We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location close to Manahttan Beach & amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Reviewed 21 February 2009

Well located and only just over a mile from the beach. It is a good walk with many bars/restaurants and shops en route. There is a good cross section of restaurants and specialist shops. All runners should check out Village Runner - one block from the hotel - 1840 Sepulveda Blvd and the run to the beach and back is challenging, particularly the hill back. Hotel is very good and we chose based on previous feedback. Complimentary breakfast kicks off the day well and the well equipped kitchen is useful. We are likely to return next year but stay for longer in Manhattan Beach. All staff were very friendly and the service was good.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2009

Stayed here for a few days in early January. While I wanted to stop in LA for a couple days, I wasn't sure I wanted to deal with LA proper after a long trans-Pacific flight, so I chose to stay in Manhattan Beach. What a great decision!

The only thing I can say that I found difficult about the Residence Inn was getting into it. The entrance off Sepulveda is hard to see, and if you miss it you have to completely circle around to get back as you can only turn across the intersection at certain times of day. Also, exiting the property you aren't supposed to turn left, which necessitates some turning around.

Once you are in though, the place is great. I didn't use the pool but it was quiet inviting, and the spa was nice. The rooms are located in mini-houses, which I think have 4 rooms per house, so it is very quiet. I had lots of luggage and going upstairs would have been awkward as there is no elevator, but I did have a room downstairs. Normally this would worry me, but the complex was well-patrolled and I felt quite safe.

The room itself was huge, having a full kitchen - which I hadn't expected. The bed was great, very comfy, and the large bathroom area was also a plus.

The breakfast area was great, though I wish it stayed open just a little longer. With a noon check-out time I would have liked to sleep in a bit more, but the breakfast closes at 9:30 on the weekend (earlier during the week), so if you wanted it you had to rise and shine. Still, waffles, eggs, bacon, biscuits, fountain drinks, tea, coffee, fruit... a great spread!

The area itself was also great. Close to the beach itself, close to shopping and restaurants, even a movie studio nearby! And if you did want to go into LA, the highways were close by and it didn't take long at all to get to Santa Monica, Hollywood or Beverly Hills.

Definitely the first place i will think of next time I am heading to the LA area.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DragonKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Stayed at this property during New Years, basing out of Manhattan Beach for the Rose Bowl. This property met and exceeded my expectations in every way, and I am a regular Marriot customer at all brands.
Rather than reposting details, I will say that almost every aspect of this property is very accurately listed in previous reviews... for instance, the property doesn't look like much from the street, but that is a feature, because the inward setting was truly more condo like and private than other Residence properties.
The staff was very "can do" in all respects, and the staffing was very visible- from housekeeping to landscaping to the excellent front desk staff (HI!) that would web research any question asked of them. I even saw security walking the parking lot in the early morning as we left for the game. I didn't feel the area needed security, but it is always welcome early in the morning. The breakfast buffet was well above par and also well staffed.
The location is great so long as you have a car. I could easily do an extended stay for business here if needed. While the place was fully occupied, the layout is really more like my apartment complex from my single days, and you really don't notice those guests outside your inner courtyard. Facililites might have been a little dated, but the important stuff was great- Beds, bedding and very good water pressure. Hot tub was nicely maintained as well as hot.
Also mentioned to 3 different locals where we were staying and each one of them agreed it was a nice place and they either stayed there themselves at some point or put up family members there.
Book here with confidence.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Capsu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Our 5 night stay was more like a short break in an apartment than a hotel. It worked out well - two bedrooms and a good sized sitting area with a dining table as well. We didn't use the kitchen facilities much but it looked well equipped

The front desk were always very friendly and helpful. We made use of the laundry facility but not the complimentary breakfast after day 1....

Although it is on a main(ish) road, it was surprisingly quiet. Just a few blocks down the road is the Manhattan Beach Village mall, which has lots of restaurants (recommend Islands Burgers, which does a lot more than burgers and the Corner Bakery for breakfast) and a really good supermarket, Ralphs. It also has two Macy's.

We went down to the beach several times. You can park on the meters but that restricts you to 2 hours per visit. Just follow the same road a little further down and there is free on street parking - check the notices and avoid the red painted kerbs. Great walking along the beach, though not everyone picks up after their dogs...

Mostly this is a great base to visit places round and about LA. Would recommend the Gene Autrey National Centre of the American West, which is a serious museum about settlement of the west, but has enough activities to interest children and also serves the best breakfast - probably lunch too!

Art - the Getty Centre is a fabulous building and has everything the visitor could want but LACMA has the art - two fantastic exhibitions when we were there too. Both has dedicated car parks.

We found we liked LA a lot more than we thought we would - it was worth getting up early to visit the Griffith Observatory site on New Year's Day. OK so it was shut but the views were simply amazing.

If you're hiring a car, we would recommend getting a sat-nav / gps system to get round.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Hampshire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

Great value. Location is very nice (5-10 mns drive from the restaurants and beach). Rooms are huge but a bit outdated. Complimentary breakfast is great. Manhattan beach (and this hotel) is a good place to stay while visiting LA. Nice restaurants and shopping. Beach is awesome. Less expensive than Santa Monica.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Zizgig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

We loved our stay at the Residence Inn--the grounds are set up like a condo village, much better than staying in a hotel with people walking down the hall right outside of your door. The beds were incredibly soft, it was nice and quiet all the time, the hot tub was right outside of our door, and the breakfast was amazing! The beach is very close, as well as everything else we needed. We would definitely stay there again1

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank travelgal916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

This was the last stop for our family of 5 on our 1 month trip to the USA.The thing we love about Residence Inns is the consistency from one property to another.
The staff went out of their way to help,even allowing us a 3:00 check out due to a late flight.The room was spacious and ideal for our family and the breakfast is a real money saver.
You can't beat the location,close to shops,the beach and the airport.
This is the perfect location to start,end or as a base for any visit to Las Angeles, and we even drove to Knotts Berry Farm one day as a surprise for the kids and that was only a 35 Minute trip.
We highly recommend Residence Inn at Manhattan Beach.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiefamilySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#7 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
716 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
514 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
727 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Address: 1700 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-5015
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range: £120 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Los Angeles Lax/Manhattan Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Residence Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing