We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid all around hotel, close to LAX” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manhattan Beach Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Solid all around hotel, close to LAX”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is a standard full service Marriott, with a nice lobby and bar, overlooking their 9-hole golf course. It's about 2 miles to the beach, unfortunately not an inviting 2 miles, but it's a very short drive. Also only about 10 minutes from LAX, so a nice hotel when flying out in the morning without having to stay at the airport hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrencemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
I'm glad that you had a great stay with us. Many of our guests do not realize how convenient we are to the airport, as well as many of the finest attractions that Los Angeles has to offer. I'm very happy that you enjoyed our beautiful facilities, and I hope we can host you again on your next business trip to the area. - Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    251
    130
    45
    30
See reviews for
139
120
39
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel and absolutely loved our stay. The hotel is in a perfect location minutes away from Manhattan, Venice, Redondo and more. The hotel had excellent curb appeal, great decor inside, and most importantly fair prices. The service was also exceptional. We ate at there lounge and JAIRO was phenomenal. Best server we have had in a long time. Personal, professional, and excellent at what he does. He mixed us up fantastic drinks and brought us our food in a timely manner. He is a hard worker and makes your stay memorable. Highly recommend this hotel to any! And request Jairo if you dine at the Escape!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback. I'm so happy that Jairo made your stay with us a particularly great one, and I'll be sure to pass your compliments on to him. Likewise, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and beautiful property. I hope we can welcome you back soon. - Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I recently spent two nights at this property while traveling for business. It has excellent curb appeal and very nice decor in the lobby and public areas. My room was clean and comfy. Not fancy, but pretty nice. And of course, it had that super comfy, trademark Marriott bed!

So here's where my experience became memorable. After ordering breakfast, I received a phone call from a friendly gentleman by the name of Charlie Gold. Charlie called to make sure that I enjoyed my breakfast and we had a nice conversation. It's the little things. Although I have occasionally received a similar call at other properties, I thought that it was impressive that the executive chef took the time to phone me.

After a long day of meetings, I returned to my room to find a bottle of Zinfandel and some chocolate treats along with a handwritten note from Charlie. Now I call that outstanding customer service!

I assure you that the next time I am in L.A, I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the golf course, not the roof:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvergirl818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
We are proud to have a staff that go above and beyond their job duties to make sure our guests are having a wonderful stay with us, so I'm delighted to hear that you had such a great experience. Of course, a comfortable night's sleep is the most important and I'm glad that you experienced this as well. I'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Charlie, and we can't wait to have you back on your next trip to Los Angeles. - Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Spacious room, great lobby and gym but it was just not for me. There was nothing outstanding it was just like a holiday inn by the highways for me. It was way too expensive for what they offered. i will definitely choose another place for the next trip.

Room Tip: Try to get the balcony rooms at least you will enjoy the beautiful view with a cup of coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DOSAMANTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
I'm surprised to hear that you did not find anything unique about our hotel, considering that we have our own golf course and I don't know many Holiday Inns by the highway that could say the same. Thank you for your feedback, and I hope you had a nice time in Los Angeles. - Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

From check-in to check-out, our 5 night experience was the best ever at any Marriott we've stayed at due in large part to the staff. Hampton Clarke checked us in and was the most accommodating clerk we've ever had - when he learned it was an anniversary vacation, he not only upgraded our room by offering us a jr. suite but gave us use of the concierge lounge. Reina in the concierge lounge greeted us every morning and was most attentive to everyone having breakfast there. Carlos, Cory and Arely at the front door were extremely friendly and helpful. We opted for a golf course view balcony room rather than the jr suite as we were out every day sightseeing and not spending much time in the room. It was spacious and immaculate and we were very happy to return to it every evening. We would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course balcony room on 5th or above floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawra09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Happy Anniversary! We are honored to have hosted you for the best Marriott experience that you have ever had. I'm so happy to hear that our staff made such a wonderful impression on you, and I will certainly pass your compliments on to everyone. We pride ourselves with our dedicated staff and resort-style amenities, so I'm very pleased that you appreciated this during your stay. I hope we can serve you again on a future vacation to Los Angeles. - Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

The lobby is pretty, the golf course right connected to the hotel (or owned by the hotel) is very nice too. the room is a bit dated, but on average for a marriott.

when we checked in, we asked for rooms facing the golf course and most of time we get those type of "upgrade" since we are plat members. the front desk said no problem, only when we got upstairs, the rooms were facing the parking lot...and it was a weekend, hotel was half empty...

and the parking is 20+ dollars with plenty of parking space empty. you can park at the meeter during the day for a lot less, but can not park through the night (some two hours like 3-5am no parking).

overall, an average marriott, not worth the high rate they often charge.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravelexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
I regret that you didn't appreciate your stay with us and apologize for any miscommunication with the front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel is very beautiful from the entrance to the view of the golf course especially on Thursday night. The rooms are very clean and wonderful. I was very pleased with the service. Every time we would go out valet is always nice especially Cory and Arely, which we would see every morning with a smile on their face. Even though we didn't valet they would treat us as if we did every time my husband will pull up with the car. Its nice how the hotel staff greets their guest. They treated us so well I can't wait to go back for another vacation time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashelydawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We pride ourselves in having a staff that is dedicated to their work and delighted to welcome all of our guests, and I'm so happy that you were able to experience this. We are one of the few resort-style hotels with convenient access to LAX, the beach, and major freeways that connect to the rest of Los Angeles. I hope you can visit more of this great city on your next visit with our convenient location as your home base. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. - Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
0.5 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Manhattan Beach Hotel
2.7 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Beach Marriott

Property: Manhattan Beach Marriott
Address: 1400 Park View Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manhattan Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an energetic atmosphere, stylish guest rooms and resort-style amenities when you choose the Manhattan Beach Marriott for your next vacation or business trip. Located in the upscale South Bay area, our hotel sits on 26 beautifully landscaped acres just 3 miles south of Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Guests at our Manhattan Beach hotel will enjoy easy access to a variety of restaurants, the Redondo Beach Performing Arts Center and the Manhattan Beach Pier. Indulge in fresh California cuisine at our View Restaurant and specialty cocktails at our Escape Lounge. Active travelers will appreciate our hotel's sparkling outdoor swimming pool, 9-hole golf course and state-of-the-art health club. Our hotel in Manhattan Beach, CA also offers 25,000 square feet of event space for meetings and weddings. Whether you're on a family vacation, romantic couples getaway or important business trip, the Manhattan Beach Marriott aims to exceed your every expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Manhattan Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Beach Marriott Hotel Manhattan Beach
Marriott Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing