in the morning was outstanding. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. I would definitely stay there again. I had reserved the bed and breakfast special online several months in advance.

Room Tip: Look at the specials that include breakfast as it was excellent.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiseGirlTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

From the minute we checked in to when we departed, the staff at Belamar did everything to make our stay comfortable and trouble-free. I'm very fussy about noise and the one caveat I would caution visitors about is the hotel's proximity to Sepulveda Blvd, a main thoroughfare in L.A. I tried three rooms before settling on a 3rd floor balcony deluxe as that provided the most quiet. With the aircon on, I barely heard the traffic. Normally, a room facing the courtyard insures some quiet, but Belamar's courtyard is right next to the blvd, separated by a wall. The hotel staff, both front desk and managerial, persevered in looking for a room that would be agreeable to us and we were extremely impressed. There was no annoyance or the least hint of aggravation with us! They only wanted us to be happy.
One wing of the hotel faces a side street so it might be quieter, but, then again, it overlooks the valet parking lot. (Only valet parking available)
Our room (King deluxe/balcony) was spacious, very clean, well-furnished. Small balcony with 2 chairs and a small table)
Bathroom amenities excellent. The housekeeping personnel is courteous and quiet - none of the animated hallway conversations we have overheard in other hotels.
Speaking to the in-house sales manager secured us an extra night, which was not originally booked, at the same rate as our first night, even though it was no longer available on the site we used to book the room (AAA).
We loved the bar and restaurant (Second Story) - terrific happy hour and a bartender with a generous pour. Appetizers at the bar and dinner were both excellent and good value. Seems to be a rather trendy place.
Very convenient location: Walking down to the main center of Manhattan Beach about a mile along either a wood-chip covered trail or along the street. Also, about a block away is the Manhattan Beach Village shopping center with a great breakfast place (Corner Bakery) and Macy's, among other shops.
Pool area is rather tiny; limited number of lounges but they are quite comfortable. Lovely courtyard. Wedding going on while we were there but it didn't interfere with regular guests.
Will definitely return to this gem..

Room Tip: 3rd floor, low odd numbered room found to be quietest; even #'s face side street/valet park
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We give it 2 stars- one for the very good staff and one for the cute details. Everything else could be way better. They have a sign there warning that they have cancerogene and fetus influencing substances. The rooms, floors, beddings and pool are outdated. We never come back and don't understand the good ratings

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salibeju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbeedon, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Salibeju,

Thank you for your thoughtful review of your recent stay at the Belamar Hotel. I was happy to read you liked our service and staff, and appreciated our unique guest experience touches. Our guests often tell us how we make them feel at home and provide added value with our nice touches.

However I was disappointed to read you felt concerned after reading our mandatory Proposition 65 warning signs. Laws mandated by the State of California require all hotels to post these signs at all entrances, regardless of the quantity of the chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer. For example, cigarette smoke is considered one of these chemicals which is why the Belamar is a Smoke Free hotel.

We are currently undergoing the planning of our 2012 upgrades, and expect to refresh several of the items you mention including new corridor carpet.

Thank you again for your comments and please visit us again soon as our change is constant and our planned upgrades are very exciting.

Tom Beedon
General Manager
Belamar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2011 and I only have great things to say about this place! From the second we arrived to the second we left, we were greeted and helped by all the friendly staff constantly. We are from Australia and this was our first stop in the USA so we had no clue about anything! The staff at the Belamar always went the extra mile to help us with any questions we had. I am so grateful to have stayed here as it truly was a great experience. Issam in concierge was our favourite! I have never met someone so friendly and willing to help out.. he's great! The rooms are immaculate and the beds are so comfy!! I wish my bed at home felt like that. I would definitely stay here again and again.. loved every moment!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BiancaJadeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We spent a night in LA on our PCH drive from San Diego to San Francisco. Very comfortable hotel. Located close enough to the tourist attractions. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCinAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
710 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
717 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
159 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belamar Hotel

Address: 3501 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-3693 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range: £134 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belamar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manhattan Village shopping and the best beaches in L.A., The Belamar is an ideal destination for fashionable getaways. Our lively, avant-garde destination melds retro style with modern comforts and our assortment of Manhattan Beach hotel deals offers the best value on accommodations, whether you are here to work or play. From seasonal getaways to romantic escapes to family adventures, there’s always a way to stay and save at The Belamar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Belamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing