We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service Above Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
los angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Customer Service Above Average”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I stayed here with my family over the Labor Day weekend. Everyone we dealt with at the valet, to check in and the restaurant were very polite and helpful. We arrived quite early and they were able to give us a room. I strongly suggest however that you request a room facing the gulf course. Our room was overlooking an upper level parking lot, but because we got an early check in we didn't try to switch.

The lobby is very open with a nice and bright atmosphere. Scattered on tables are games of tic tac toe and dominos, which were fun for my kids. The pool area could use a facelift. I suggest filling in the cracks in the cement and adding umbrellas to the chair area opposite the cabanas. Also, the mural by the jacuzzi is beautiful but several large pieces were missing and should be fixed. There was waiter service at the pool. You can use the phone so you don't have to walk all the way into the restaurant. Water temperature was perfect for us--warm enough to swim in for a long time, but still on the refreshing side. The pool area is open until 11 pm which is nice because we like to use the spa in the evening.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. If you need a refrigerator you have to call and ask for one. Our room had a shower but no bath. The beds and pillows were comfortable.

All in all a very pleasant stay and would not hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the golf course. Also ask for a refrigerator if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mushigaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    258
    136
    47
    31
See reviews for
141
125
41
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed on 7th floor golf side, this visit, before a flight to Rome. Room was spotlessly clean and breakfast was delicious. Best part is the hotel staff, always professional and friendly. We live 2 hours from LAX, fly alot aand spend night before as a rule. This hotel is quiet and is a short drive to the airport. If you're expecting a JW Marriott or a big city feel, this won't do for you. It's a casual, beach feel hotel.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank andiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This Marriott was a disappointing. It does not hold up to other full-service Marriotts. The entire hotel needs a face lift. As one reviewer mentioned, it's the little things at this hotel. Our bathroom door handle was broken and there wasn't any soap. The air conditioner is loud. The fire department was called because one of the elevators stopped working. Please note: the location is not near the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

Great room over looking the golf course, love having the sliding glass door, it's nice to have fresh air in a hotel room. Shower could be cleaner, but over all clean and nice. They could use new towels, but I feel that way about most hotels. Staff is wonderful! Walking distance to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flightattendant77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This past weekend marked the last week before my kids went back to school. We live about an hour away from the beach so it gets hot in the Valley areas and Manhattan Beach beckoned. This weekend also happened to be my daughter's birthday. The staff upgraded my family and I to an executive suite and they had a piece of chocolate cake and milk waiting for my daughter. If you can believe, there was an envelope with my daughters name that had a wonderful birthday card signed by several staff members! This small gesture made my little girl smile and it reaffirmed why I will continue to frequent Marriott establishments. The hotel itself is nothing to write home about but it is comfortable and has a beautiful golf course view should you be so lucky to get this view. A special thank you goes out to Griselda who was at the front desk and was so accommodating. I sincerely appreciate her and the rest of the staff. This Marriott hotel knows how to hire people with EXCELLENT customer service skills. I will definitely be back, what a great family hotel and atmosphere to match. Thanks again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reinoso4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel this weekend. It's an average hotel. There isn't anything that wows you here. We walked into our room, and it's an ok room. The door handle on the bathroom wasn't secure, but it wasn't a big deal, the door still shut. The beds were nice, the TV was nice, but it looked like the hotel could use some updating.

The guest service was great! We didn't have soap in the bathroom, and we called downstairs. Within 2 minutes, we had soap.

Paying to park isn't worth it. There are hotels in the area that do not have the $21 a day parking charge. And you have to pay for web access, so look for somewhere nearby without those charges.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My nephew and I deplored to having stayed at the Marriot Manhattan Beach Marriott in CA, where we met coming from San Diego and Seattle respectively on August 24, 1012. The sheets in my bed had clearly just been slept on and not changed. I opted for sleeping on the top of the bed, covered by the bedspread. The Marriott fees, in particular the parking charge is simply robbery. Extra fees for Internet, drinking water, wakeup call, etc. etc. One of these days they will start charging for elevator use, carpet wear, toilet paper and the air that one breathes. The most repulsive question I have ever been asked came from a tactless clerk at the check-in. She asked in her most natural tone whether we'd want one bed, or two beds. No matter how degraded and decadent our society has become this was revolting and a highly offensive question to ask to two males who do not act or look like the types of same sex who’d sleep in one bed. Avoid the Marriott.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Hernan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manhattan Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
742 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
666 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Beach Marriott

Property: Manhattan Beach Marriott
Address: 1400 Park View Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manhattan Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an energetic atmosphere, stylish guest rooms and resort-style amenities when you choose the Manhattan Beach Marriott for your next vacation or business trip. Located in the upscale South Bay area, our hotel sits on 26 beautifully landscaped acres just 3 miles south of Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Guests at our Manhattan Beach hotel will enjoy easy access to a variety of restaurants, the Redondo Beach Performing Arts Center and the Manhattan Beach Pier. Indulge in fresh California cuisine at our View Restaurant and specialty cocktails at our Escape Lounge. Active travelers will appreciate our hotel's sparkling outdoor swimming pool, 9-hole golf course and state-of-the-art health club. Our hotel in Manhattan Beach, CA also offers 25,000 square feet of event space for meetings and weddings. Whether you're on a family vacation, romantic couples getaway or important business trip, the Manhattan Beach Marriott aims to exceed your every expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Manhattan Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Beach Marriott Hotel Manhattan Beach
Marriott Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing