We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you keep in mind you get what you pay for, you will be fine”
Review of Wave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wave Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“If you keep in mind you get what you pay for, you will be fine”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This is your typical beach town hotel. Old rooms and old decor. The room was spacious and had a small fridge. The bed linens were clean and I have definitely seen worse carpet. The check-in staff was friendly enough. As long as you keep in mind, that you get what you pay for, you will be fine.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    35
    52
    44
    39
See reviews for
47
56
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I don't need to repeat my girlfriends comments from our horrible stay but want people to think twice before you book here!..I think Holiday Inn and Suites should make sure they are not affiliated with the Wave Hotel, as the old phone and garbage can still have the Holiday Inn and Suites name on them. Do not stay here unless you don't mind staying in a gross room with old dirty, waxy Q-tips and used towels from the previous quests among other itms that were left behind and NOT cleaned up..whoever is the house-keeper..they need to be fired..I can' believe we still had to pay $122.oo us for this gross and dirty room..so glad we moved to the Comfort Inn and Suites in Anaheim..fabulous staff, great room and awesome pool..adds up to a nice vacation for my 55th!.thank you Comfort Inn and Suites..

Room Tip: don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3AmigosloveOsoyoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manhattan Beach hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I have never in my life stayed in a filthier hotel room than this one!We arrived in lax thurs evening and arrived at the hotel approx 9:00 pm. If it wasn't so late and not knowing the area we would have left that night.We first noticed the bed skirt, both beds were dirty, but one had a huge stain about 6-8 long and went from top to bottom ( I don't think it was a stain, I just think nothing has ever been cleaned) there was a rolled up old sock, dirty towels still on the shelf, a used waxy Q tip, candy wrappers, no hot water in the morning, the filth on the window sills, on the carpet around the room was disgusting,I'm sure there mold all around the carpet behind the end tables, pile of actual dirt,burnt out light bulbs, the sheets didn't even fit the bed. I wouldn't even take my shoes off, I travel regularly and this place was a nightmare. We were told there was a fridge in the room but there wasn't one, so we had food that needed to be refridgerated,when my friend went down to ask for one she told the young man at the front desk about the bed skirt and how dirty the room was, and his reply was" I'm not housekeeping".! DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL, we are NOT picky people, but this was ridiculous. Checked out the next morning! ( I will post pictures I took soon)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank joey137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
209 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

…so I had to consider other options* – like the Wave Hotel, just south of LAX off Manhattan Beach, and which for the price was the absolute best value going. After a couple of hours’ research on the web, I found this via TripAdvisor and got a price from Bookit dot com which was well under a hundred a night – a fraction of most decent hotels on an Easter and Coachella weekend.
It’s just far enough from LAX, about a 15-20 min drive, to be convenient but far enough to be off the flight path and in a pleasant and safe area. The route is also very easy from the car rentals at LAX – just ask at the gate and take Sepulveda south. There are all kinds of restaurants nearby including upscale Punjabi Indian place next door, a so-so Cuban place, a funky little wine bar across the street (with a Vespa outside), fast food and a Baskin Robbins. There’s a Target down the street as well.
You can walk to the beach (I did) but it’s about 8-10 blocks, but not unpleasant if you take the sidestreets. Closer hotels cost much more. There’s parking near the beach and lets face it, it’s ‘Merica and LA – not Amsterdam, and you need a car to get around. Learn to love and know the highway system. I’ve missed a flight before because of LA highways – especially 101 and 110, so watch out.
It’s a busy street but most rooms face the pool and are quiet at night. The hotel does show some signs of wear, like the upholstery (I put a towel down on the chair first), but the carpets had been freshly cleaned and the bed was comfortable and nicely made up (plus, four pillows – thank you). Tube TV but it has 1000 channels. Light breakfast is also available.
There’s lots of parking under the hotel and the wifi is decent and free (‘hello’ major chains – pay attention – people do notice this fact). I was in and out a lot and had valuables left out and nothing was touched as well, which was maybe expected but appreciated nonetheless.
* The Shangri-la wanted $1.1 million for the weekend – can you believe it?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telluride
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were quite satisfied with the room at the rear of the hotel. Location was great for access to the beach and the other tourist attractions were about 1/2 hour away.
Room was clean but the carpet needed cleaning or replacement. Large room .
The basic bagels, cereal , coffee, juice for breakfast. But that went with the price which was reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4dayweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

If you are looking for luxury this is not the place. This is the perfect hotel if you want to be close to the beaches while being close to LAX and also have great access to all areas of West LA without having to hit the freeways.Rooms are just your basic rooms clean with only your needed supplies.Free ample parking compared to up to $30 per night for parking at LAX area hotels. They also offer free continental breakfast. You can walk to many small restaraunts along the Pacific Coast Highway or head over to the shopping plaza on the corner at Manhattan Beach Blvd.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Good price - good parking. It's clean and a few blocks to the beach. Within walking for some (our group) maybe not for others. Either way - who cares - you are in Manhattan Beach. The staff is friendly enough, and the breakfast is standard cheap fare. Again - if you are looking for a good rate at a clean hotel, in a safe, great location - this is for you. Funny - the TV is an old non flat screen with a cable box (the 90's called - they want their cable box and TV back) but again - you are here because you want to save a few bucks and be in a great location. There are a couple of resturants close by - do youself a favor and stop by Grunions (a local pub) across the street. Fun place to get a drink and some pretty good pub food. Nice crowd - some locals and some newbies.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayouscrubs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manhattan Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crimson Hotel
Crimson Hotel
#8 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Hotel

Property: Wave Hotel
Address: 900 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-5927
Region: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wave Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in Manhattan Beach. Close to the Manhattan Beach Pier and Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing