We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Belamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Belamar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tiburon, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a lovely surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Wonderful hotel.....room is lovely, and clean; restaurant had good food and drinks; staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel is close to "The Strand," the beachside shopping street adjacent to the beach. I was delighted, not knowing what to expect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BinkySez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear BinkySez,

Thank you for your review for your recent stay with Hotel Belamar. We are so happy to hear that we surprised you by being close to the strand that you were able to enjoy our restaurant Second Story. We are glad you found the rooms to be to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again, if your plans bring you back to Manhattan beach, please feel free to contact me if I can be of service in any way.

Many thanks,
Andrea Murray
amurray@thebelamar.com
310.750.0302
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    240
    63
    24
    19
See reviews for
141
214
69
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Frought with anxiety that our 20 year high school reunion may have to be cancelled 6 weeks from the event, our committee was calling all around the south bay to find a venue that could accomodate our size group and the budget that we had previously set on our prior, now lost, venue. Shannel Crane, Belamar caterer, to the rescue!!!!

Our experience with the Belamar catering staff was excellent from start to finish. The caterer was willing to work with us and our limitations to ensure that our classmates would have a night they wouldn't forget. And that they did! The majority of the attendees didn't want the night to end, which at any party, you know is a sign of a great time being had!

The Hors d'oeuvres were excellent (mini sliders, brie and carmelized pear empanadas- yum), and the staff was so accomodating and personable. There was a minor misunderstanding between the bartenders and what was contracted at the beginning of the event, however, once it was brought to their attention, the staff was quick to not only remedy the misunderstanding, but were generous in ensuring that we were pleased with the outcome.

Mary Ledesma and Jessica Dell within Group Sales were also so accomodating in working with us on obtaining a group rate on hotel stays for our group, even within a very short notice of the event itself. For those of us who stayed- thank you for taking care of us!

Overall- I would definitely recommend this hotel for a group event again- I can't say enough how easy and nice it has been working with such professional and sincerely genuine people.

Thank you so much to Shannel, Mary, Jessica and all of the Belamar staff for making our 20 year reunion a night to remember, and one for the next reunion to TRY and outdo :) - It has been a great pleasure!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReunionCommittee94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Reunion Committee,

Thank you so much for hosting your recent event with us, it was truly a pleasure to host your Reunion here at the Belamar. We are so glad we can come to the rescue, I appreciate your kind words about our Catering and Banquets team. Thank you for recognizing our Sales team and our Catering and F&B team for making it a great event. We look forward to hosting your next event!

Many thanks,
Andrea Murray
amurray@thebelamar.com
310.750.0302
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had our wedding here back in May. It was the perfect place! So close to the beach, stores, and the airport! Our guests loved it! It's not a big hotel but it's up there when it comes to quality and service. The staff were so welcoming and inviting. Such great people and patient too! Loved working with their Catering Manager, Shannel! She is amazing! She made sure we had our dream wedding. She was so easy to work with when it came to our menu and our ideas. Being on a tight budget and all they found ways to make it work! I couldn't think of a better venue for my and my hubby's happy ever after. The pool was a great place to relax in if you weren't up for the beach, and their buffet breakfast is a little pricey but I completely understand why when some items were made to order outside of the buffet layout. The food was amazing! Everyone from their valet staff, to the front desk, restaurant, and maintenance were so friendly and professional, you were always greeted with a smile no matter how early or late it was in the day. We plan to stay here again when we're in town!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joystur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed a night here for a quick weekend vacation. We live in the area and didn't want to spent all out time driving. The hotel was nice and clean. The second floor restaurant was delicious and had 1/2 price bottles of wine on Saturday night. What a great deal. There were some noisy neighbors that woke us up at 3am, but I can't blame the hotel for that. They compensated us for our inconvenience. We would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed for 5nts, was allowed to checkin really early which was fantastic after a 14hr flight with a sick child.
We found the rooms to be super clean & the beds very comfortable, small though, our room was renovated & facing the courtyard near the main road however we heard no traffic whatsoever.
The pool area & courtyard is a really nice area to relax in.
I would recommend staying here, however the Belamar is no where near the beach, which I was aware of, I personally wouldn't stay at Manhattan Beach again though.
Oh & also make sure you ask for a courtyard facing room, as I saw the rooms on the otherside have a carpark view!

Room Tip: I would reserve a larger room & make sure you overlook the courtyard & not the carparking wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbirdbrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Bidbirdvegas,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of the Hotel Belamar. We are glad that you enjoyed the cleanliness and were able to check in early with us. It is true that we are not on the beach, the beach is about a 20 min walk on the path in front of the hotel, or a 5 minute drive and we do also have the bike rentals available so you can take a ride to the beach if you like. Apologies if you thought we are water-facing. We are happy that the courtyard was enjoyable for you. Thank you so much for your recent stay with us, we are very sorry to hear you won't be back to Manhattan beach. If there is anything we can do to get you back to us, please let me know.

Many thanks!
Andrea Murray, General Manager
amurray@thebelamar.com
310-750-0302
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I love this secret hotel thats hidden in Manhattan Beach. I really really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms are so nice and clean and comfy. The courtyard pool area is to die for. Besides it being on a busy street, you would've never knew it. Not many kids were out at the moment, so it was so relaxing and I needed that. Good location, Good food, Good places to see and shop around as well. But this review is more about how AMAZING the service was at this hotel. From the restaurant / room service staff, to how perfectly clean the housekeeping team handled my room every single day. Front Desk staff was the best to me, from Serena and Camille letting me check in early. Those two ladies were great help. But what took me over the top,the guy Rick or Rickey, he was the greatest. Ive never seen someone deliver service like him. I sat in the lobby for a while and watched him work and this guy was just next level. I asked him about things in the area and places me and my friend can go while we here and he had the perfect answer everytime. We only wanted to goto him when we had questions. So I want to thank the Belamar GM for having such a great staff and i hope you keep these people around because they made me have an experice at a hotel i havent had in a long time. I loved this place. Thank You

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jnae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Jnae M,

Great to hear from you about your stay! We thank you for your very kind words about the staff and team. I am very lucky to have such a great group of people that I get to work with everyday. They are super amazing. We very much appreciate you taking the time to commend them for their efforts and I assure you I will go back and thank each one of them personally for such great comments and service efforts. It's really nice to hear from you on how they were helpful to you. Thank you for our stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Sincerely,
Andrea Murray, General Manager
amurray@thebelamar.com
310-750-0302
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

An upscale hotel tucked away within striking distance of Manhattan Beach Pier. Attentive floor staff, and friendly, fantastic cleaning staff. I left a shirt at the pool one evening, realized it the next day, and the staff member who was keeping the pool area sparkling retrieved it for me from where they'd set it aside down in housekeeping this night before, while I floated in the tiled pool (which is inside a glass-enclosed area, but open to the sky! watch the clouds float by), and cranked up the jets in the hot tub (well appreciated after the Manhattan Beach 6 man volleyball tournament the day before).

Squeaky clean, nicely appointed, comfortable rooms, with a good bathroom setup.

Small, usable hotel gym. No limit on the number of devices connected to the WiFi. Good food in the 2nd floor restaurant, with a knowledgable bartender and a good happy hour selection (weekdays afternoons until 7pm). Nicely landscaped central quad outside the pool, of which I had a view from the balcony of my 3rd floor room, leaning against its gorgeous wrought iron railing.

Valet parking (only), $10. Street parking for hotel guests disallowed around the hotel.

Room Tip: My 3rd floor room had a balcony with a wrought iron railing overlooking the nicely landscaped centra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Daniel R.,

I want you stay floating in the clouds! Thank you for your recent hotel stay with the Belamar. We appreciate your kind words about us and thank you for your business. We are glad it was an enjoyable experience for you. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the LA area. Thank you very much for your review of the Hotel.

Sincerely,
Andrea Murray, General Manager
amurray@thebelamar.com
310-750-0302
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belamar Hotel

Property: The Belamar Hotel
Address: 3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belamar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manhattan Village shopping and the best beaches in L.A., The Belamar is an ideal destination for fashionable getaways. Our lively, avant-garde destination melds retro style with modern comforts and our assortment of Manhattan Beach hotel deals offers the best value on accommodations, whether you are here to work or play. From seasonal getaways to romantic escapes to family adventures, there’s always a way to stay and save at The Belamar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Belamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing