We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location and Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
valparaiso,indiana
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location and Hotel”
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Stay here, that all that needs to be said about this property. The area is adjacent to the 405 freeway so getting to attractions in the L.A. area are more accesible. The Hotel and staff go out of thee way to accomodate you in every way. The rooms are spacious and above all clean and modern. The surrounding area is an upscale location with many high end corporate buildings which are accompanied by upscale restaurants and businesses. The Hotel is located about 2 miles from the beach area ( Manhattan Beach).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomkoz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    261
    137
    50
    31
See reviews for
142
128
41
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a nice gentlemen who checked us in promptly and offered us an internet printout of where the local 4th of July events were taking place. We used Marriott reward points for the trip and were given a room that was decent and faced the street. The televisions are old and the channels come in poor. None of my requests made when booking were fufilled in the room (extra towels, high floor room). The golf course views are pretty and the grounds of the hotel are well maintained. I would probably stay at a Marriott that is closer to the beach next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureSkrVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

This is a beautiful hotel. I don’t know why some gave it bad review. We stayed here for 5 nights during the Memory Day weekend. The location is good, many restaurants and shops nearby. It feels safe and newer area than the rest of LA. There is a super market at the next block. There is a café there that serves hot breakfast and it was very good. They also have lots of hot food, great to take out. 5 minutes down the road is the Manhattan Beach, a quiet long beach. The hotel is a little set back from the street so you can hear the street noise. The hotel lobby is grand and modernly decorated. Front desk staffs were very professional and friendly and accommodating. The golf course is behind the hotel, thus it’s a nice view of the green from the lobby and the pool.
Our room was on the 5th floor facing the street. There was no noise from the street. The walls were a bit thin and the noise from the hall were loud when people talk. The bathroom was renovated. The best feature was the desk. There is a 2nd desk below the big desk, and you can pull out the 2nd desk completely to provide double the desk space. The TV is still old style. It doesn’t matter much to us since we didn’t watch much TV. The drawback of the hotel was the garage access. It doesn’t have direct access to the main elevator. You have to walk across the big lobby to get to the garage elevator. Garage parking is $12/day, not included in the room rate. Internet also cost extra, like $10 a day. There is no free wifi. There is a business center next to the front desk, but there is no free use of computer, either. You can only print your boarding pass for free at the business center. We didn’t use the pool since it was cool during our visit. We didn’t use any of the hotel amenities, and didn’t dine at the hotel either. The hotel is only a few minutes from the airport (1 exit away on freeway 405), very convenient if you’re catching a flight yet don’t want to stay at the ugly airport area. It's a 50 minutes drive to either Universal Studio or Disneyland. About 1 hour to Legoland. This hotel meets the Marriott standard and we enjoy our stay and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeL_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

My husband uses Marriott for business and is a gold elite member of Marriott so when we had to be in the Manhattan/Redondo area for a soccer tournament we knew we waned to stay at a hotel within the Marriott family. It was my husband and I and our teenage son who were on this booking.
When saw they were offering free breakfast and $100 towards a stay on a future booking we decided to stay at the Manhattan Marriott.
On our reservation I made sure I marked that we needed a roll away bed for our son, extra towels and extra pillows.
When we got there not only was nothing in the room that was requested, there was no coffee maker either! Yes, I know the concierge lounge was just a few door away with good coffee but the idea of a Marriott not having in room coffee was surprising!
Also, for a gold elite member you'd think there would be complimentary internet in the room but there wasn't. I had to call for extra towels both mornings. I gave up on asking for extra pillows.
On a positive note the concierge lounge was very nice. Not much for weekend people but I know all Marriotts are that way, it's meant mainly for the business travelers on the weekdays. The one issue with the longe however was that when I went in there at 6.30am on Sunday, May 17th whoever was supposed to close it down the night before never took out any of the trash out and there were cups on the tables and on the coffee table where the tv is. The cream that was in the metal thermos to put in coffee was left over from the day before too!
Someone did come by there at 7am while I was on the internet and did clean that up.
Very substandard for a Marriott in my opinion.

Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

If all you need is a clean bed to stay the night, then this hotel is satisfactory.

But the customer service is reprehensible! The front desk was quite rude most of the time during our stay; they appeared that they did not care to help or assist the guests. One of my friends simply asked for change and was sent to both the bar and the gift shop who told her that the front desk had plenty of cash to break her hundred dollar bill. If you are looking for that extra mile, don't come here.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseMel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

The hotel stairways are filthy and smell terrible (by the lobby and pool.) Look like they ahve never been cleaned. Ditto for the parking garage, and parking is expensive! The decor in the lobby is sterile and lacks warmth (poles stuck into the sand?) The location is ideal but locals have no reason to come in. The bar is dead and there is apparantly never any music, happy hour or snacks. Just 2 TVs. Is that the best Manhattan Beach can do?

Breakfast buffet is good, wait staff is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott90266, Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, 16 March 2009
Dear Mr. Sheres,

On behalf of the entire management and staff of the Manhattan Beach Marriott, I want to extend our most sincere apologies for the disappointing visit to our hotel recently.

Thank you for taking the time to e-mail both Marriott Customer Care and Trip Advisor. Please know, I have shared your perceptions with the entire Executive Team as well as all of Leadership, to figure out where the breakdowns in our processes took place and so we may prevent reoccurrences of these issues in the future.

I am sorry you had to see the emergency stairwell and parking garage we neglected to clean. I feel badly the music in our lobby lounge was not up louder, we missed offering you our appetizer menu and the ambiance seemed dull while you were there. I appreciate you sharing your views on our lobby decor; we will pass them onto our owner.

Thank you for your gift of feedback. We appreciate you choosing Marriott when in Manhattan Beach.

Sincerely,

Manhattan Beach Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2008

Booked direct through Marriott's Website, room type and facilities matched website description. Overall I was happy with the rate I paid, the facilities and the the services experienced.Some minor inconsistencies in services if eliminated could improve the overall experience, particularly policy application. For example- website states room service, 6:00 AM-12:00 AM as did room service menu but I was advised when I phoned room service that no room service between midday and 5pm. I only hold silver membership and requested a 2pm late check out but 1pm was the maximum limit the hotel would allow that day which I declined as it did not help me much. The post stay survey form I completed highlighting the inconsistencies was followed rapidly by a follow up email from Marriott staff which seems to indicate a willingness to better manage client expectations.

City view room is bland, golf-course view room is relaxing if you enjoy a little greenery. Actual choice depends on how much time you will spend in your room during daylight. Room service menu is basic, food quality and portions were good and responsive (when available). Valet was excellent but pricey when other area hotels offer free valet.. Shops are 15 minutes walk away.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Inconsistent policy application.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank private1_90732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
0.5 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
749 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Beach Marriott

Property: Manhattan Beach Marriott
Address: 1400 Parkview Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manhattan Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an energetic atmosphere, stylish guest rooms and resort-style amenities when you choose the Manhattan Beach Marriott for your next vacation or business trip. Located in the upscale South Bay area, our hotel sits on 26 beautifully landscaped acres just 3 miles south of Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Guests at our Manhattan Beach hotel will enjoy easy access to a variety of restaurants, the Redondo Beach Performing Arts Center and the Manhattan Beach Pier. Indulge in fresh California cuisine at our View Restaurant and specialty cocktails at our Escape Lounge. Active travelers will appreciate our hotel's sparkling outdoor swimming pool, 9-hole golf course and state-of-the-art health club. Our hotel in Manhattan Beach, CA also offers 25,000 square feet of event space for meetings and weddings. Whether you're on a family vacation, romantic couples getaway or important business trip, the Manhattan Beach Marriott aims to exceed your every expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Manhattan Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Beach Marriott Hotel Manhattan Beach
Marriott Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing