We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I'm a gold member and sooooo bummed. Food and service was awesome downstairs, but the room was not great. I couldn't even plug in my phone next to the bed without unplugging something else. Just because you are a level 6 hotel based on location, doesn't mean you shouldn't offer basic Marriott amenities we are used too! I'm discouraged by this place ( and I love, love Marriott's)! There are at least 6 other Marriott's within 5 miles that are better value for the money. Take it from a gold member!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bartete5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We value your loyalty as a gold member and appreciate your honest feedback on the room amenities. Your comments are a priceless tool in helping us to maintain and improve our guest experience. We strive to make each and every stay an exceptional one, and your review will help direct us toward that goal. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and service at our restaurant. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please don't hesitate to reach out to Mike Murphy at mike.murphy@marriott.com, as we would love to get more information from you. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
There are newer reviews for Manhattan Beach Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed at this location for 2weeks and although the rooms are a bit small for me, our stay here was nice. The hotel host plenty of business individuals and events. Many guests complain about the parking, but we were fine with that seeing that it's a convenient location for my family. Beaches Are 10-15min away. Loved it. Will definitely return

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avanel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for choosing the Manhattan Beach Marriott for your recent stay! It is wonderful to hear that our convenient location near the beach worked out so well for you and your family! We also appreciate your honest feedback on the room size. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I thought this was one of the nicest Marriott properties I ever stayed at. The back half overlooks the golf course, and I had a room on the club floor with a nice balcony that looked onto the course. The pool and spa area is very nice, and they have some firepits in the back courtyard.

We ate at the restaurant one night we got back late and it did the trick. My largest complaint is the cost of parking. I think it is way too expensive for the location. Besides that great place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLT_Travel-Girl4Lyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We are very grateful for your positive feedback on our view of the golf course, pool area, and outdoor space. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience dining in our restaurant! We also appreciate your honest comments on the parking, as we always appreciate feedback from our guests. Thank you for choosing the Manhattan Beach Marriott and we hop to have the pleasure of your return next time your travels bring you to Los Angeles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I am a Marriott rewards member and have to say one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Was able to check in online which was helpful and got keeys at desk. I did request a city view king room, but ended up with view of the roof/golf course. Was not happy about it but was not int he room too much to notice. Will defintiely stay again. Was disappointed they claim no double beds. One of my reservations was a guaranteed double bed but the room ended up as a king size. I feel being a Silver Elite member would get a benefit from those who are staying because the hotel they chose due to an event and are not regular Marriott travelers.

Room Tip: Verify with hotel of guarantee of specific room or bedding type, was disappointed not correct.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbarnett0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your Marriott loyalty! We are thrilled to hear that the Manhattan Beach Marriott was one of the best hotels you have stayed in. We apologize that we were not able to accommodate the view you requested. We value our rewards members and always strive to provide an exceptional stay to our guests. We appreciate your review and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Mohamed at the front desk was one of the best front desk agents I've ever met! Gave us a upgrade and treated me and my family like VIPs! I will return to this property because of his service! Keep up the great work and great staff!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexmv55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback on your experience with our front desk agent, as we take great pride in our guest services! We look forward to sharing your feedback with our team. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the pleasure of your return one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing. Lovely view to golf court from pool. Great music by the pool. Love this place it's close to shopping mall and good restaurant. Room are ok.
I'm giving 5 stars to this place !!!!!!!
Me and my family we will always come back!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Veronica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We could not be more pleased to hear about your positive experience at the Manhattan Beach Marriott, from our view to convenient location. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here two nights in January and were satisfied with our stay. This isn't my type of hotel, I'm more a Courtyard / Hampton Inn type, where I feel like I get a better value for my dollar. This hotel has luxury threadcounts and a golf course view on one side (our room had the "city view", which is an industrial park). It's hard not to feel nickel-and-dimed, they charge a fortune for parking, in-room wi-fi, breakfast... but this particular stay was a gift from my in-laws, so I can't complain, it was their nickels and dimes.

Speaking of the buffet breakfast however, it really was VERY good! And I love that the check-out here is noon instead of 11am, it allowed us to sleep in a bit and not rush through breakfast to get back and clear out of the room. The room itself was quiet, spacious, clean, and perfectly dark in the morning thanks to quality black-out drapes.

One complaint is that the hotel is very large, and built wide rather than tall, so if you're in the last room on either end (which we were), you're walking a mile to/from the elevator every time. Makes you rethink that jog down to the lobby for free wi-fi.

Overall this is a nice property if this type of hotel is what you're used to, or if you're on the company dime.

Room Tip: Request golf course view and something not too far from the elevator.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey regarding your most recent stay. I was very happy to hear you enjoyed your experience and enjoyed our famous breakfast buffet I hope you were able to dine on the patio and enjoy the beautiful SoCal Weather.
We strive to improve everyday and your comments and feedback will assist us in this quest.Thanks for mentioning the noontime checkout that extra hour really makes a difference for our guests.
All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
0.5 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
756 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
1.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
716 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Beach Marriott

Address: 1400 Parkview Avenue, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range: £138 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manhattan Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a vibrant beach setting from stylish accommodations at Manhattan Beach Marriott, set in the upscale South Bay area. With a perfect location just 3 minutes south of Los Angeles International Airport, our hotel in Manhattan Beach, California is ideal for a business or leisure stay. We sit on 26 beautifully landscaped acres near Redondo Beach Performing Arts Center and the Manhattan Beach Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Manhattan Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Beach Marriott Hotel Manhattan Beach
Marriott Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing