We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wont stay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wave Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach
1 review
“Wont stay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Staff very loud early in the a.m. Not great when you are on vacation and getting woken up by 7 a.m. Room was clean but couldn't close door to washroom , no plug for bathtub. When staying at a location for more than 3 days it would be nice to have a bit of variety in the continental breakfast rather same offerings every single day. We ended up going out last 2 days of Six and buy breakfast elsewhere. Doubt we would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    34
    52
    42
    39
See reviews for
46
55
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

we stayed here for 5 nights and the location was perfect for us. It was a short stroll to Manhattan Beach and not far from Venice Beach and Sunset Boulevard and around a 35-40 min drive to Disneyland! The room was a little run down and the beds were hard for our tastes (we usually have a pillow top) but it was impeccably clean! Breakfast was simple but good and the staff were friendly and helpful. A few restaurants nearby and a Jack in the Box across the road made meals pretty easy.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel with 3 friends and we booked a room with two queen beds. We arrived at the hotel to check-in and they only had a room with a king bed for the 4 of us. The customer service rep at the desk was rude and actually laughed at our situation when she was on the phone with the manager of the hotel. It was so frustrating that we had to stay in that room with one bed for four people. Our check-in date was the 4th of July so there were no other local hotels with vacancies.

The only reason that this rating deserves 1 out of 5 is because the maintenance guy gave us lots of extra pillows and blankets to help make the stay more comfortable for the 2 people who slept on the floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manhattan Beach hotels

Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Reserved room for 3 new it was a king bed but naturally assumed there must be a sofa sleeper to sleep 3. Booked through Hotwire because that is the 1 thing they guarantee , WRONG . Waited hours for rollaway bed . The pool is very dirty, hot tub dirty and cold . They did get the hot tub hot but still dirty and frothy yuck. Asked for towels waited forever to get in fact still waiting . Do not recommend.

Room Tip: Stay Somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

First off-I did not get to stay here.

We called up from LAX to book this accommodation offering a free shuttle to the hotel, only to have reception saying that would not come to pick us up at 20:00 and to get a taxi, when shuttle runs till 21:00.
Very poor customer service.

Hotel is located on a busy road about 15mins walk from Manhattan Beach.
We ended up staying at airport hotel which has a $5 trolley bus service return trip to Manhattan Beach-Save yourself some money and stay near airport for a better quality hotel amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharpnup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

This is my first review and it was give because I want to warn other travelers of this hotel.. This place needs a renovation. The hotel is outdated. They need to invest in flat screen TV's as well as a paint job. The wall paper was peeling of the wall. Also it was a slight bug problem. It was a reasonably price hotel but I have been to other reasonably price place but it was a much better experience. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaRonce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

we were there for one night in Jan 2013. We had stayed 3 nights in an Ayres property just before and were surprised at how shabby the Wave was for the same money. The remote didn't work for the ancient TV , there were tiles missing out of the floor in the bathroom. Lighting was poor and my kids didn't want to swim in the pool because it was noticeably dirty.I asked the guy at the desk and he said he would call maintenance. Nobody vacuumed the pool.
kind of third world...

Room Tip: stay somewhere else unless you bring your own sleeping bag
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manhattan Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crimson Hotel
Crimson Hotel
#8 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Manhattan Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Hotel

Property: Wave Hotel
Address: 900 N. Sepulveda Blvd., Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wave Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in Manhattan Beach. Close to the Manhattan Beach Pier and Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing