We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Staff, Great Amenities, Great Suites, Free Parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Staff, Great Amenities, Great Suites, Free Parking”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our family stayed at the Sea View Inn twice in the past nine months. In both instances we were in town for family events taking place in/close to Manhattan Beach. If you want to be in/around Manhattan Beach, the location is great. Not only are there bars, restaurants, exercise studios, a small market and other stores immediately adjacent to the hotel, it's a few (admittedly steep) blocks from the really nice Manhattan Beach beach (and the bike/walk/skate paths). The staff is very friendly - especially as they help guests take advantage of the toys (beach bikes, boogie boards, beach chairs, beach towels) they make available for free! Parking is free (although the spaces are narrow). Lastly, although the rooms are nothing fancy, the suite we stayed in during both visits is clean, spacious and really more of an apartment than a hotel suite. It has a full kitchen, a dining room table and nook and a living room with a pullout couch (in addition to the bedrooms/baths). If that describes the sort of accommodation you're looking for, don't hesitate to make a reservation. If we're back in the area again, I'm sure we'll stay at the Sea View!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    205
    62
    23
    32
See reviews for
259
170
59
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our daughter, son-in-law and grandchildren live in Manhattan Beach, so we've been trying to find an affordable "home away from home" for when we visit. The Sea View Inn has turned out to be the place. The rooms are small but well designed and perfectly adequate, especially if your planning to be out all day (and who would stay inside when you're just a couple of blocks from a spectacular beach, the strand (for walking) and bike path along the ocean. There are several nice breakfast places nearby. The bed is comfortable; the ocean view is a treat every morning. And the service is great. We didn't take advantage of the bikes, beach chairs and beach towels the Inn lends out, but we saw many others do so. Even on busy Highland Avenue, the room is relatively quiet at night. However, if you like to keep the sliders open for the wonderful ocean air, there will be times when you'll have to close it. (One example: the night the LAKings won the Stanley Cup, we could hear the late-night cheers from all over town… but who could complain about that!!?) We tried some of the other hotels in the area, but were disappointed. For us, when heading to Manhattan Beach, the Sea View is our best choice!

Room Tip: We've only stayed in the ocean view room with balcony so don't have a basis for comparison.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed for three nights. Our room was clean and everything worked well. It was also unusually large. The neighborhood is safe and there are nice restaurants up and down Highland.
It was a very short walk to the beach. The staff was very friendly. We will definitely return to this hotel

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Sea View Inn is perfectly located to explore the beaches and a very short trip from LAX. Staff has been very helpful and accommodating and I enjoyed my stay a lot. If anything could be improved, it is small things, such as providing a couple of plates and cutlery (the plastic versions are not great and with a sink and detergent, it is easy to do the wash-up). I will definitely come back to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a 5 night vacation and it was the perfect spot! The staff is wonderful, the prices are so reasonable and since we planned to spend more time on the beach than in the room, it was perfect for us. We loved the 2 block walk to our own quiet little section of beach. It isn't a crowded location, and in fact, is about 20 blocks north of the touristy area though the walk is about a mile, so isn't far. The hotel provides beach towels, a nice big umbrella, and beach chairs, boogie boards, bicycles, all which are so easy to take the short distance to the beach and ride into the tourist spots. We stayed in the standard room and though it didn't have a balcony or a coffeemaker, (that was a bit of an inconvenience though there is a coffee shop steps away from the rooms) our room was always clean and the bed freshly made when we returned from our day. Anything we needed we simply asked the staff at the office and they were wonderful. It's very trendy spot and we even saw Guy Fieri from Diners Drive ins and Dives as he was waiting to enjoy some sushi outside, on our dinner scouting there one night. We asked him a wonderful place to eat around there, and he had filmed at a place called North End Café right next to the hotel we stayed! It's only open from 10-3 so don't plan dinner there. We missed the boat on that one because we were never around at those times to try it. But it was fun to see him there! There are great restaurants all around the hotel but the noise isn't there. I really enjoyed that. All in all, it is so worth the money ($130/night for our little room) and I would definitely stay there again and again. Great service, great price, great location and that meant a great vacation!

Room Tip: We opted for the least expensive knowing that the beach was so close, and so our room was very small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themoores89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a great time in Manhattan Beach. I'm very glad that we were able to find such a nice, affordable hotel so close to the beach with a great view. I just wish that there wasn't so much street noise on Highland so we could have kept the balcony door open. Also, the sink is teeny tiny so it was difficult to wash our hands, brush our teeth, etc.
Other than that, next time I definitely want to stay longer! It's a beautiful area and a great place to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nimi199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We knew we were just going to sleep in this room so we didn't need anything fancy and that's we got. The room was tiny but clean. I loved having a balcony to sit on and people watch. We were right outside the pool and it was noisy but closed at 8 pm so it was okay. When we first walked into the room each day it smelled very musty. I loved the free parking and internet (although it was difficult to get a signal to my iPad). We weren't there long enough to take a advantage of the other amenities that they offered but, I must says, the staff was wonderful. Loved the location because it was near my kids and lots of nice restaurants to walk to.

Room Tip: If you are only using the room to sleep in the basic room is fine. But if you're going to utili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.0 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
503 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
749 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
436 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea View Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea View Inn at the Beach

Property: The Sea View Inn at the Beach
Address: 3400 Highland Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-3341
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sea View Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Inn At The Beach is an intimate seaside hotel located just blocks from the Beach. And is the closet hotel to the sandy beaches and panoramic views of Manhattan Beach. The Sea View offers casual comfort, modern conveniences and features a "live like a local" atmosphere. Dine at local eateries, stroll eclectic shops or borrow one of our beach cruisers and cruise the beachfront bike path and enjoy the ocean views. Or relax and swim in our heated Outdoor Pool. We offer FREE Parking, Wifi, Bikes, Beach Towels, Beach Chairs, Beach Umbrella's & Beach Toys for the Kids. The Sea View Inn is located just minutes (3 miles) away from Los Angeles Airport,(LAX), 35 Minutes to Disneyland, 40 minutes to Universal Studios, 25 minutes to Downtown Los Angeles, and 30 minutes to Hollywood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sea View Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Inn At The Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing