We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great and pleasant stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sea View Inn at the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great and pleasant stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The stay at seaview inn is absolutely recommendable. The apartments (we had a one bedroom ap. with sleeper sofa) are well equipped and most of them with a beautiful view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are lots of reasons to come back within the next years...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    188
    59
    21
    31
See reviews for
228
152
52
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

The room we stayed in had a great sea view, the beds were really comfy and the room a nice size. The only issue with room was a high pitch from loo that went when flushed! We have been in USA for 4 weeks and I have to say Brenden was the most helpful of all hotel staff. Will stay again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gertbert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed in the 1-bedroom apartment. The nice new bed is as comfortable as mine at home! The space is awesome and it's sure nice to have a little kitchen. You can't beat the walk to the beach, and their bikes, beach chairs and towels were so nice to have handy. The outdoor yard is a perfect place for your kids to play when you aren't at the beach.
If it matters to you ... The pull-out sofa was about as bad as any other pull-out sofa but at least it was big enough to try to find a hollow :) This place has some great old features so I'd hate to see a remodel, but they could use some paint and caulk and repairs.

Room Tip: This room is the furthest from the street and we could hear traffic so it might actually be the quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whimsyup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This was the perfect hotel for me. I wanted to spend time at the beach, did not rent a car, and was traveling alone. This is a family-friendly hotel, and while fairly simple, was just right. The desk staff was friendly and was very helpful in directing me to things I wanted to do. There's not much in the way of shopping nearby, but you can hop on the Beach Cities transit bus for $1 and go as far as Redondo Beach if you want to. There are a couple of local night hotspots, but the highlight for me was the live music at Pancho's a couple of blocks away.

Just as an FYI, you should be aware that the hill down to the beach is a steep 40-45 degree angle. It's about 4 blocks. This was great exercise for me, but my ankles and knees were aching.

Room Tip: I had a standard queen, which also had a twin bed. It was a non-smoking room, as were all of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pieddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We are a family of 4 (children 13 and 11) have just returned from a drive/touring holiday of California (plus Las Vegas/Grand Canyon) and thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night break at Sea View Inn towards the end of the holiday...when we thought we would be in need of relaxation...but still within reach of LA. We loved Manhattan Beach, a really pretty, quiet, non-touristy place with a great beach and promenade. And Sea View Inn is only two blocks from the beach, so great location! We booked a second floor suite over the road from the pool building and were delighted with the space, comfort and sea view (if we were to go again, we might book a suite in the block over/down the road where they also have sea view balconies...but not sure of room size/type). The full kitchen meant we could mix and match self catering with eating out. We made full use of the hotel's free to borrow beach towels chairs and body boards which was great as we had not been able to bring all that kind of stuff from the UK. Overall we felt Sea View Inn was very good value and we would happily have stayed longer. As first timers to LA, the only thing to bear in mind is the huge scale of the city which, together with the traffic, makes getting from place to place rather time-consuming...for example, it could easily take an hour+ to get to Hollywood...it doesn't look far on the map but every journey seemed to take longer than expected. So, Sea View Inn was perfect to relax by the sea...but if you are looking for a base to enjoy all of LA's other attractions, you might want to stay closer to avoid long car journeys.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here following a long weekend of Joshua Tree National Park and Channel Islands... the beach and relaxation was much needed! You cant beat the price and location.. 2 blocks from the beach. We used all the FREE offerings .. parking, wifi , boogie boards, beach chairs etc. The location is unbeatable IMO... we walked to all the nearby bars and restaurants, enjoyed the beach and cant wait to come back again. Only negative was the thin walls of our room and the noise from the people above us.

Room Tip: 2nd story room would alleviate some of the noise problems we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrestlingfan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Sea View Inn was not available our first night in the Manhattan Beach area. So I used Priceline to select a hotel in the area. The Belamar accepted my $120 bid and we were very happy there. Matter of fact if I'm in LAX/Manhattan beach area this will be my #1 choice.

Next afternoon we arrived at the Sea View Inn, paid them $1,100 cash for 4 nights, they don't take Discover card. $250 a night, plus California tax for a one bedroom with kitchen and a living room with a pull out couch. What they call the Cottage, room 225A. After parking I heard my son say to my wife as they walked back from a first glimpse of the room "what kind of a sketch place did you put us in? Not what you hope to hear when you are locked into 4 nights. So I've made a pros and cons list of the hotel and specifically what they refer to as "the cottage."

Cons: Air conditioning that doesn't cool and sounds like my portable generator. Bathroom with multiple layers of paint on top of water damaged walls and needs to be gutted and replaced. Fold out couch that requires 3 people to open and close, literally. Light fixtures with dead bugs dotting the glass. Windows, window screens, window coverings all from the Flintstone era. Every time I'd see the front of the cottage I had the urge to scream "Yaba-Daba-Do." Kitchen that needs to be gutted and replaced.
We planned on doing some breakfast and lunches in the kitchen to help keep cost down. After seeing it we decided to only use the fridge and the coffee maker.

In the bathroom the cracked squishy padded toilet seat was the final straw with my wife. She spoke to the front desk and he sent a handy man over and he changed it out with a new, regular seat. I told the handyman and towel lady that came with him to translate about several of the blinds being broken and the fold out bed issue. He tried to open the bed and close it and nodded in agreement it was messed up. She said they had already reported the blind issues, so they left.

On the bright side-
Pros: New toilet seat, location, free parking, bed (very comfy), spacious (app. 800 sq ft.) bikes, beach chairs, boogie boards.

In the end we were satisfied with how our stay turned out.

My opinion is cost for this hotel and the extras they offer in the current condition is $150 per night.

Room Tip: I'd suggest asking if the room you are booking has been recently remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UteSycho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea View Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea View Inn at the Beach

Property: The Sea View Inn at the Beach
Address: 3400 Highland Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-3341
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sea View Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Inn At The Beach is an intimate seaside hotel located just blocks from the Beach. And is the closet hotel to the sandy beaches and panoramic views of Manhattan Beach. The Sea View offers casual comfort, modern conveniences and features a "live like a local" atmosphere. Dine at local eateries, stroll eclectic shops or borrow one of our beach cruisers and cruise the beachfront bike path and enjoy the ocean views. Or relax and swim in our heated Outdoor Pool. We offer FREE Parking, Wifi, Bikes, Beach Towels, Beach Chairs, Beach Umbrella's & Beach Toys for the Kids. The Sea View Inn is located just minutes (3 miles) away from Los Angeles Airport,(LAX), 35 Minutes to Disneyland, 40 minutes to Universal Studios, 25 minutes to Downtown Los Angeles, and 30 minutes to Hollywood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sea View Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Inn At The Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing