We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spur of the moment trip (day 2)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Spur of the moment trip (day 2)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

As title says part 2 of my Cali trip choose this hotel because I love the Marriott brand. Never stayed in a Residence Inn but was just as nice as I expected. Hotel was about 1 mile from Hermosa Beach which was very great. Only thing negative is there is no don't disturb sign which you would think why is this important. I was woke up around 9 AM by housekeeper knocking on door from about 9AM-12PM she came about three times. It doesn't seem bad but to just had made it in at 4AM and have a 4 hour drive back home you just want to be left alone. Would stay again just hope they invest in do not disturb signs so people who are not morning people can sleep!!!!

Room Tip: I asked for a room in the back of the property. Wasn't sure if it gets wild or crazy just in cas...
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel was environmentally-friendly plenty of signs saying if you don't want your sheets changed leave on the door when you leave.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_MB_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Hello Nick C,
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Residence Inn Manhattan Beach. We always aim at providing the top notch, quality, and service the Marriott name has represented for over 85 years. We hope to welcome you next summer at our hotel.
Best regards, Bridget B, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    209
    53
    26
    20
See reviews for
197
86
33
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

toilet is very dirty! gross! No body lotion provided, toliet paper and towels are at a very poor quality and the fan is very lound in the bathroom. The phone is static. No hot water to make tea in the lobby and hot coffee is always running out. However the staff is nice except for the manage and an African American at the front desk(very unfriendly).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikitahuang35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_MB_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Ms. Huang,

I want to thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I apologize that your stay was not up to the level that it should have been all the way from the room cleanliness to the staff service.

I will certainly use your comments as a training tool for our staff. We do research and review all comments which enables us to continue to learn and provide a better experience.

I would certainly like to discuss this with you further, please feel free to contact me.

Regards,

Bridget Bloom
(310) 421-3100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Not a bad place. Rooms on the inside are much nicer than the place looks overall from the outside. Friendly staff, great breakfast included daily. Stayed with another couple and had a two bedroom unit. Very clean and very well equipped with kitchen, stove, fridge, etc. Great value for the place as well. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_MB_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear John,

I appreciate you sharing your comments on your recent stay. I do have a wonderful team here! They work very hard to take care of our guests from giving wonderful customer service to cooking breakfast, to cleaning the rooms. I will also share your review with our team as your comments really do make a difference!

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your time and we certainly do hope that you return! Please don't hesitate to contact me if there is anything that I can do for your future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Residence Inn in Manhattan Beach before a cruise in early May. The hotel, generally, is average for this type of property. Meant for longer stays but good for families with big rooms, kitchens and free parking. The entire property seems like a former small apartment complex that had been converted to a hotel/motel. The rooms were updated with newer appliances and up-to-date décor.

The first night we stayed in a studio room at the back of the property. The hotel supplied a crib for our toddler. It had obviously been in storage for a while - it was missing a piece out of the mattress and had a distinctly musty smell. Luckily we'd packed our own crib sheets, so we at least had fresh linens of our own to put on. We brought the missing piece to the attention of the attendant who brought it by but they never followed up with a new crib, mattress or the missing piece.

Bed was only ok, and the room was sufficiently big for the three of us. The bathroom was clean enough - nothing outrageously disgusting, the commode wobbled on the floor and the plug in the bathtub didn't work.

The next morning we returned from the free breakfast (standard, good Residence Inn fare - more on that below) to find a strange poo-like something on the floor of the kitchen area. It was pretty obvious some small animal had somehow gotten in the room and left a "deposit" on the floor. We called down to the front desk and asked for it to be investigated and for us to moved to a different room. The hotel "engineer" who came to the room, along with a maid, talked a lot to each other Spanish, quickly swooped up the offending deposit and tried to tell us it was a slimy bug. That was obviously bull - but the hotel was upgrading us to a second floor "penthouse" room for our second night so we didn't protest.

The penthouse category room was similarly decorated but seemed fresher than the studio we'd just left. The bathroom was cleaner (the commode was securely fastened to the floor), and the entire suite was cleaner and smelled better. This category has an upstairs and a downstairs bedroom as well as a separate living room that is closed off from the downstairs bedroom with French doors. We didn't use the upstairs bedroom - just set the crib up in the living room. Bed seemed more comfortable in this room category too.

The hotel breakfast, free, was a good variety of hot and continental items. The staff did an excellent job keeping everything restocked and full, even when the dining room was bustling on an early weekday morning. The hot items changed the two mornings we were there. Standard continental items (pastries, yogurts, cereal) were fresh, not stale. Dining room was exceptionally clean for the number of people using it - even the high chairs had been wiped down.

We didn't use the pool - just ran out of time - but had a good view if it from the dining room. It looked clean and well maintained. You could eat breakfast pool-side if you wanted. New pool furniture and an outdoor fireplace made it look very appealing.

Location was OK. It's on the main road from LAX, heading south down the coast. It is literally a 3-minute walk to a large, clean Target if you plan an extended stay and need to stock up on groceries or other supplies. The area seemed perfectly safe to us though we didn't do much actual walking around. It's 40 minutes from the Hollywood area, about 1.5 hours to Griffith Park and 30 minutes from San Pedro cruise terminal.

All in all, if we'd booked the penthouse category from the start we probably would have been happier. It seemed like the hotel worked harder to keep these suites cleaner and better maintained than the studios.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the front of the property so you don't have a long way to walk for b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foxymustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_MB_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hello Foxymustang,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. I am extremely sorry that your initial room was not up to standard. Since we are in a park like setting it looks like a bird found it's way in through one of your entries. We do routine maintenance on all rooms here and it sounds like your initial room may have needed some extra attention. I am very pleased that your upstairs room worked out well for you. We have completed a major renovation within the last 2 years to upgrade our rooms, pool and main building.

I certainly hope that if your travels should bring you back to this area that would will share your time with us! Please let me know if there is anything additional that I can do for you.

Regards,

Bridget Bloom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Came in from the East Coast after flying all day.

Pros: Amazing staff. Very friendly right from the get go. My favorite part of this stay, was the evening social they had right when we got in. That night there was free Chinese food and alcohol, quite a surprise for a wary traveler. They even had karaoke by the pool! Because of Marriott status they upgraded me to a very large room (with an upstairs loft), and it was very nice- felt like a mini apartment. The pool area was very nice, as there was a firepit, and comfortable chairs and a hot tub. Also FREE parking, which was a huge perk for the area. When I stayed there, it was a category 4, which I thought was a great value. It has since moved up to a 5, which seems high, but given all free perks, is probably still worth it.

In terms of the location this hotel was close to LAX, but also close to the beaches. No complaints from me and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CLT_Travel-Girl4Lyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_MB_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Travel-Girl4Lyfe,

Thank you so very much for staying with us and sharing your wonderful review! My team is what keeps our guests coming back! We really enjoy hosting our evening social hour and getting to know our guests. We also have a BBQ on Tuesday as well.

We have a wonderful location that is close to LAX, the beach and great shopping and dining in downtown Manhattan Beach as well!

We certainly look forward to seeing you on a future visit.

Regards,

Bridget Bloom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The overall experience was ok. This is an older facility and the place was in an older industrial area. To no surprise, the interior of the room was average. Not too clean, but not filthy. I really don't have anything terrible to say about this place, but I would not stay here again unless there was a total renovation.

Room Tip: Avoid the car lot view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_MB_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello Jim,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We don't want to be considered o.k., our goal is to wow every guest. I understand your concern about being next to a car dealership on the one side. The remaining sides are quieter as they face a wonderful neighborhood. I would like to follow up regarding the condition of your suite and the cleanliness that you did not feel was up to par, especially since we completed a major renovation within the last 2 years. We would like the opportunity to make us your number 1 choice in the area. Please contact me if you would like to share your information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is great for both business travelers who need a home away from home as well as families vacationing in LA. The hotel is very clean and modern. We had a one bedroom suite and our teenage boys slept in the living room area on the sleeper sofa. There was a full kitchen in the living room area. The hotel supplies free popcorn and hot chocolate. Also free was a nice buffet breakfast in a big room, adjacent to the hotel lobby, overlooking the pool. There were bagles, pastries, waffle makers, fresh fruit, yoghurts and hot items like scrambled eggs, sausages and potatoes. Delicious. Next to the pool there is a basketball court and the hotel has basketballs that you can get. It was a very pleasant stay for our family. The hotel is in a business area, so you cannot walk to places. But with a car you are within a few minutes at Manhattan beach and on the other side, Venice and Santa Monica are not far either. Great price for great family comfort near LAX.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room furthest away from the nearby rail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence_Inn_MB_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello World Traveler!

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay! I am so pleased that your stay was enjoyable and that you enjoyed our amenities! We hope that you and your boys will come stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manhattan Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Manhattan Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Property: Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Address: 1700 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Los Angeles Lax/Manhattan Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Residence Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing