We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tip Top!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tip Top!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just returned from 5 nights at this great hotel. It was our second visit. Upon entering the hotel, you are greeted by a warm and welcoming lobby environment. So California! Our room was lovely -- overlooking the golf course. Couldn't ask for a nicer vista. Beds were comfortable and the room actually had drawers where we could unpack our clothing. So many hotels don't have this very basic necessity. The breakfast food is a bit expensive, but the setting both indoors and out is so pleasant. My family loved the pool and the surrounding area. The staff were friendly and helpful. If we return to Los Angeles, we will surely stay again in this great hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with the golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyRNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    259
    136
    48
    31
See reviews for
141
126
41
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Manhattan Beach Marriott is sort of a misnomer, as it is not really close to the beach. In fact, it is likely on the outer most-skirts of Manhattan Beach, closer to Lawndale than the beach. Located in a somewhat industrial type setting, it is fairly close to Fry’s Electronics, and an entertainment complex of sorts is within walking distance which includes a McCormick & Schmicks and Arclight Theater.

Despite it’s semi-industrial and corporate location parking is a shocking $18 night.

Upon entering the hotel from the self-parking garage, after passing a number of ballrooms the front desk is located to the right. Check-in was efficient. All Marriott Platinum amenities were clearly explained, including the fact that the Concierge Lounge was actually open for breakfast on the weekends. I inquired about the weekend hours, but apparently the lounge is only open for breakfast. As the lounge was closed when I checked-in, I was given several bottles of water.

I was given a room on the Concierge Lounge level with a room overlooking the hotel’s Executive Par 3 Golf Course. A somewhat pleasant surprise for a hotel in this area to have its own golf course, even if it is a pitch and putt course.

Upon entering the room, the bathroom is on the right. There is a single sink with ample counter space. There are Bath & Body Works toiletries, which are slightly better than hotel branded products.

There is a shower/tub combo with good water pressure and temperature.

The bedroom is fairly spacious with plenty of space to maneuver around the two beds in the room. Unfortunately, outlets are not conveniently located next to either bed. The beds are somewhat firm and slightly uncomfortable for my taste.

There is a wooden dresser with a flat screen TV on it. Although channels are somewhat limited, there are enough options to pass the time.

The desk is on the smaller size, and has the “under desk” that seems to be a fixture in many of Marriott’s properties. Although it does “expand” the size and work area of the desk, this does not seem very convenient for me when I am working. Although I do like a lot of desk space, the configuration of this set up does not work for me.

The coffee maker was placed on the desk, which made the working space even tighter.

There is a small sitting area in the corner, which probably does not get much use except for people using it to hang their clothes or place their suitcase on the chair.

Although Marriott now has a policy of having the Concierge Lounge open in many of their properties on the weekend for breakfast, I did not have a chance to visit the lounge on this visit.

If given the option, I would almost always choose to have breakfast in the restaurant rather than a lounge.

The Manhattan Beach Marriott is a clean, comfortable hotel located fairly close to the airport. I had a pleasant stay here, but wish the parking fee was a little lower.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheMysteryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, FL
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Other reviews were spot on with issues with this hotel. The parking is expensive. The rooms are nice with HD Tv's but you get a low res image on all channels. The concierge room is nice, funky coffe maker. just got old hearing the lady tell everyone, many times that she has worked there for 17 years.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank G8ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

One's options in LA are always limited by where you want to spend your time (and how much of it is in the car). The Manhattan Beach Marriott is surprisingly well located vis-a-vis LAX Santa Monica and has quick access to the highways.

The hotel itself itself is very uninspiring. The rooms adequate the staff pleasant but clearly the clientele is mainly business types, and (while I was there at least) clearly used as a small meeting venue.

The small bar/restaurant was a nice option at the end of the day but rather expensive and mediocre food for the value (but no surprise there).

Room Tip: All are more or less the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank centrepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Self-park: $21 (it's not like the hotel is located in downtown LA)
Booked a room for 4 people, got 2 beds smaller than queen size ($149/room)
Internet: $13/day
Bottle of water in the room: $3.5
+ non-friendly lady at the front desk
+ spider in the bathroom

They are trying too hard to be a 'luxury' hotel. It's just too pretentious for what it really is.

Room Tip: Ask for Golf course view. Despite the fact the hotel is huge, you don't get the view on the Golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vil01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Hotel is very beautiful. Staff is very friendly and wonderful. Our check in was fast and efficient. Valets welcomed us with a smile on there face. Its nice to get greeted from the entrance cuase then you feel like home and the front desk made sure that we had the best stay ever. The only problem we encountered was that it took forever for the bellmens to bring our luggage to the room we waited like half an hour. Other than that the hotel has a great staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiemiller661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
I regret that you had to wait longer for your bags than you had anticipated, I'll be sure to let the team know so they can avoid this in the future. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience, I hope you'll visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Let me say that I almost always stay at this Marriott when in the area and am a Marriott Rewards Gold member, so I travel quite a bit and feel more than qualified to raise these issues. The convenient location and the golf course are great perks to this hotel. However, recently I've noticed niggling little things at this hotel that are inexcusable for the price you pay.

Examples are having only one elevator working at a time (this seems to be a chronic condition), leaking shower doors - I just about flooded my bathroom last week, nice high-definition TVs in the rooms but no HD service and no power outlets for recharging phones by the bed. I checked in last week in time to watch the first game of the world series and lo and behold, there is no Fox channel available on the TV? A truly annoying issue is that you cannot check out via the TV (the on-screen check-out function just does not work) and are forced to do so at the front desk. However, in the morning, there is only one person on duty at the front desk, so checking out quickly is close to impossible. Finally, $21 per day for self parking??? Give me a break.

Like I said, I love the location and the general quality of the hotel is quite good, but the value proposition is not there. Please fix the issues I've mentioned and don't allow these types of things to persisit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank DA445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H, Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
I really appreciate your feedback, thank you for staying with us. I'm sending you a private message as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manhattan Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
743 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
498 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Beach Marriott

Property: Manhattan Beach Marriott
Address: 1400 Park View Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manhattan Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an energetic atmosphere, stylish guest rooms and resort-style amenities when you choose the Manhattan Beach Marriott for your next vacation or business trip. Located in the upscale South Bay area, our hotel sits on 26 beautifully landscaped acres just 3 miles south of Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Guests at our Manhattan Beach hotel will enjoy easy access to a variety of restaurants, the Redondo Beach Performing Arts Center and the Manhattan Beach Pier. Indulge in fresh California cuisine at our View Restaurant and specialty cocktails at our Escape Lounge. Active travelers will appreciate our hotel's sparkling outdoor swimming pool, 9-hole golf course and state-of-the-art health club. Our hotel in Manhattan Beach, CA also offers 25,000 square feet of event space for meetings and weddings. Whether you're on a family vacation, romantic couples getaway or important business trip, the Manhattan Beach Marriott aims to exceed your every expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Manhattan Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Beach Marriott Hotel Manhattan Beach
Marriott Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing