We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place near LAX”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Hotel booked by a friend of ours as a convenient place to stay near the LAX airport for a one night layover. We stayed in a 2-BR Suite on the second floor overlooking the parking of a Toyota dealership next door to the hotel. Reading other reviews about this hotel I was a little worried that it would be very noisy. That and a combination with huge jetlag wasn’t a good combination for a good night sleep. I have to say that the previous comments about noise must be a few episodes of bad luck with having the wrong neighbors. Granted we were in an upstairs unit so that could account for some of our good luck. I’m happy to report that we had a very good night and not a squeak from anything all night. As for the jetlag… that’s another story.

The hotel is simple and efficient. Not a 4 or 5 star by any means but a good safe place to stay over. It almost feels as an apartment building where you can park your car in front of your unit and in the walk over the parking to the pool or the main lobby. Since my friend had made the booking for us we didn’t interact with many from the hotel except for a very friendly gentleman helping around at the breakfast area who greeted us profusely to make us feel welcome to town. Breakfast was actually pretty good. It’s a do-it-yourself kind of breakfast but there were enough warm entries that made it a notch above a simple continental breakfast.

The cost of the suite was on the high side. I think you could get less expensive options near the airport but this is what we got. The area of Manhattan Beach seemed nice and that probably has something to do with the price but we didn’t really have much time to drive around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orlando I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Easy check in easy check out. Our check in is at 4:00PM. We arrived at 1:00PM and our room was ready. This is always a huge plus in my book. The gentleman at the front desk was very informative and helpful.

The rooms are very spacious. Full size bedroom, living room, and eat in kitchen. Full size refrigerator and stove, all cooking utensils and every last detail thought of right down to a cork screw (another huge plus). Close driving distance to beautiful Manhattan Beach.

Would I recommend this place? Why yes. Yes I would.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank brianchang0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Residency Suites by Marriott have several pros and some cons. Among the pros: Very nice rooms, large bathroom, and a fairly good breakfast. The location is great for business and pleasure – close to highways and airport, close to major shopping centers and close to Manhattan Beach. Their housekeeping was very good and efficient.
A few minor problems that we observed – some of the appliances were not in great shape. Our coffee maker did not work, and the ironing board had its pad torn and was not easily usable. My guess is that if we had asked for replacements we would have got them but in both cases we were using them very early in the morning so we just let it go. Also on two days some key breakfast items (porridge and fruit) ran out before the breakfast timings were over.
Despite the niggles a good property because the pros outweigh the cons but I have seen better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anvilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for five nights while my husband was at training. Everything you'd normally expect as far as levels of cleanliness and efficiency was there, with a lot of extras. The manager clearly has taken to heart this is not a motel, but a temporary residence. Niceties such as staff putting out towels by the pool, organized activities well-promoted via a "calendar of events" sheet on the refrigerators, hot breakfast items that were constantly replenished (been to plenty of similar establishments where once the first batch of bacon and eggs are gone, there's nothing left but bagels and muffins.) There were thoughful touches everywhere. I noticed a gentleman each morning who was probably in charge of the facility (he had a lot of keys on his belt!) graciously cleaning breakfast plates up and offering friendly "good mornings" to guests. I happened to overhear this same gentleman talking on the phone to what I'm pretty sure was someone on his staff who was either late or taking a sick day and he was so professional yet respectful. It always impresses me when you catch people performing acts of civility when they don't know anyone can see or hear them. The pool was immaculate, as was our room. Again, the thoughtful touches around the inn and competent, cordial behavior of every staff member I encountered indicate to me the manager is doing a great job making people relatively content with their jobs and therefore capable of providing stellar customer service to their guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skylynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This Residence Inn Property is standard Marriott with all the amenities one expects. The Beach and "downtown" area are only 5 mins drive away and very easy to get to and from. LAX was an easy 15 minute drive from door to Rental Car Returns. We had a clean, comfortable, quiet room on a sprawling campus. A full breakfast is included with the ever present waffle maker and lots of fresh fruits and breads. The nights we stayed there was a delicious "dinner" served (pasta one night, BBQ the next) with one of the managers doing Karaoke by the pool, which a number of guests participated in. They were also doing a benefit for the local children's hospital which we found very heart warming. Front Desk Mgr Bridgett and her Team were very friendly and knowledgeable of the surrounding area and nice to talk to. We will be going back for sure!

Room Tip: The extra jacuzzi on site was nice, although if you plan on using the pool much you probably want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warbrooks802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Manhatten Beach has lots of great restaurants and the beach is very nice. This hotel is in a great location, although we didn't walk to the beach. It was nice to have a little more than just a bed, we liked the addition of the kitchenette and couch, everything was clean and comfortable. We were there on a Monday and enjoyed the managers BBQ with lots of burgers, salads, wine and beer a VERY nice added touch. I would stay here again if I'm in the area.

Room Tip: we were at the back and it was quiet, I could see some near the front a being a bit louder
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8travelbug11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed 6 nights in total here on a fly drive vacation. First 3 nights and last 3 nights. Overall recommend this hotel location is good close to airport and beach. Local super market is 5 mins away.

Stayed in the 2 bed pent house which is quite spacious.

Pros
Good location 5 mins to the beach, 25mins to universal, 5mins to Ralph's
Free breakfast
Full kitchen facility
Helpful/friendly staff
Free Parking
Local tours pickup from hotel
Penthouse rooms spacious

Cons
Nothing really - the outside of the property looks like it could do with updating

Room Tip: Penthouse are loft style rooms go for these if you need 2 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#7 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
724 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
736 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Address: 1700 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-5015
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range: £114 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Los Angeles Lax/Manhattan Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Residence Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing