We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
Nearby Hotels
The Belamar Hotel(Manhattan Beach)(Great Value!)
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel(Manhattan Beach)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crimson Hotel(Manhattan Beach)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach(Manhattan Beach)(Great Value!)
US$164
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wave Hotel(Manhattan Beach)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westdrift Manhattan Beach, Autograph Collection(Manhattan Beach)(Great Value!)
US$318
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shade Hotel(Manhattan Beach)(Great Value!)
US$472
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$445
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hi View Inn & Suites(Manhattan Beach)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hermosa(Hermosa Beach)(Great Value!)
US$181
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grandview Inn(Hermosa Beach)(Great Value!)
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (769)
Filter reviews
770 results
Traveller rating
414
228
70
23
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
228
70
23
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach chairsboogie boardslocal yolkfree bikesthe north endhighland avenuefree beachbedroom apartmenttwo blocksshort walk to the beachwithin walking distancelove manhattanoffice staffstandard roombike rideperfect locationbeach cruisers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
670 - 675 of 770 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2009

My family and i love this hotel and have stayed in it a few times. It is in an excellent location, right next to the Local York which do great breakfasts and only a 2 minute walk to the beach. The staff are very hospitable, kind and friendy and give great advice on days out etc. The hotel rooms are clean and have everything you need. We personally love the penthouse as you have a great view of the beach. Tip top hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauralove5uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2009

I stayed there the first week in January and the weather was perfect so we were able to lounge by the well cared for pool on some great lounge chairs. The room was neat and clean. I would have loved an iron and ironing board, as well as a dryer in the room, but no biggie, they brought them to the room when asked. We rode bikes which were easy to check out and we used their beach towels as well. I wish the walls were a little thicker, but the location and service were great. It was a great little weekend get-a-way.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kburkeSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaviewinn, GM at The Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2009

Thank you for staying at the Sea View Inn and your comments!
Hope to see you once again,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2009

We stayed at the Sea View Inn in January, 2008. We had a conference at LAX, and loathed the thought of spending so much money for an airport hotel.

We discovered that the Sea View Inn was only 10 minutes away from our conference, so booked a room.

Upon arrival, we were given the best standard room they had available. It had a little balcony overlooking the street, but with a beautiful view of the ocean. The room was clean, cute, and had a little refrigerator which was a bonus. There was a darling pool in a courtyard within the complex and its location was fantastic.

We were within a block of the best breakfast restaurant I have ever been to--"The Local Yolk". As well, we were within a block or two of a Sports Bar, an upscale fine continental dining restaurant, and were a block from the beach.

In all, our stay was fantastic. We had one little mishap. The clothing rod in our closet fell down when I put my hanging bag on it. They quickly repaired it and gave us a $50 discount on our room stay due to the inconvenience.

I loved this little hotel. It brought back memories of little motel/hotels where I used to stay in the 50's, with personal service, people who cared, and great service.
When in LA, I will always stay in Manhattan Beach at the Sea View Inn. I prefer it over many 4 star hotels--and love the price!

Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
2  Thank madamrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaviewinn, GM at The Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2009

It's always a pleasure meeting new people expanding our Family at the Sea View Inn.

Until next time and "Thank You" again,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2008

The location is great, but there it ends.......

We used the room as an adjunct bedroom when visiting family in Manhattan Beach. I found it passable, but just barely. To their credit, the rooms were clean, but aging -- some mold visible in the grouting in the shower. The beds were well-used - somewhat lumpy and the sheets were old and pilled.

There were no dressers; only a drawer in the nightstand.

The room was a nice size and did have a flat screen tv, and plenty of hot water, but overall, I'd have to say, this is a rather sad little place. When we registered a complaint (I had been told we would have a room not directly on the street) the clerk's response was "the cancellation policy is two weeks notice" Translation: you're stuck and we don't care if you're not happy.

In all fairness, I have to say that the room was quiet, but I thought this place was lackluster, at best. We will be in Manhattan Beach often, but won't return to the Sea View Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank worldcurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaviewinn, GM at The Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2008

Thank you for your response, but as 99.9% of ALL our guest would say we treat everyone as Family and nothing less.
With your comment, "You can't cancel and it doesn't matter otherwise", is so far fetched it's incredible.
I do remember this reservation and you wanted to be off the street, but wanted an ocean view which you finally reserved.
For our bedding, all these items are new this year and we only get compliments on our mattresses and how comfortable they are constantly from our guest even to the point asking what the manufacturer so they may purchase.
Happy Holiday's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

We booked at this hotel after searching tripadvisor for good reviews. And I am so glad we did. The staff were fab. Check in went smoothly. I never saw the front desk without a member of staff there. The room was superb. Beds were comfy, flat panel TV with cable (great for the kids) and on-site free parking too. (No parking in the resort centre seems to be free, so this was a bonus). The proximity to the beach is great. You do need to save a bit of energy to climb up the side street after your time at the beach, but the views of the amazing houses along the way will just make you want to move there. Free wifi internet was a good extra too. The pool felt like a private one, since hardly anyone used it. I would recommend this hotel to all types of traveler, with or without kids. The resort is super, beaches sandy and spacious, restaurants are good value and tasty, and the surfing just ace. The one and only bad point of this hotel, is the distance it is from the resort centre. You could walk it in comfy shoes, on a cooler day or evening. But we found driving just quicker and more convenient. Watch out for the parking though. Most of it is on metres or in a public carpark.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Whybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaviewinn, GM at The Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2008

Wanted to say "Thank You" for staying at the Sea View Inn and hope to hear from you in the near future.
James
GM- Sea View Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews