We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with several pros and some cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Hotel with several pros and some cons”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Residency Suites by Marriott have several pros and some cons. Among the pros: Very nice rooms, large bathroom, and a fairly good breakfast. The location is great for business and pleasure – close to highways and airport, close to major shopping centers and close to Manhattan Beach. Their housekeeping was very good and efficient.
A few minor problems that we observed – some of the appliances were not in great shape. Our coffee maker did not work, and the ironing board had its pad torn and was not easily usable. My guess is that if we had asked for replacements we would have got them but in both cases we were using them very early in the morning so we just let it go. Also on two days some key breakfast items (porridge and fruit) ran out before the breakfast timings were over.
Despite the niggles a good property because the pros outweigh the cons but I have seen better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anvilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    215
    55
    26
    20
See reviews for
204
88
33
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for five nights while my husband was at training. Everything you'd normally expect as far as levels of cleanliness and efficiency was there, with a lot of extras. The manager clearly has taken to heart this is not a motel, but a temporary residence. Niceties such as staff putting out towels by the pool, organized activities well-promoted via a "calendar of events" sheet on the refrigerators, hot breakfast items that were constantly replenished (been to plenty of similar establishments where once the first batch of bacon and eggs are gone, there's nothing left but bagels and muffins.) There were thoughful touches everywhere. I noticed a gentleman each morning who was probably in charge of the facility (he had a lot of keys on his belt!) graciously cleaning breakfast plates up and offering friendly "good mornings" to guests. I happened to overhear this same gentleman talking on the phone to what I'm pretty sure was someone on his staff who was either late or taking a sick day and he was so professional yet respectful. It always impresses me when you catch people performing acts of civility when they don't know anyone can see or hear them. The pool was immaculate, as was our room. Again, the thoughtful touches around the inn and competent, cordial behavior of every staff member I encountered indicate to me the manager is doing a great job making people relatively content with their jobs and therefore capable of providing stellar customer service to their guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skylynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This Residence Inn Property is standard Marriott with all the amenities one expects. The Beach and "downtown" area are only 5 mins drive away and very easy to get to and from. LAX was an easy 15 minute drive from door to Rental Car Returns. We had a clean, comfortable, quiet room on a sprawling campus. A full breakfast is included with the ever present waffle maker and lots of fresh fruits and breads. The nights we stayed there was a delicious "dinner" served (pasta one night, BBQ the next) with one of the managers doing Karaoke by the pool, which a number of guests participated in. They were also doing a benefit for the local children's hospital which we found very heart warming. Front Desk Mgr Bridgett and her Team were very friendly and knowledgeable of the surrounding area and nice to talk to. We will be going back for sure!

Room Tip: The extra jacuzzi on site was nice, although if you plan on using the pool much you probably want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warbrooks802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Manhatten Beach has lots of great restaurants and the beach is very nice. This hotel is in a great location, although we didn't walk to the beach. It was nice to have a little more than just a bed, we liked the addition of the kitchenette and couch, everything was clean and comfortable. We were there on a Monday and enjoyed the managers BBQ with lots of burgers, salads, wine and beer a VERY nice added touch. I would stay here again if I'm in the area.

Room Tip: we were at the back and it was quiet, I could see some near the front a being a bit louder
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8travelbug11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed 6 nights in total here on a fly drive vacation. First 3 nights and last 3 nights. Overall recommend this hotel location is good close to airport and beach. Local super market is 5 mins away.

Stayed in the 2 bed pent house which is quite spacious.

Pros
Good location 5 mins to the beach, 25mins to universal, 5mins to Ralph's
Free breakfast
Full kitchen facility
Helpful/friendly staff
Free Parking
Local tours pickup from hotel
Penthouse rooms spacious

Cons
Nothing really - the outside of the property looks like it could do with updating

Room Tip: Penthouse are loft style rooms go for these if you need 2 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed at the Residence Inn for a two week business trip and found that the accommodations were good. They offered a good breakfast and a few days a week had an event in their tent pavilion.

The rooms were clean and had all I needed to do my work and relax during the down time. My only complaint was the parking. There was next to inadequate parking and more than twice I had to park quite a few buildings away to get a parking place.

The relatively short distance too many restaurants and being only a few miles from many beaches it was an ideal location. Each night within a 15-20 minute drive I was able to see the sites of the area and enjoy the local foods. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

After being in two hotels of this chain in our trip to Los Angeles, I can say with certainty that this is my first choice from now on. If you are traveling with family, the suits of the Residence inn by Marriott are a perfect place to sleep. The kitchen, the breakfast, the nice rooms and welcoming staff are all making these hotels a perfect home away from home. This hotel in particular was renovated lately
and it all looks beautiful.

Room Tip: All the rooms look like little apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shish89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
697 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
503 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Property: Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Address: 1700 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-5015
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Los Angeles Lax/Manhattan Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Residence Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing